We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Inn--Super Value, AHC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Blue Bell, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Inn--Super Value, AHC”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friends and I, who live on Virgin Gorda, enjoyed our stay at this tasteful West Indian Inn, which is in walking distance of everything in Cruz Bay. The amenities are superb--comfortable room, AC, TV, fridge, microwave, WiFi, honor system bar, complementary breakfast and rum punch, pool, beach equipment, etc. Best of all, however, was the hospitality of Vicky, the Inn's owner/manager. A terrific operation!

Room Tip: Ask Vicky for help, describing your needs, and she will make the best recommendation. The pictures...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    115
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
82
256
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I went to St. John for our honeymoon and had an amazing time! Absolutely the most beautiful place we have ever been! The Manager Vicky was a ton of help when we asked what the best restaurants and the best things to do on our trip. She even set up our excursions for us! They also have snorkel equipment, towels, coolers and more that you can rent for the day instead of buying them. If you go to St. John you MUST stay at st. John in. Its in walking distance of all the best places so we didnt have to rent a car which saved us money! Cant wait to go back!

PS: They have the best happy hour at the hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinw231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a small amount of trouble finding the place. Its not on the main road (such as it is) but instead is tucked away in the middle of a developed block. Definitely walking distance from the ferry dock.

We were here during low season and were the only guests there during our stay. The owners loaned us some snorkeling gear and gave us some nice recommendations for food and beach destinations.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank uabjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We needed a place on St. John where we could spend just one night. That is not easy, where most places are vacation rentals that require at least 3. The St. John Inn served our purposes well. It is nicely decorated outside with bright, popping colors and luxuriant vegetation. In the rooms, the beds are very comfortable, and the bedding high quality. Breakfast was adequate, though not remarkable. The service was good and friendly.

Room Tip: I believe that all of the rooms are different. The managers can recommend the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinziaOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

St John's, USVI, is one of the most beautiful places I have visited so far. Using Trip Advisor, I decided on St John Inn, based on location and price. I was not disappointed. The girls (Vicki and Paige) who run the inn are MOST accomodating hosts, so helpful about places to visit, and so knowledgable about the island. We had to change our reservations at the last minute, as we were adding a guest, and were booked into a 2 room suite, with a nice view of the harbour. Everything you need to make your vacation complete is provided--beach chairs, snorkle sets, even sun screen! Breakfast was great, (cereals, breads, juice, apples) and the rum punch each afternoon was refreshing. One could easily walk from the ferry/Cruz Bay/restaurants and bars, although a car is needed to get to most of the beaches, which are truly breath-taking. GO!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanl34709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trussville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

St. John is an expensive place to stay - unless... You find a place like St. John Inn! From the great breakfast (continental and cereals) to the rum punch and snacks at sunset, we loved this place and will be going back and staying there year after year.
Other extras include free beach chairs, free coolers, free snorkel gear and even free beach towels. Of course, these are available based on availability but we always had them when we wanted to use them. Talk about being able to pack light! Thanks Vicki and Page for all of the great hospitality!
Service with a smile? Check this out... I weigh in at about 250 lbs and I came in late one night and plopped down on the bed and well - - I broke the bed. We rang the staff and they came running with cold drinks in hand and smiles all around and fixed the problem within a couple of minutes. Talk about great service!
We cannot say enough good things about St. John Inn - it is now going to be our GO TO place on St. John!

Room Tip: All the rooms here have flat screen TV, clean bathrooms and great beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank MikeCarraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We loved this little inn. Our room was surprisingly large with a separate sitting area. The owner and staff were very helpful and just plain friendly. I started to give them a four star rating because the pool was quite small, plus the shower never got really hot and the pressure was low. But, then I thought about it, and those were really minor inconveniences compared to what we were there to do--RELAX and enjoy the island! The Inn is very Eco-friendly (shower) and the owner is there (with his cute little dogs) improving his property daily. Also a bonus was we could easily walk everywhere (except to the Westin) and the staff would get us a ride when we didn't want to walk. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reppmag64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
417 reviews
8.6 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 bedroom Villa. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing