We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Paradise”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Trip to Paradise”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was our fifth visit to St. John and we have always stayed at the St. John Inn. David, the owner, and his management staff: Vicki, Sam, & Paige are exceptional. Their attention to comfort and detail are top notch, indeed. Anything you need is yours for the asking. The property's recent renovations and proximity to Cruz Bay restaurants and shopping offer an amazing island experience. The overall experience is comfortable and quite affordable. We absolutely hate to leave and return to the mainland every year. Be sure to book well in advance for this is truly an island experience you don't want to miss!

Room Tip: Just ask Vicki or Paige for a room to fit your party's needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 55197BrandenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    120
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
86
266
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here twice - first in a regular hotel-type room (with an awesomely large bathroom and a hammock right outside our door) and then in a larger suite (with lots of space, kitchen, and small bathroom). Everyone is so helpful, and they provide beach chairs, coolers, ice, towels, and necessities (in a take some, leave some setup) - very helpful! We did have a little issue with a cockroach and ants, but they were right on top of it - it was after a big rain and is to be expected in the tropics! We loved the pool area, beautiful deck, and the convenience to groceries, car rentals, and 'downtown' Cruz Bay. We'll stay here again, with no hesitation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had an amazing time in St. John and the St. John Inn was key to making our vacation so great. The owners were incredibly nice and helpful, room and surroundings were always clean and fresh, and within walking distance to everything you need to make a great vacation. I will absolutely chose St. John Inn for my return to this paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WhitneyK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived St. John late June for our 20th Anniversary. We felt so welcomed at the St. John Inn by Vicki and Sam. What a wonderful hosts they are. They made the stay great !! Thank you so much for the hospitality and wonderful time. The location of the hotel is good, the room was clean and fresh, the island is wonderful and the friendliness of the hostess stands out. Loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahnomen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

National Parks have been our vacation theme for 33 years. I found the St. John Inn while studying maps on the Virgin Islands National Park and reading reviews. It had recommendations by Frommer's and Fordor's which first caught my eye. Then I started loving the St. John Inn website filled with lots of information. Vicki and Lisa made us feel right at home. They pointed us to great restaurants & shops, an all day snorkle cruise, hiking in the Park and local beaches. They provided a hearty breakfast, beach chairs, towels and coolers. We looked forward to reviewing the day's adventures over rum punch every evening on the deck. We stayed for seven nights and will tell anyone headed that direction to stay at St. John Inn. Jim & Diane

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed this beautiful little inn and never felt so happy and welcomed as I did here. It is a romantic spot that is perfect for all people. On this occasion I was traveling alone. The Managers are a beautiful couple that made me feel so comfortable. The rooms are uniquely designed as is the whole Inn. The view is good as it over looks the harbor and the downtown which has many unique restaurants shops and bars on the water is a quick 4 minute walk. The rooms are cool and super clean and decorated top k notch. Price is exceptional as well.
Definitely coming back and may inquire about a months stay as some of the rooms have little kitchens. Its a got an amazing lighted pool and much much more. Thanks Vicki and family and my trip a super pleasure!!!!! See you again soon!

Room Tip: St John is well known so just ask anyone as to its location! Definitely worth the visit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We got to St. John too late to get to our villa in Coral Bay. We spent night one at the St. John Inn and it was great! We had two room in the attached building on the second floor.

Sunset cocktails and a great continental breakfast in the AM. Convenient to all the Cruz Bay activity.

Visited with other guests and the Vickie (right?) was terrific. Absolutely the perfect transition for us - and bargain.

St. John Inn is worth a stay on both ends of the trip. Perfect St. John.

Room Tip: Go for the separate building if you can get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
845 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing