We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just got back and didn't miss the pool at all!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Westin St. John Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just got back and didn't miss the pool at all!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

After 10 years my husband and I finally found ourselves on the beautiful St.John. We were worried when we were told (prior to our arrival) that the pool would be closed. I wanted to write my review to assure potential visitors that the pool was really an after thought all week. You are surrounded by some of the worlds most beautiful beaches..take advantage of them!! We enjoyed the beach at the resort as well as visits to several others on the island(Trunk Bay was breathtaking). Don't cancel your trip because of the pool being closed because that would be a big mistake. The staff here was great. The grounds are pretty and clean. The food served at the resort was very good. We had a few minor issues but nothing that would stop me from recommending this lovely resort to anyone. It was a fabulous vacation. I'm daydreaming about going back soon:)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We truly appreciate your kind words regarding your recent stay. I was absolutely delighted to hear that you were not inconvenienced by our pool closure and renovations taking place on property. Thanks again for sharing this with future guests. We’ll be daydreaming of your return as well. We look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    923
    383
    233
    167
See reviews for
896
956
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Westin is a beautiful resort. However, the beach is really nothing to write home about. The best beaches are outside the resort..Maho bay..Trunk bay...Water is always warm and inviting! St. John's is one of my family's favorite places on earth. Real island feel with little to no commercialism.

Room Tip: Food is so expensive. If you rent the villa, I bought most of my groceries in St. Thomas. It'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinadolls13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at The Westin St. John. We were glad to hear you were able to get off property and enjoy the unparalleled beauty of our little island. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Go here to relax. Cozy small resort with a private beach. The beach and pool are beautiful, and the grounds are attractive and well manicured. Golf carts are available with drivers to drive you to different parts of the resort - but I like to walk since the grounds are nice to look at. Staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. Be aware, this is a very relaxed place that operates on island time - so if you are in a rush to be immediately served and attended to, this place is not for you. Service is not slow, but if you can relax and enjoy the natural beauty while you sit at the beach/pool waiting for your drink/food, you will be happy. This is my favorite vacation place in the world. Again, it is a place to unwind and relax. Kid friendly.

Room Tip: If staying at the hotel, see if you can get a ground level beachfront room. You can walk out to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UncleMiltieDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your kind and understanding words regarding the Virgin Islands culture. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and more importantly, that this is your favorite vacation place in the world – wow! We are honored and truly look forward to your return. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was our first time in the Virgin Islands and I couldn't recommend an better place to stay. After touring the islands and seeing the many places available I would highly recommend the Westin as "The place" to stay for your visit. Beautiful place! Helpful and polite staff. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Junebug1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I was very pleased to learn that upon your very first time to the Virgin Islands, you chose to stay at The Westin St. John. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post such a nice review and we hope that you will come back and see us again for your second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel / time-share has undergone big renovation. We stayed in an older room, which was fine, but the newly remodeled rooms would be nicer. Main restaurant was closed, so fewer options for meals on-property. The day tour via boat to BVI with snorkeling was amazing, worth the money, great tour guides. Several good restaurants in little town nearby, and nice grocery a block from property if you're in a time-share with kitchen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvWineAndCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was happy to hear that despite being with us during our renovation, you enjoyed your stay and your experience with Cruz Bay Watersports. I believe the main restaurant you are referring to is Cruz Bay Prime, our fine-dining restaurant that was located above our lobby that has unfortunately closed. Our main restaurant, Beach Café, is still open for business and is currently serving breakfast, lunch and dinner while Snorkel’s, the pool bar, is being renovated. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We settled in two, three bedroom villas, each with its own pool, hot tub and grill. The layouts are quite functional and comfortable. The kitchens are well stocked; we cooked several breakfasts and dinners for 11, with ease. The units need some attention. Kitchen cabinets have been refaced but carpets are stained, sofas are showing some wear and the outdoor spaces are wanting with cracked and chipped tiles and stained and worn chair cushions. Transportation from these units to the main resort area including the pool, beach and restaurants is offered on carts which are moving about the resort with regularity. The drivers are, for the most part, friendly and agreeable. The service at the poolside restaurant is terrific. The staff is attentive, kind and accommodating. Drinks from the bar are good but a bit overpriced. The water sports team is jovial and helpful. Our children were quite saddened when they learned the trampoline and floats were removed. We received a variety of stories regarding this. The truth will be evident in the spring when and if the floats return as promised. Our greatest frustration is the front desk and timeshare sales staff. Check your bill carefully before checking out and, if there is a discrepancy do not wait until the last minute to resolve it. The timeshare staff will offer you discount coupons in exchange for tours. These coupons are given when you schedule the tour. If you do not attend the tour they bill your account assuming you used the coupons. This is an unnecessary gyration. When I complained the desk staff reported that this happens constantly. They have no power to resolve the matter and the sales staff including the manager, was not willing to assist until I went down to the desk to be heard. A conversation by phone was useless, as it was assumed I was trying to get something for nothing. No one should be treated this way especially a loyal customer faced with a staff error. Our family, due to having two units, had two sales appointment and did in fact attend one while canceling the other. This was not noted at the office thus the problem. Fortunately, we found our unused coupons and with assertive insistence received credits for the erroneous charges. Not the best way to end what was otherwise a great vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kgiuffre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Westin St. John Resort & Villas. While it sounds as though you enjoyed your two three-bedroom villas and many other aspects of our resort, I want to apologize for the concerns that arose regarding your timeshare presentation and the fact that you had to be overly concerned during your vacation with trying to receive your credit. I will share this information with Starwood Vacation Ownership Upper Management in an effort to ensure future guests do not face the same issues. I also want to apologize for the lack of trampolines and other water toys at our beach. Due to permitting issues, we had to remove the toys. Once we are given approval, we will be implementing the toys back into the water for our guest's enjoyment. We hope to welcome you back so that you are able to see our improvements firsthand and experience a hassle free stay. Thank you again for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The property is currently undergoing some renovation to some of the villa units and the pool area. I was made aware of this both during and after booking my reservation. They even followed up with an email that some amenities would be unavailable during my stay. I barely even noticed and I didn't really miss the pool. The pool is nice to have but the beach is just steps away. Service was excellent while Jenicia at reception and Dorsette at the Beach Bar are outstanding as are the staff at Mango Deli. There was one staff member who felt "put out" at accepting the various coupons the resort provides to guests but she was an exception. I spoke briefly with a duty manager, Tom, and both he and his staff make you feel welcome and want to ensure you're enjoying your stay. The property offers check-in and a private ferry service from the St. Thomas airport but it's expensive so I would recommend taking a taxi/public ferry to the hotel if you're looking for a quick and easy way to save money. It will take about an hour longer. I would highly recommend this property if you're looking for a more serene experience.

Room Tip: Rooms down the hill (building 23 which isn't under reno) are closer to and offer better views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert_dfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for posting it on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though despite our major renovation taking place, you were able to thoroughly enjoy your vacation and nothing makes us happier. I was very glad to hear that you were communicated with during and after booking your reservation. Starwood Hotels and Resorts is doing their absolute best to ensure our guests are informed in advance of the renovation. I will share your kind words with Jenicia, Dorsette and Tom – they will all be delighted to know they enhanced your stay. Thanks again and we hope you will return for another refreshing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
8.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Property: The Westin St. John Resort
Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing