We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWESOME!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Westin St. John Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We just returned from our first trip to USVI (the week after the 4th of July, stayed Friday the 5th through the 12th), and this was an unbelievable experience. We stayed at one of the villas with the private pool, and traveling with 3 children and extended family. The private pool villa was a terrific option for us. The villa comfortably slept everyone, and we were only about a 3 minute walk to a grocery store off-site. The staff and grounds were amazing. The concierge services were always friendly and informative without feeling like they were trying to "sell" you something. We did not have a need to rent a vehicle, but rather relied on the taxis to take us to various places. Would definitely recommend visiting Trunk Bay and Honeymoon beach. We also took the 2 hour island tour to various spots which was great as well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. However, food is very expensive (both in restaurants and in the stores) on the island. My wife was the smart one here and she packed an extra suitcase full of non-perishables (snacks, cereal, PButter etc). This came in very handy and saved us quite a bit. I was rather surprised at some of the negative reviews on here, because it made me somewhat skeptical. I am glad we took the chance! I have stayed at resorts in Cancun and other high-tourist destinations and none of them can even come close to the serene beauty of the Westin St John and the island itself. This is without a doubt the BEST vacation we have experienced. Another tip...when you ride the ferry from St Thomas to St John, sit underneath in the lower deck unless you want to get very wet by the spray. :) My only negative comment would be the television cable selections did not include Nickelodeon or Disney...not that we watch a ton of TV...but while the kids were unwinding after a full day of activity there was really nothing on the tube for them to watch. Also, the unit where we stayed did not have a DVD player. So I would recommend bringing a portable DVD player etc if your kids are like mine and like to watch a movie or TV at night before bed.

If you decide to visit St John and stay in a Westin pool villa you will not regret it! 5 Stars all the way... We are already talking about returning next year!

Room Tip: Stay in the private pool villas if you can, especially if you have kids. They are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Wow, best vacation you have ever experienced.. nothing makes me happier. I was so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your very first stay with us and also that you chose the Westin when booking your vacation to St. John. We truly appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your stay, from our Concierge staff and convenient taxi service to our friendly associates and your private pool accommodations. Thanks again and we truly look forward to your return. We promise to ensure your second visit is just as good as your first.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    923
    383
    233
    167
See reviews for
896
956
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at the Westin STJ. I give the Westin STJ experience 5 stars, but the hotel rooms themselves barely 3 Stars, so an average of 4 stars.

First the rooms - they are average at best, not up to Westin quality, barely even Sheraton caliber. Everything was very clean, orderly and in working condition, so there were no really inexcusable issues. We were just fine with the room, but again, it was not on par with the Westin brand in most major US Cities that I have visited. They are really worn out and need upgrades. Plumbing fixtures were worn out, the tile had been grouted and patched numerous times, there was only one sink in the bathroom - for a resort this seemed underwhelming. Wood furnishings were chipped and worn.

However, the Resort itself was wonderful - The staff was always very pleasant and helpful, the pool side and beach amenities were great - lots of towels, free floats and rafts for use in the pool or ocean, PLENTY of beach chairs beach side, good restaurants, well made drinks, good fitness center, nice deli/store. Taxi's were always available to run into town.
Having Cruz Bay Watersports on site was great to arrange well run excursions - I SCUBA'd one day w/ them and it was well donw. The experience we had was fantastic. We especially liked the floats available and just floating on the bay in lazy circles.

One other last gripe - the "Free" wifi is useless - it states it is 384KBs and it was aweful. Almost useless even for email. For the $40 resort fee, providing 1MB+ wifi service is a MUST.

We were there as a couple and did see a good mix of couples and young familes, but we were never bothered by the crowd or encountered any unruly kids.

W

Room Tip: Building 16, on the water, is closest to the pool and the onsite restaurantes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolinacrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review and for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, amenities, convenient taxi service, and on-site watersports company, Cruz Bay Watersports. Please accept my apologies for the issues you had with the condition of your room accommodations and also the internet concerns. I will share the Wifi feedback with our Director of IT, so that he may evaluate the process and ensure that our guests are able to utilize this service with no issues. We do have a renovation planned that will begin in August 2013 and extend until Spring of 2014. This renovation includes our Poolside and Beachfront rooms, but these rooms will remain as hotel rooms. We hope to welcome you back so that you are able to see our improvements firsthand. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Westin. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Staff was friendly. Although I do not have children, I can see where it would be a family friendly resort. Great place to stay in St John. It offers many activities and amenities. Close into town and many opportunities for socialization with others. My only complaint would be the lack of snorkeling available. The swimming area for the bay is small and lacking in coral. Many boats anchor in their bay and cause much traffic.

Room Tip: My own opinion....I would not pay the extra for beach front, as you are still a distance from the ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your experience with us and other Trip Advisor readers. I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, your room accommodations, our helpful and friendly staff, and convenient location. We recommend you travel off property in order to experience some amazing snorkeling at the many beaches of St. John. Unfortunately, due to our private beach being man-made, you may see lots of fish, but you won’t experience the reef and crystal clear waters like the rest of our beautiful island. Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family has been vacationing on St. John for the last decade. We think St. John has the most beautiful beaches in the world, and it remains lovely and unspoiled, largely because about 3/4 of the island is national park.

My parents own a number of weeks in the Westin villa timeshares, and kindly invited my husband and I to join them for two weeks in June/July of this year. The 2BR/3BA villa we shared with them was very well laid out to maximize comfort and minimize noise. The villa was very well-appointed and well-furnished. Clearly Westin has put a lot of thought into the appointments - there was even laundry detergent and dishwashing liquid.

The hillside villas have their own private pools, which are newly refurbished with top quality deck furniture and top quality barbecue grills. The pool is a pleasant way to spend the afternoon, and because of the spacious umbrellas, it's quite possible to stay cool and out of the sun, even in the heat of the day.

During our stay, we requested assistance several times and in each instance, a Westin staff member quickly appeared and cheerfully helped us.

The resort is situated such that it's an easy walk down to the main hotel, where you can enjoy a meal, visit the enormous pool, sit on the private beach, or take out a paddle board or sailboat. The villas are really the best of both worlds - you have the hotel amenities, but at the same time, the villas are very quiet and private.

While we do always rent a jeep for convenience's sake, you could easily get away with taking the taxis everywhere - they are plentiful and nice. Because it is so hilly (and hot and humid), you won't want to walk into Cruz Bay proper, but it's a very quick taxi ride. The taxis will also take you out to the national park beaches, or even out to the East End if you so desire.

Room Tip: The hillside villas across the street have their own private pools, while the newer villas close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks very much for your review and for posting it on Trip Advisor. It sounds as though you, your husband, and your parents enjoyed your stay in their villa and experienced wonderful Customer Service from our helpful associates. Thank you again for your details for future guests. We hope to see you again next June/July, or better yet, even sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Amazing place to go, had a great time. However, through AMEX we were suppose to get the 4th night free and that didn't happen. Got billed for 4 nights and had to have amex dispute it 2x in order to get our $ back..... took several months. However, the hotel is beautiful & relaxing. We looked at other hotels in StJohn while we were visiting and still like westin the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Please accept my sincere apologies for the billing issues you experienced after check out and that it took so long to get the issue corrected. I do hope that everything has been resolved. Please reach out to us at 01098.guestrelations@westin.com if not. We’re glad to hear that despite checking out other hotel options on St. John, you decided that The Westin St. John was your favorite. We look forward to welcoming you again. No billing issues this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I made a reservation to stay at the resort back April for this November, but recently decided to cancel my trip. Barbara , the reservations supervisor, was very accommodating and I thank her for her help!! While I couldn't make it this year I'm looking forward to coming next year!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tor124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
While we hate to hear that you had to cancel your reservation, we are looking forward to seeing you next year. I will share your feedback with Barbara, as she will be delighted to know just how much her helpfulness meant to you. Thank you for taking the time to post a review even though you decided to forego this year’s trip. We appreciate your loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts and can’t wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Best vacation ever! The Westin picked us up from the St. Thomas airport and brought us to St. John on their ferry. Once there, we were greeted with rum punches (virgin and regular). The staff was super friendly and helpful in arranging tours and activities. The private beach was beautiful, and it was so fun to use the complimentary water sport gear. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenhall0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
The first line of your review says it all! We strive to provide you with the best vacation ever, and I was proud to hear that we did just that. Thank you for sharing your review and for your kind words regarding our welcome process, friendly and helpful staff, private beach and on-site watersports company. We certainly hope you will stay with us again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
8.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Property: The Westin St. John Resort
Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing