We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The St. John Inn is Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The St. John Inn is Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Where to start?

I travel to St. John quite a bit and am always looking for a place close in Cruz Bay. On my last trip back in October 2012, I was given a tour of the facilities by the Manager and was very impressed with the cleanliness of it's common areas, the clean, air conditioned rooms and of course, the pool!

I had the pleasure of staying there for 6 nights in April 2013 and was doubly impressed! The rooms are simple and clean, mine had a nice kitchenette in it and all have private bathrooms. The mattress was very comfortable and had many pillows too. Also, it was so quiet! no road noise or disturbances from other vacationers. They have a complimentary breakfast bar each morning with more than enough food and coffee to get you off to a great start, and when I returned from my outings each day, there was complimentary rum punch as the sun went down.

They also have beach chairs and coolers to check out for the day. Very convenient! Vicki and her husband were very nice and saw them often as they were doing their rounds during the day. they are also very involved with the St. John community and support local programs on island.

I will be staying there again for sure!

Room Tip: If you're a solo traveler, I would recommend staying in the room under the main deck by the laun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deandoeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    114
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
81
250
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAINT PETERSBURG
Level Contributor
272 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the St. John Inn in the Honeymoon Room with a private bath, queen bed, large TV, fridge, A/C and coffee maker. There was no safe but we were able to leave valuables with the office at no charge. The Inn is similar to a bed and breakfast but a little larger than just a private residence. The grounds are very compact and beautifully landscaped with abundant flowers and plantings. There is a small swimming pool and breakfast area with enough tables for guests. The free wi fi internet worked good in the pool and breakfast areas. Breakfast was simple but very nice. All the hotel staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. Finally, the Inn is very convenient to the Ferry and we were able to walk with our bags in about 10 minutes. Mosquitoes were a constant problem when we were there, and if there was any sort of disease problem like malaria on the island, they would need to provide a mosquito net for the bed. However, my sole reason for not rating the hotel higher is the price. It is just not worth $300 a night. A lot people seem to come over on the ferry for just the day and that is probably enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERIC S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thestjohninn, General Manager at St. John Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the St. John Inn. When you plan your next vacation to St. John, please call us directly and receive a discount for repeat customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Our family stayed at the St.John Inn for a week in March. We had a newly renovated room that was very nice and comfortable for our 2 boys (ages 6 and 3). We loved being able to walk to restaurants, shops, etc.. and the staff was so helpful in providing us recommendations for meals and making reservations for us! We also really appreciated the beach towels, chairs available for guests. Our boys loved playing on the patio. We loved our trip to St. John and are already planning a return trip, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keasnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I've stayed hear on three different occasions now and enjoyed it very much. I love the convenient location, being able to walk everywhere - the grocery store and restaurants are within a few blocks. Love the bright caribbean colors and the flowers everywhere. Dave and the staff are great - very nice and helpful. The rooms are very clean with all the amenities. Great Value for St. John!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We heard about the St. John Inn from Fodor's years ago. We love the friendly staff and all the work Dave has done. It's a treat to come back each year and see what he has added. We especially enjoy the evenings on the deck. Just keep doing what you all are doing so well!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sv b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerville In
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here 3/7/13 for 5 nights. This inn honestly made our trip. Due to flight cancellations with weather we had to move rooms a couple of times so we actually stayed in 3 different ones. The staff was able to accomodate us and we didn't mind moving at all, just grateful they had rooms to switch us too. All 3 rooms we stayed in were wonderful, and different types. We had a 2 bdrm, a 1 bdrm with kitchenette and another 1 bdrm that had the mini fridge and microwave. All rooms were very clean, bright and cheery. The staff and owner are all very friendly and we enjoyed connecting with them all. The owner has 3 small dogs that we would get to see sometimes at breakfast or in the evening during happy hour, which to me made it seem much more relaxed and homey. They were never a nuisance and didn't bother you if you weren't paying attention to them. Was nice connecting with other guests during breakfast and in the evenings. My husband and I talked several times that we were so glad we stayed here instead of a bigger hotel. I would go back to this inn every time. Very relaxing and comfortable. Wish we didn't have to leave! You can walk to restaurants and the shops. I would recommend renting a jeep in advance as they go quick and it's nice to drive around and look at all the different beaches. There are some beaches you can walk to from the inn, a little bit of a walk but not bad at all. I am so happy we stayed at this inn, absolutely terrific!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Colorful and convenient, the St. John Inn offers good value on an otherwise expensive island. Purple bugambilia flowers and tropical vines cover the SJ Inn buildings, which are all painted bright Caribbean colors and arrayed around a sun deck and dining area, giving the traveler the sense that he has stumbled upon a hidden hotel offering treetop seclusion. Although it lacks the direct beach access of St. John's more expensive hotels, the SJ Inn is conveniently located a few blocks up the hill from the ferry docks in Cruz Bay. Many of the best beaches in St. John are accessed by car anyway, and there are numerous car rental options near the Inn. My wife and I were able to snag the last room at the Inn during high season. We found the room to be clean and comfortable, though not luxurious. The room came with a small kitchen, which we did not use. The shower was a bit small, and the shower head was too short for anyone over 6'. The service was excellent and very friendly. The free wifi worked well. The Inn's complimentary evening rum punch and breakfast were both unimpressive. The swimming pool is small but inviting during hot afternoons, and the patio area is very cute with a comfortable hammock and shaded patio table.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
8.4 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 bedroom Villa. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing