We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel with friendly staff!”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boonville, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel with friendly staff!”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

If you are looking for a small boutique hotel conveniently located for your stay in Cruz Bay, look no further. ( If you want a Holiday Inn Express, move on.) Breakfast served outside every morning, nice deck area, wifi, rum punch served every evening. Rooms were comfy, AC was fine, wouldn't change a thing. Truly loved the experience and would go back.
It's easy walking distance to downtown for the evening. Rental car agencies are next door. We rented a Jeep for the day and the Inn supplied us with coolers and beach chairs.
The staff was just incredible and made us feel very welcome and comfortable.
We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RandyandSabrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    121
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
92
275
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Apparently new owners are working to refit a quirky property. Obviously converted from some other previous life.
Fully acceptable for younger guests; but, not terribly mobility friendly. Staff was very pleasant. Window air conditioners very noisy. Impressed by quality of replacement fixtures and workmanship.
Staff did not offer compensation when they were informed of rainwater dripping from ceiling onto bed.
Adorable dog on premesis.

Room Tip: Have a look first, if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CudBeWors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed at the St John Inn over the Thanksgiving Holiday and we are "Thankful" for the St John Inn. What a wonderful find! The room was very quaint, the property well maintained, and the staff was just awesome. Our room was clean and very comfortable - we had everything we needed during our 4 night stay. The location was not only close enough to town to take a nice walk every morning but it provided a nice evening stroll for dinner. Additionally, there are two car rental services across the street which make it easy to pick up a jeep to run to the other side of the island. Every morning, the continental breakfast, towels, and beach chairs were waiting for our enjoyment. No review of the St. John Inn would be complete without mentioning Killer, the resident love puppy, I mean guard dog. Killer greeted us every morning and every evening when we returned from dinner - he filled in admirably for the two dogs we left behind and were missing. We visit St John several times a year and I have seen the St. John Inn advertised as a budget accommocation in the past but we never tried it becuase sometines "budget" means dump. This is far from the case at St John Inn, we actually found it more of a boutique option for the island and we highly recommend the Inn! Only one suggestion for the team at STJ Inn - the evening rum punch isnt a traditional rum punch, happy hour would be much more succedssful with a new recipe...

Room Tip: The rooms are very quaint. We stayed in Cruz 117, very bright and cheery, no rooms adjacent, very pr...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed in St. John while visiting our daughter and she got us to stay at the St. John Inn. It is right in town, easy walk into the shops, bars, ferry dock, etc. The room was clean and came with coffee pot and microwave. We went to the beach and they had coolers and beach chairs that we could borrow which was an added bonus. We never took advantage of the pool but it was nice to know that it was there. The breakfast and happy hour were nice touches as well. Overall, I will always be staying here when we visit our daughter. The staff was nice and helped us with any questions we had!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

St John inn was an experiment in inexpensive hotels on St John. It was well worth the effort. The place is obviously a restoration "project". The hotel is well cared for by the staff and well restored. The most important aspects of the hotel are its cleanliness, character and an obvious effort on the part of the staff (this includes "lady Killer" the dog) to make the experience enjoyable and quietly pleasant. Liza the manager, makes every effort to make you feel welcome,as you were staying in her own home. For the price, you will not beat it on this island.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Quaint, well maintained Inn. The GM Liza is a wonderful. She takes impeccable care of this place and made us feel welcome and comfortable. We stayed in a suite and found it to be very clean and tidy. The bed was very plush and comfortable, and the linens were immaculate. The Inn was located within an easy walk of everything in town. We would recommend it to anyone who would like to stay someplace with charm and character and will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

St. John Inn is inexpensive and quaint. The staff goes above and beyond and truly wants to enhnace your trip.
Be sure to ask for directions to "Candi's" barbecue whis is just about a block away and on the way to the Starfish Market. You wont eat anywhere else once you visist Candi's.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank St-John-Scottsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
756 reviews
4.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed | St. John US Virgin Islands, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing