We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and friendly place for the budget traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“warm and friendly place for the budget traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are looking for 'low prices' in St. John, but also need the AC and swimming pool, this is the place to be. The location was ideal for our purposes, in the heart of Cruz Bay. Car Rentals or Taxis are readily available for the trips to the beaches. The rooms may be cramped but the helpful and friendly hotel personnel make up for it. This little place is like a maze with different levels, all brightly colored and edged by green vines, giving you the tropical feel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mita3174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    103
    27
    5
    11
See reviews for
66
215
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the St. John Inn. A delightful small inn. The rooms are all decorated in carribean colors and lots of flowers all around the grounds. It is very clean. Mary Kay and Phil, the managers, are very friendly and helpful. Alice, the cat, kept us company on our balcony. The pool is very small but still nice for just relaxing. We used the grill to bar-b-que one night. We are seniors (72 and 80), so it was a little more than I could walk to town. Actually, we walked to town, downhill, but took the taxi back. But you can take a taxi anywhere on the island and the the rates are fixed. The beaches are beautiful and you won't want to leave. You are on "island time" so relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite with kitchenette, so it was larger than a standard room.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Seniors_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hello,
My boyfriend and I stayed at the St. John Inn just two nights, 6/23-6/24. We would love to have stayed longer. The hotel staff were great! Bill and MaryJo were so helpful. They made us feel very welcomed. They talked with us about St John and their experiences. They gave us tips and helpful opinions of places to go and things to do. They told us about all the ideas they have to improve the grounds also, they all sound great.
The room was very clean. It is an older hotel, but the character adds to the experience. The outside was beautiful. I wish our backyard could look like that!
Breakfast was basic, but free and filled us up....can't beat that! My boyfriend enjoyed the rum punch at happy hour. We had nice conversations with the staff and the other guests.
My only negative point would be the shower. I couldn't get it hot enough and there wasn't much pressure to it. However, after hiking and being in the sun, the heat of the water wasn't that big of a deal.
They are very environmentaly conscience, which I found to be nice.
The location was far enough to be quiet, but close enough to town to walk there in about 10 minutes. There are car rental locations next door, which made renting a Jepp super easy.

We would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting St John. We can't say enough about the staff, they made our stay so pleasant. Go Bucs!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My stay at the St. John Inn was perfect. The inn is beautiful, very colorful and features dozens of different kinds of potted plants and flowers around the pool and porch areas. Equally important is its location, which is within walking distance of Cruz Bay and all the main attractions. But the most important and impressive aspect of the inn was its staff. The hotel manager could not have been more accomadating, helpful, friendly or personable. She made me and my friends feel instantly comfortable. She also had great advice as to where to go and what to do - exactly what you would want in the manager of a hotel. And, to top it all off, you won't have to break the bank to stay there! What a find! I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the St. John Inn for 7 nights from March 31-April 7 and we thoroughly recommend it. Walking distance from everything in Cruz Bay although we had a jeep all week. We had a standard room and it was big. Bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was small and old but the shower worked fine. Fridge, microwave, sink, TV, a/c which worked if you need it (we set it a high temp while we were out as they requested and then lowered it for a couple of hours when we got back). Breakfast is basic but fine for us - juice, tea/coffee, cereal, muffins, bread etc. They provided beach towels daily, chairs and coolers, and a flotation device which I didn't need because the water is sooooo buoyant. Rum punch at 5.30 ish is great - some nights it's stronger than others! And we still miss Killer the dog, he'll lick you to death. Only problem was being woken up most mornings by the local roosters but I suppose you get that everywhere. Only used the pool briefly - the sea is too tempting!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zummerzet68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed at the St. John Inn for 9 nights, April 3-12. The location was perfect; we rented a jeep 3 of the days which ended up being plenty of time as the inn is in walking distance of so many restaurants, bars, shops, trails and beaches (Solomon, Honeymoon & a little further to Caneel). Our bed was very comfortable and the room had a large dresser and 2 nightstands. We had a hard time finding space to dry wet clothing and swim suits, though the owner plans to add sliding doors and a patio outside of most rooms which will help address the issue. The AC was a little noisy though we got used to it after a few nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2caribbeandivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed from April the 12th thru the 15, 2012 .The staff was very very nice. The place is simple,and small, but provides you, what you need. Towels, beach chairs,ice chest. It's just an Inn not a Hotel. The Inn is in the center of the city. If you don't want all that an luxury Hotel have.Just a place to stay with good prices, this is it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort
0.5 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 bedroom Villa. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing