We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Great Location, Wonderful Bed”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just got back from my second time staying at the St. John Inn. My favorite part of staying here has got to be the location -- far enough out of Cruz Bay that there's not much traffic or bar noise, but close enough that everything is within a very easy walk. My other favorite part of the St. John Inn is the beds. By far, the most comfortable hotel bed I think I've ever been in. The linens are soft, the mattress and pillows are plush, and the down comforter is just the right weight. St. John Inn offers a good value and a great location, as one of the only options priced between Maho Bay and the Westin.

The property is an older building, and while it is clearly well-loved by the owners, and it is evident they are doing their best to update it, there are a few things that still need a little more renovation. Other than this, though, no complaints about the St. John Inn!

Room Tip: I loved the privacy of the 2-bedroom suite we had on our first stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lale0naen0jada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 497 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed with my family for 10 days in March and we were very pleased with our stay. Liza and Dave were very friendly and accomidating! To start they offered to move us to a bigger room so we were more comfortable at no extra charge. The rooms were clean and comfortable for the value. Obviously its not the westin or caneel bay, and if thats what your looking for you should probly stay there, but in my opinion the St. John Inn is better. You cant beat its location. Its a 5 minute walk to happy hour at Woodys or anywhere else in cruz bay, as opposed to an extremly long walk or a taxi ride from the high end hotels. Dave and his staff were constantly making improvments to the grounds (but were not an inconvience) and they were always more than willing to offer information to help improve our vacation. They also helped us book our boat trips. The place has a very tropical theme with lots of beautiful tropical plants and the buildings are very colorful. The continental breakfast was a great way to start the day and the sunset rum punch was always waiting when we got back! Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisW112450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stayed at the St. John Inn for 5 days and it was very pleasant! It was my first vacation traveling by myself and I was a bit nervous! However, by the second day, I felt like I had been there for some time and was part of a group! Several of us who were at the happy hour even went out to dinner together! It was very easy to meet people and the whole island was very welcoming! The owner was constantly working on updates around the inn. The manager (Liza) was a wealth of information and could answer any question thrown her way! The dog was such a nice warm touch to the inn and was loved by all! It has the perfect location within walking distance to the ferry, restaurants/bars, and shopping! I had some great times and can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights at the start of our visit on St. John. First impression was favorable. The grounds are beautiful with lush greenery and flowering plants every where. The room was clean and beds are comfortable. The fridge worked and good channel selection on tv. The bathroom was clean. The water pressure in the shower was a trickle on the down side. Once I got over that it was ok.
The staff, especially Greg and the owner Dave were so helpful and could not do enough for us. The continental breakfast is quality bagels, muffins, waffles and cereal. I agree it could begin earlier than 8:30; but it is a nice touch.
The free use of coolers, chairs and beach towels were nice to have.
My girls loved the 3 dogs and cat that live there.
The owner is doing an impressive job with constant upgrades! The owner even offered to drive us to our next hotel...so nice of him! We wish him the best!
Location is great with walking distance to many local restaurants and shops. One suggestion: take a taxi off the ferry if u have a ton of luggage like we did.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beezer3839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent 2 nights here before heading over to Tortola for a yacht charter. Our friends have stayed here in the past so we had visited the property and knew exactly what we were getting - a clean comfortable stay, within easy walking distance of all the Cruz Bay restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful, the property is funky and eclectic and the flora is gorgeous and makes this a little downtown oasis. I can't gush enough about the tropical plants and trees - the team at St. John Inn puts a lot of time in keeping their grounds lush and beautiful. I even got a little lesson on some of the different tropical plants from the caretaker when he was watering.

We were late in booking, so we ended up getting a 2-bedroom even though we only needed one, but the location of this room was away from the rest of the rooms so it was very private.

I do agree with another guest's post that an earlier breakfast would be nice, or at least some coffee for those of us who are awake at 6AM, waiting until 8:30 for breakfast is too late when you are looking forward to spending the day in paradise and have a lot of items on your "to do" list.

Thank you staff at St. John Inn, we had a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jukatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

My friend and I stayed there for a few nights. We got there kind of late and the manager seemed very rude upon our arrival. Getting to St John takes all day so they must be used to late arrivals. She seemed as if we were a huge inconvenience. The roof leaked right onto our bed and we still had another night to stay there. The manager or any staff was nowhere to be seen the next day. We booked our last night at the Tamarind Inn just down the road. It was less expensive and had an attentive kind staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

With time being precious while staying at St. John, we wanted to pack a lot of activities into each of our days. Their continental breakfast does not start to open until 8:30am which means the earliest stop at the popular beaches might mean parking was already full. I would suggest a 7:30am breakfast for the early risers. The Inn was very colorful, especially their pool area, all freshly painted in bright tropical colors and the live plants surrounding the outside patio areas were lovely. The room had a musky smell but was clean. For security, they have an outside lock combo to memorize as well as your room key. Every evening they serve a free rum punch if you are into such things. We paid $222 per night for 2 people with 2 beds. I slept on the hide-a-bed that was VERY comfortable. The bedroom had a window overlooking the pool which made talking noise a factor on some evenings. From the patio bar there is a nice view of the water in the distance. This is the nicest building on the street. There are some very interesting local gentlemen who play dominoes and other games out on the sidewalk every evening just up the block. The walk to the ferry dock is just about 4-5 blocks. In Cruz Bay, everything is within walking distance... restaurants, grocery store, shopping, Ntl. Park Visitor's Center.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bugsylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
476 reviews
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Address: 277 Enighed | St. John US Virgin Islands, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range: $115 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing