We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and wonderful service”
Review of Virgin Fire Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Virgin Fire Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Looking for a Local Hot Spot? Virgin Fire Grill has everything: a fabulous eclectic menu with New Orleans flair served by a dedicated staff and a gracious Mongoose Junction location. Outside, smaller parties can enjoy a breezy romantic veranda, intimate and comfortable. Inside, a historically inspired interior with cozy booths, the largest hi definition video screen on the island, a convivial mahogany bar with stained glass elements and Kimberly Boulon's portraitures. We're great with large parties, family friendly with ample free parking behind Mongoose Junction. Join us for half price appetizers daily from 4 to 6 pm, and for frequent live jazz or reggae. Check our website for the current menu, media and music schedules.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

We initially went for the 1/2 priced apps, but they were so good and service was so fun and professional, we stayed for dinner. The fresh mahi and tuna were to die for and the Himilayan salt black was creative and delicious!

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

301 - 305 of 397 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

Our party of six wanted a nice place to eat on our last night on St. John. My wife and I had been to St. John many times and wanted to try some place new. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent and reasonable for the island. The service was good and the food was better than expected. I had a steak cooked perfectly and my wife had Mahi which was also very good. One of our friends had pork chops that were thick, juicy, and tasted great. We will come back on our next trip. Hint:.Sit on the porch if possible. They had no A/C inside the night we were there.

Thank Agsetsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great restaurant - highly recommend the Himalayan salt block appetizer. The seared tuna entree is also excellent!

Thank SophieandFinnthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We ended up walking out of the restaurant before we ordered any food so I am not sure how helpful this review will be. This location has housed so many different restaurants and we have tried each. The theme of this restaurant is fire and ice. We had been snorkeling early so we hit the restaurant as it opened. Every table was open. We did not have a reservation . We were shown to what had to be the worst table in the restaurant behind a wall of bluish glass that is supposed to represent "ice'' In the stuffy restaurant behind the wall our table for two was hot and claustrophobic. we had to wait for server forever though place was empty.When we asked if we could have another table that wasn't behind the glass we were told they were for others yet in the 20 minutes we were there no one came. We twice asked for a drink server no one came. When one finally was in sight but chatting we gave up and left.Hope others have better experience!

Thank Jacki217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Owner at Virgin Fire Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Thanks for the heads up. Most people find the place comfortable, and sorry you didn't. We will review our seating policies with staff and be sure that we are promptly greeting and serving people. Virgin Fire has a tendency to have a number of reservations for 7 pm and thereabouts, which causes the tables you mention to appear to not be in use, and a number of larger parties that require specific tables to be held in reserve. I cannot be certain, but it does seem like we could have done a better job in locating you in the restaurant and serving you appropriately, so we do apologize, and again say thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Overall the food we had was good. My wife and I both had the ribs which tasted good - the BBQ was very tasty and the portion size was more than adequate. We also had a Shrimp and Spring Roll appetizers which were OK - not the best we have had but no complaints as they were 1/2 off for happy hour.

That said our server (who was the bartender) was very polite and friendly. He continually checked in on us even though he had a full bar and was very attentive.

The restaurant itself was nice and well decorated. We would go back again but probably just for drinks and to split a meal as a small dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Fire Bar & Grill also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing