We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We cannot not say enough about this gem we will be back many times”
Review of St. John Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. John Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We cannot not say enough about this gem we will be back many times”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The staff and GM Liza were incredible to my wife and I who were staying at first with friends on the island then got delayed going back to NYC due to weather-we heard from all the locals that this was the best place to stay for so many reasons -located walking distance to ferry terminal -business center-bus and taxi hub so we did not need a car-the pool,the room.the view the cleanliness ,cooking options ,AC and on and on i would not stay any wher e else on St.John let alone how reasonable it is and you even get sunset drinks and breakfast everyday for free Tommy Conroy And Laura A. Carter

Room Tip: they are all good not many rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    121
    29
    5
    12
See reviews for
89
272
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

It was a bit of a walk up and down the hills from the ferry, but we were not disappointed when we got to the St. John Inn. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and were always around to answer questions or to just chat. We stayed in the Honeymoon room and we were surprised at how large it was. The bed was very comfortable but we ended up sleeping on the pull-out sofa just because it was directly under the air conditioner (our own fault for going to an island in the middle of June). Their breakfast was simple but tasty and the rum punch every evening at sunset was wonderfully delicious. Very charming and unique hotel! Would absolutely stay again.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdriannaNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The room was clean, cute, and everything worked well. If I were going back to St. John I would definitely stay here again. Our friends stayed at the Westin and had a sink that didn't drain, a toilet that didn't flush, and their parents room had broken AC as 10 women were getting ready for a wedding- including the bride! The grounds were pretty, but it was far away, had to take a taxi everywhere and some of our wedding party couldn't get a taxi back to downtown after the wedding reception ended at 1am. I would have been really upset if I didn't stay at the St. John Inn. I even accidentally broke an entire bottle of sticky liqueur on the tile floor and they cleaned the stickiness for me. Very impressed for the price!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MandTandMattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The St. John Inn was a wonderful experience. We showed up an a whim in Cruz Bay and were directed to the St. John Inn by the tourist booth near the ferry dock. It was so centrally located we could walk everywhere (and the price was fantastic!). The staff were friendly and engaging. They suggested sights to see and some fantastic restaurants. The overall welcoming atmosphere of the place made for very fun happy hours with the other guests. My party and I will definitely be staying there again next time we visit St. John.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleBertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The St. John Inn is just what it say's on the tin - this should be their tag line!
This isn't a Hotel it's an INN so don't expect the Ritz.
Other reviews on here are slightly annoying and the customers obviously expected a Hotel.... go figure.
We stayed here for a week in June, we live on St. Martin and wanted a week away just for some much needed relaxation.
Scheduling our stay was a breeze via emails, the website could do with a 3d tour of the rooms but the photos are generally good and replicate the level of quality.

The rooms are basic, comfortable, quiet and have an lovely warm feel to them. You get a TV, Fridge, coffee facilities etc...

The bed was great and we slept really well. The owners are obviously Eco aware and this is a really nice touch. Conserve water, turn AC off etc... yes it saves them money but we should all be doing this.
The St. John INN is located about 3 minutes from the ferry port, beautiful restaurants such as Rhumb Lines and also close to the Markets.

Every member of staff is welcoming, talkative and they spend time explaining tours and attractions, not a hard sell - it appears they want you to enjoy yourself and have a great vacation. Free rum punch at 5pm, breakfast included and we were upgraded due to our 5 year wedding anniversary.

Thanks to all the staff and will definitely stay here again.

This place is awesome and highly recommended.... but don't expect the Ritz.....!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caribcrusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This cute and fun hotel was a great place to stay. Had one night before we checked into our villa and I booked two rooms here. Got the double room and a single. Check in was a breeze and the rooms were so cute and tropical. Earlier reviews picked everything apart. I saw some of the same repair issues but it just gives this place character! They had breakfast ready for us in the morning, where we got to talk to other guests and hang out on the beautiful deck. We had a few hours before we could check into villa so we borrowed the hotels beach gear and they even provided us with ice!
I would definately come back here, great location, cute rooms and good service!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmybullys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

If you are just looking for a comfortable bed in which to sleep on St. John, you will be satisfied. Although the rooms are a bit Spartan, the beds are quite comfortable. I like animals, so the roosters crowing and the resident dogs just added to the ambience for me. Being able to walk to the Starfish market and to restaurants in town was also a plus. However, the many levels and steps to climb, deferred maintenance, lack of water pressure, and indifferent staff would prompt me to look for other lodgings on my next trip to St. John. Overall, I would rate this accommodation as just "average". The island, on the other hand, is wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonderlufte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.2 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
851 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John Inn

Property: St. John Inn
Address: 277 Enighed, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. John Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. John Inn is an affordable, small hotel. It is conveniently located in Cruz Bay in a charming historic building. We are close to shopping, restaurants and all St. John has to offer. We offer modest, budget accommodations with spectacular views of the sunset!Our rooms range from single rooms to two room suites, some with kitchenettes. We also offer 2 - 2 bedroom Villas. All rooms have a/c, private bath, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee machines. We offer Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) and provide beach towels, beach chairs, coolers and snorkel equipment at no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your St. John Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. John Hotel Cruz Bay
St. John Inn Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing