We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We Were Lucky!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin St. John Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Were Lucky!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We (4 friends) rented a 2 bedroom, 3 bath condo at the Westin, from St. John Condos. The booking agents, Amie & Kevyn, were very patient with all my booking questions, and we were lucky they were. The Westin is a lovely property. Our villa, 3310, was perfect! It was clean, contemporary, and had a super balcony view of Great Cruz Bay. The kitchen was well equipped, and we received a welcoming gift of cleaning essentials, so we did not need to buy dishwashing soap, laundry detergent etc. The condo had a washer & dryer, which were indispensable with all our beach going, snorkeling, and swimming. The employees with whom we spoke, Ricky, Ricardo, Caroline, Jeff, & Rosemary, to name a few, were terrific. Caroline and Jeff were outstanding, as they went out of their way to make sure our stay and departure were just perfect.
We purchased the Westin Transfer--do it! It's pricey, but they pick you up right at the St. Thomas airport, no fuss, no muss, and deliver you to the Westin private dock. They take care of you & your suitcases, coming & going, and get you back to St. Thomas in time for your departing flight. We were there during the 6 hour storm, Bertha. Jeff worked tirelessly getting us and our suitcases loaded onto his golf cart and on board the Westin boat, so we did not miss any connections in St. Thomas.
Oh! While there we took the Sunset Cruise & the snorkeling trip to Norman Caves. Spectacular!
We were lucky!!! It was a great vacation.

Room Tip: Our condo couldn't be beat. We were on the hillside, which had a communal private pool to enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaireE424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
I was thrilled to read your review and hear that as first time guests to our resort you thoroughly enjoyed your stay from the room to our outstanding staff and our convenient transfers. Thank you for choosing the Westin St. John Resort for your vacation and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    914
    894
    375
    225
    157
See reviews for
854
911
27
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have a time share at the Westin St. John Resort.. We absolutely love it. The beach is absolutely gorgeous with warm water, along with the view, you never want to leave... So much to do. The pool is also warm all year round. We have our villa, with 3 bedrooms and our own pool.. It's so comfortable, you never want to leave. Service at the bars and restaurant is fantastic.. We look forward to coming here every 2 years... Take a tour of the island - to the different beaches, or around the whole island.. Views are incredible..

Room Tip: They are remodeling the hotel rooms that are on the beach.. If you can't stay at a 3 bedroom vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cary911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
As a villa owner we value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience on TripAdisor. We offer a variety of activities to keep everyone busy and I’m pleased that your home away from home is all that you expect. See you in another 2 years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Chatham, New York, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Resort is in a beautiful location- took the ferry service right from the airport- transfer was smooth and easy- definitely recommend- drops you right on the doorstep - room was nicely done- had the patio right on the beach - view was gorgeous- only negative was the very limited food options- dinner was good - room service had very few choices- service overall was great and friendly

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
I was grateful to read your nice review on your experience with us. Our ferry transportation is a convenient way to arrive to our resort creating a smooth transition from the hectic travel to the relaxing vacation. I’m happy you appreciated your room along with its location and our 1,200 ft. long beach. Thank you for also providing helpful feedback on our dining options. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Me and nine of my best girlfriends rented two villas for a week. At check in we experienced some problems but the staff was great in helping us fiend a solution. The rooms were big and spacious. Equipped with all appliances except an oven. All the rooms had its own on-suite. The pool and pool area bar was great. The property is very large which leads to lots of walking. So pack few heels. There are golf carts that can take you around the property also. The restaurant was pretty centrally located and food was good. Didn't really visit the hotel beach because we were on all the other beaches on St. John.

Pretty good stay overall

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaraMcf1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our resort on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear you and your girlfriends had a great stay and enjoyed your villa, our pool, and our Snorkels restaurant. See you next girls trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I just got back from St John after a 7 day stay at the Westin Resort. We stayed in a poolside room. I asked at check in if we were in a "renovated room" and he said we were. I think maybe they painted....? The room served fine as a place to sleep and have as a home base, but it was nothing special....especially for the price. Housekeeping did a great job cleaning our room and replenishing things every day. Pool was beautiful! Beach was OK - we did not spend ANY time here as St John has so many more STUNNING beaches to visit that this beach could never compare to. We had breakfast at the Lemongrass Restuarant on property which was a great meal both visits and very friendly staff! Front desk staff & gift shop staff were also both very friendly. There was quite a bit of construction going on, but we left early every morning and came back at night to get ready for dinner out in town and then back again to go to bed, so it really didnt affect us much at all. I can't recommend St John enough and I also can't express how much you need to explore the island and all it has to offer! Side note - Cruz Bay Watersports on property was AMAZING! We booked a Sunset Sail and a Trip to Jost Van Dyke and both excursions were well worth the m oney and the crew was amazing - Full Review on their page.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms are further away from the construction. Poolside rooms were near construction as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraMichelle403045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. It was nice to read your review on how you enjoyed our friendly staff and your meal at our Lemongrass Restaurant & Bar. All of our 96 resort rooms have recently been refreshed with new carpet, paint, draperies, and a new storm patio door. I am glad you were able to enjoy our resort as well as the island of St. John. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I have stayed in several Westin locations & have always had great experiences; HOWEVER, I'm unable to say the same about this location. If we could have changed hotels, we would have chosen another location immediately for so many reasons. We stayed in Building 15, Room 1521 & had a view of the pool which was very nice; however, our room had a gap between the door and the frame so there was always sunlight coming through the room which forced us to keep the air as low as possible at all times. In addition, the gap also allowed us to hear EVERYTHING outside our room and at all hours. We were easily awakened to the noise in the middle of the night as well as early in the morning. We had someone try to break into our room one morning at 3:30 a.m. and Security did NOTHING to follow back up with us. Very disappointing! And even more disappointing was what we witnessed at the pool bar one afternoon.....restaurant staff arguing and yelling at one another about the preparation of frozen drinks (add water, don't add water, add more ice, etc). Housekeeping forgot to clean our room one of the days & on our last day, we were awakened to Security knocking on someone's door for about 10 minutes saying repeatedly, "I know you are in there, open the door." Needless to say, no one ever opened the door. The positives I can share: seeing & feeding large iguanas that roamed the pool area & climbed the large palm trees, loved watching the chickens and the baby chicks roam the resort as well as several cats that were very sweet. However, the iguanas, chicks & kitty cats are not enough to ever bring us back to The Westin Cruz Bay!

Room Tip: Room 1521 has a nice pool view but that's about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KristaB813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I was not aware of the gap in room 1521 and have requested our engineering department to fix the issue. I want to apologize you did not experience a refreshing stat with us and witnessed an argument among the staff. It was nice to hear you appreciated and enjoyed the some of the island wildlife that we have on property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Having stayed at the Westin it has begun to sound like a mining site running heavy equipment for hours on end. The noise level of its electric generators (on which they refuse to suppress the noise level)l is so loud that it is well beyond being just a nuisance impacting on the quality of life, not only for the guest but for the community around it. The management is indifferent to complaints about the shrill. The management throws out a variety of excuses. Bottom line is they apparently get a break on their electric bill at their guests expense. If you stay there be sure to ask for ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
I’m disappointed to hear the construction noise was disturbing during your recent stay. We have done our best to have as minimal impact our guests as possible. If we are on generator you can be rest assured it is not our choice, we do what is necessary to ensure our guests are not without power. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and hope you will stay with us after our renovation is complete in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 773 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Property: The Westin St. John Resort
Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort, makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing