We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin St. John Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
ATL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding in Paradise”
Reviewed January 13, 2010

We had envisioned what a wedding in paradise would be like and it exceeded even our highest expectations! If you're thinking about a destination beach wedding, The Westin St John is the place to get married. From the beautiful location to the expert and highly professional staff, they can make every bride’s dream come true. It's not only the perfect romantic destination and it's great for large groups & families. The hotel itself rises above Starwood's high standards of quality and offers everything you're looking for. They are so focused on attention to detail that even the General Manager of the hotel personally stopped by the wedding to make sure everything was taken care of. We could go on and on about how wonderful this place is, but the pictures say it all…truly paradise! This was the 2nd visit to The Westin St. John in 12 mos and we’ve already decided it will be an annual trip to celebrate future anniversaries.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachSnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    932
    387
    235
    168
See reviews for
912
966
30
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (629)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WDC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed a week at the Westin arriving before New Years and leaving a few days afterwards. Overall a nice place but it was spotty in several areas--not what I expect especially at the rate they charge. I think I could easily do better, even on St. John
++The Pluses++: Good sized room, responsive room service, friendly staff. Nice beach, nice grounds, nice pool. Easy transfer service ($100 per person) to/from airport
--The Minuses--: One night no hot water-cold shower. Broken room refrigerator never fixed. Not enough chaise lounges at pool or beach--several broken--forced hoarding by guests. Many, Many stairs to/from room no elevators.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RELRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I visited the Westin for a 5 night getaway from the NYC freeze over New Years. We arrived in St Thomas at 12:40 and were able to catch the 1:30 Westin Ferry which was great timing. While the transportation was seamless it was pretty expensive at $110 per person round trip. This did included unlimited rides back and forth to St Thomas which we did not take advantage of.

Atmosphere
First words of advice – If you are looking for a QUIET romantic getaway this is not the place for you. My boyfriend commented that the place is like “Lord of the flies” where kids rule. If you have screaming kids or like to listen to kids scream then this could be the place for you. Otherwise…don’t go. I know we traveled over the Holidays so perhaps it was worse the usual but it really didn’t seem to calm down enough even when the kids should have been back to school.

The Room
We stayed in a beach front room on the second floor of building 16. I don’t know why everyone has complained about the rooms being dated.. maybe in other buildings but our room was very nice…outside of the baby in the room next to us that screamed night and day and was our wakeup call every morning. Now on the topic of bed bugs…we both got A LOT of “mosquito bites”. In retrospect we never actually felt the mosquitoes biting us at night or saw any but woke up in the morning with little bites all over…in places that would have been covered anywhere else. The beds are incredibly comfortable but I have a feeling the bed bugs might be a reality.

The Hotel Grounds
The Hotel Grounds are ok. If you are a pool person then this is the place for you as the pool is huge with nice chairs. If however, like me, you are a beach person I give the Westin a thumbs down. The beach at the Westin does not offer the crystal clear blue water that exists literally everywhere else on St John. Because of this we visited a different beach every day. We took cabs to Cinnamon Beach, (18 pp round trip) which was absolutely beautiful and had a concession stand for lunch. We also visited Caneel Bay where we somehow got into their exclusive beach which was amazing. The Caneel Bay Resort was much more our speed, quiet low key and elegant. They however had the worst pool I have ever seen in the middle of nowhere..so if a pool is important to you watch out. This hotel also offers access to 2 more beaches that are a bit of a hike and open to the public - both beautiful.

Food
I am a very picky eater and overall I enjoyed the food at the Westin. The pool bar was fine for lunch and Prime house was delicious for dinner. We also ordered room service ( steak & a chicken dish) which was very good as well.
Outside of this go to town for dinner! There are so many great reasonably priced restaurants and town id a $5 pp cab ride away.

Summary
Would I go back to the Westin? NO. Even if I had kids, I think it is way over priced for what it is with a lot of hidden fees. Definitely not the caliber of hotel that should have the Westin name on it. Next time I visit St John I will rent a villa and a car so I can beach hop at my leisure and I will dine in town!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelfan414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruit Cove, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

I had read several negative reviews on Trip Advisor regarding the Westin on St. Johns....thus I arrived (after a stay at Gallows Point) with a very critical eye and a back-up plan. A little back ground...this was a family vacation celebrating my in-laws 50th Wedding Anniversary, there was a total of 16 of us, ages from 4-70 (young kids, teens, parents, grandparents). Probably the biggest advantage the Westin has is pick-up at the airport in St. Thomas to their own ferry (not very far from the airport) which takes you directly to the resort.....as far as transportation hassles go, this is the easiest way with no headaches. Otherwise you have to catch a cab to Red Hook Bay (other side of island ~45 minutes) and then wait for the ferry to Cruz Bay.
To say I was stunned was an understatement, perhaps because I was expecting a disaster. Staff was extremely attentive, polite and friendly. We were quickly checked in and taken to our villa (apparently a newer section of the resort...not on the beach..but still a beautiful view). The inside of the villa was stunning...3 bedroom, very modern, great kitchen, beds are very comfy and the bathrooms amazing. The rooms were spotless clean and staff comes and cleans every day.
The beach area is man made and not a good location to snorkel (unless you fin way out along the west side of the bay), but it is definitely set up to lay in the sun, enjoy the beach with 3 water trampolines and one huge inflatable 'king of the mountain' toy for the kids or young at heart. You can rent boats, kayaks, fishing charters, snorkel catamarans etc. for water activities. If you want to see the different bays it might be cheaper to rent a car (which can be done right on the resort grounds). The pool area is very large with plenty of fun included. There are tons of kids activity and a kid zone (if you want to work out without little one's in tow). The teens seem to enjoy hanging out on the beach, swimming and other water activities.
The only draw back to the Westin is the food. Though the bar drinks are fine, the food is just ok to mediocre (some of the pool side food is decent). The Beach Cafe' severs a breakfast buffet which is ok. The buffet dinner they served there was way overpriced ($75 a person) for how mediocre the food was. There is a new restaurant Cruz Bay Prime, for dinner. The dining area is very small so make reservations, the food was fair, but pricey (ZoZo's is the best I think at the same price), service was very good.
Due to the large size of our group, and since we had a kitchen, we cooked in a few nights. At our villas, grills were also available. There is a market just before the entry to the resort (slim selection), but I recommend going to Starfish Market (few miles away), which is very well stocked and a liquor store right there.
All in all, the Westin was a great place in a beautiful spot, with excellent service. Plenty of activities and/or relaxation. St. John's is a gorgeous island with 70% national Park and protected reef. If you are into nature and beauty...this is one of the islands to go to.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank papaswamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We are SPG members and spent 9 nights at the Westin, St John from December 26- the New Year and had a great time. We are returning guests.
Natasha Hughes, the front desk manager, was amazing!
She is pleasant, professional and went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I won't go into detail but suffice it to say her attention and time was gratefully appreciated!
We can only hope that Westin/Starwood management reads TripAdvisor!
(Actually we will be emailing corporate to share our experience-)
The hotel is first class all the way.
Another very helpful and kind person is Sue at the towel kiosk by the pool. Talk about lovely and going the extra mile. On a rainy day when towels were at a premium- and we were completely willing to wait 5 minutes- she made a beeline to us with not only dry but WARM towels, fresh from the dryer.
Some rooms are in need of updating, the grounds are very well maintained, service is sometimes on the slow side, the food is very good either poolside or in the beach restaurant, the staff is friendly without being invasive-
The beds are comfortable with layers of blankets and quilts for every sleeping type, there are some nasty little no-see-ums that bite- not bed bugs!
Linens are fresh and crisp, closets are huge, bathrooms are big-
If we were to comment on any less than perfect situations it would be in reference to the guests at the hotel. It's amazing how rude our fellow travelers are! How early can you get to the pool and try to "reserve" seven chairs and then not use them all day? How much garbage can you leave behind? And lastly, how loud, rude and obnoxious can your children be?
Having raised a family and traveled with our children all over the world, as adults they are now generous, patient and respectful travelers.
We were to understand the hotel was at or close to maximum capacity and based on that we were very pleased with all aspects of service.
And did I mention the very lovely fireworks display on New Years Eve? Thanks Westin! Well done!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gratefull2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunandswim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed in the Westin Bay Vista 2 bedroom Villas, 2 year old buildings (60+ condos) separate from the hotel. We were told the Bay Vista is the most requested properties of all Westin properties. The hotel itself is a little tired because it's booked all the time. But the new condos are fantastic!! Flat screen TVs, full kitchen, view of the bay. 1 block walk to the huge beautiful pool (1/2 acre) and beach. We thought the restaurants where fine at the Westin (expensive). But a short ride to over 20 great restaurants.
But the BEST THING is the Location, most beautiful water in the world and most of St John is a National Park you can't beat it!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunandswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We've never stayed at one of these big chain resorts before, but since my husband had lots of points to cash in and it was our 20th anniversary, we thought we'd give it a shot. It's very nice, clean, safe, and conventional. It seems to tailored for upper-middle-class American families with children from the greater NY metro area and New England states. I'm originally from there, so it was like a visit home to see Mom, but with palm trees and no nagging.

The food is overpriced and largely unadventurous, with the exception of an outstanding curried mussels appetizer we had one evening. The onsite deli is pretty good (see ref above to their clientele). I've read some reviews that complain about bugs. Didn't see a one - in fact, the place seemed dangerously over-groomed. Fun to see the iguanas grazing on the lawns every morning, however.

Good beach and pool - LOTS of kids. We had a 'pool-view' room that was very nice and comfortable.

It took many, many days for the one atm in the lobby to be fixed. Good thing the taxi drivers would drive you to one and wait while you got your money. And there are two elderly computers in the lobby for guests' use - bring your own! Cellphone reception is poor everywhere but on the beach. That's a great excuse to call everyone back home to complain about the lousy reception! ;-)

The concierge service is uneven. If you get a questionable answer to anything, ask someone else. Make sure to tip everyone individually - the Westin DOES NOT distribute to its servers whatever you tack onto your final bill!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almostidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Property: The Westin St. John Resort
Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing