We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“lovely island and resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin St. John Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Westin St. John Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“lovely island and resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely island and great resort.
The hotel was very nice and staff were great and its in a great private place.
One fault with hotel and that is, we were in one of the rooms which was located very close to pool and you could walk on to the beach within 1 minute which was great but felt like the rooms could have done with an update, other than that it was fab.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ipad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Many thanks for your short, yet sweet review. I was delighted to hear that you found our associates to be friendly and accommodating and that you enjoyed the private location of the resort and your room. We also appreciate your feedback regarding updates, as we are currently evaluating future renovations and your feedback will only help to speed up the process. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    905
    378
    229
    163
See reviews for
868
937
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hercules, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are Westin Timeshare owners, but not in St. John, and because of that, we're very used to Westin quality, and in some areas, The Westin St. John Resort is lacking.

The room itself was fine. Everything works, well appointed, good station at the desk for charging various devices. I think, if you had the right cables, you could tie your laptop into the flat screen and watch DVDs. The devil, though, is in the detail. The room was never cleaned the same way twice. Everyone left something undone. I don't believe they vacuum-ever. The carpet was dirty. In fact, I spilled some red wine on the carpet, and tried to get it out-the towel was brown rather than red. Also, there were several days when they didn't replenish toilet paper. One day, we came in after an excursion and the room wasn't cleaned yet. We contacted the front desk, and they sent someone to do it, but we had to leave while she cleaned. At that, she didn't replenish coffee, so I had to contact the front desk to have some delivered in the morning.

Lastly, the television selection was very small. I realize you're in paradise, and watching television is one of the last things you think to do, but being from the West Coast, our day-cycle was different, and we'd always retire early. We're not big fans of network TV, but the selections past that were limited. We decided to watch the Super Bowl from our room, since it came on at 7:30 and wouldn't be done until, easily, midnight/1 am, but the transmission was, seemingly, over the air from Puerto Rico, so the picture was extremely snowy.

I rated this as a 4 because most of these are minor, easily fixed issues. The staff was generally friendly, the golf carts always offered us a ride, and everyone worked with a smile on their face. Even the iguanas were pleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms face the bay, so I'd bet they all can see blue water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bankerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and for posting it on Trip Advisor. While we appreciate your kind words regarding your room accommodations and our helpful and friendly associates, I want to apologize for the inconsistent Housekeeping service you received and also the issues you experienced with your television for the Super Bowl. As an owner, your feedback is extremely important to us, and I will pass your feedback along to my Director of Housekeeping so that he can address the concerns that arose with the Housekeeping procedures and supplies that were not delivered daily. I will also have Engineering address the television concern, and we will do our best to ensure that you are not inconvenienced by this upon your return to us. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm here now on my beachfront patio. (Upgrade courtesy of Westin.) Our bed is clean and comfy. They cleaning staff has been fine. Weston is promoting conserving water towels on floor mean replace. Hanging towels mean one will reuse. I'm not at the Ritz, I don't expect turn down. If no turn down is the worst of my day, I'm a happy camper! Ask for room 1010, wonderful! Just wondering if the last unhappy person ever tipped his cleaning staff........

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank romeosmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your vacation to leave such a nice review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you are enjoying your Beachfront upgrade and that you’ve found the Housekeeping service provided to you to exceed your expectations while promoting sustainability. We are glad you are relaxed and refreshed and can be at your best. Thank you again and we hope you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Housekeeping staff stole approx $3000 of our personal things from our room - we were reimbursed only $100 from Starwood's insurance company. On another occasion, upon check-in we had pubic hairs on the "clean" sheets, hundreds of ants in the bathroom, & a soaking wet floor from a leak in the roof. We were moved to a place where the air condition wasn't working.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jeri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. In the event that any type of theft occurs on property, Starwood Hotels and Resorts and The Westin’s Security team has a strict protocol in place to respond to these claims and investigate them further for resolution. Guests’ missing personal belongings is something we take very seriously, and I can assure that additional action is taken and correct compensation is issued when necessary. I am unclear whether or not your review is based on a recent stay or multiple stays, as you mentioned separate occasions. Please feel free to reach out to us at 01098.guestrelations@westin.com to discuss your claims in further detail. We’d be more than happy to assist. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

You have to visit St. John it is a beautiful island and the Westin St. John is comfortable and relaxing place to spend a week! The grounds are well kept and extensive with plenty of activities and a nice swim up pool bar. There are choices for dining and a must have calamari at the lobby bar and restaurant. The best I have ever had! There is a car rental on site and we rented a jeep and went to the village and drove the island. Very safe and an easy drive. Several donkeys roaming the island so be sure to pick up some sugar cubes or veggies for them. The will put their heads directly in your car to get treats which make a great photo opp. The beach is clean and not crowded and our ocean front room was standard but about 10 steps from the beach with a private front porch which made the vacation!!. Trunk Bay is where we snorkeled and saw lots of interesting fish. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at the Westin if you love to unwind and relax!! 5 stars for location, rental car pick up, beachfront room, and quiet relaxation.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms with porch are the only way I would stay again because I am now spoiled from stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelLeaders2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Westin St. John for your recent vacation. It sounds as though you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed many of our amenities available to our guests, such as numerous activities, on-site car rental, private beach and beautiful grounds. I was happy to hear you experienced Trunk Bay – isn’t it beautiful? Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The first week of December 2012 we had the pleasure of spending a week with friends at their timeshare. The resort was immaculate, accommodating, and a perfect location. Transfers from airport were easy as was any side excursions. Loved every minute!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englishandirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. December is a busy time for The Westin St. John, so your review is much appreciated, as it assists us in knowing that we are pleasing our guests even during our busiest time of year. Thank you again and we hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed in a pool villa..all of them have recently been renovated.. Loved our private pool with waterfall and the built in gas BBQ in patio. Very well stocked kitchen and lots of living space for our party of 6.. Shuttle to main pool and restaurants are amazingly prompt when requested. Cruz Bay Prime steaks are absolutely delectable..and service impeccable and friendly.

highly recommend for a very relaxing and no hurry/no fuss vacation

Room Tip: ask for a pool villa if 3 couples as lots of room and will not be falling over each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinretirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review! I was pleased to hear that your party of six enjoyed your stay with us and that your three bedroom pool villa was well equipped and accommodating for your guests. Thank you for your feedback regarding our convenient shuttle service and fine dining restaurant, Cruz Bay Prime. Demetrius and his staff will be happy to know that they were able to enhance your stay. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Property: The Westin St. John Resort
Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort, makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing