We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Place but Pricey to Get Around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westin St. John Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place but Pricey to Get Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We went to St. John using a Sheraton Vacation Network trade. There were six of us sharing a two bedroom with a loft.. The unit was very nice but when they say it sleeps 8-10 comfortably they are not talking about adults. Two had the king bedroom, 2 had the 2 doubles bedroom and the other couple slept on a hideabed in the living area... ..For a family it would be fine but with 3 couples, it did not leave much privacy for the couple in the living room...There was a beautiful view of Cruz Bay from the balcony but again, there were only 2 chairs on a small balcony for a unit supposed to sleep 8-10.
We were there Labor Day week and it was considered off seaon so there was only the deli, pool bar and one restaurant open. The food was very good but pricey with a limited selection. We decided to get groceries as there is a small grocery store a few blocks off the property. We took a tour of St. John and asked the tour driver to drop us at the grocery store. You can walk your groceries in the grocery cart back to the resort, leave it at the security gate, and call for a shuttle to take you and groceries to your unit..Groceries are very high... $7 for a box of cheerios, $3 for a dozen eggs, etc. Still it was more economical than eating out all the time..The breakfast buffet with tax was almost $30 pp so we had breakfast in the room most mornings. When the six of us rode into town for dinner, it was $30 each way as they charge $5 pp. Going to the beaches such as Trunk Bay was a few dollars more pp each way..
There are shuttles to take you around the property but nothing but taxi's if you want to go off site. That was our main complaint as we had been to the Westin Kaanapali in Maui and their complimentary shuttles took you into town and you had access to all the shops and restaurants for several blocks plus it took you to neighboring properties also.
We did opt to use the Westin Ferry rather than the public ferry and it was $110 per person for the week.. We took the ferry over to St. Thomas one day to shop and tour.. The public ferry may not be as pricey but we liked the convenience of having the ferry on premises, our bags handled, no cabs to catch, etc.
We loved the pool and beach and spent alot of time there. The iguanas are big and rather bold and will not hesitate to swipe the garnishment from your drink if you leave it unattended.
St. John is a beautiful island but there are other places to visit which are just as beautiful that are a much better value so I don't think any of us will return.

Room Tip: If your unit is on the hill, it can be a long walk--especially going back up on a hot day so utilize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snooky44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your review with others on Trip Advisor. While it sounds as though you enjoyed many aspects of your recent stay, I want to apologize for the things that did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your candid feedback and also your details regarding our ferry transfer, St. John market, dining options and our two bedroom villas. We take your comments very seriously and will evaluate our current taxi procedures in order to better serve our guests and exceed your expectations. May we also recommend the option of renting a car, as we have an on-site car rental for your convenience and it can often be a cheaper often, especially with a large group of six. We hope that all of you will return in the future so that we may provide you with a true Westin experience. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    931
    384
    234
    168
See reviews for
909
961
29
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Best 50th birthday ever - spent the mornings scuba diving with the staff at the Westin. It was so convenient to dive with the resort - we just loved the water clarity and temperature. It was disappointing as September is the slow season, and there were not enough divers to go to the Wreck of Rhone. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for your review – Cruz Bay Watersports will be delighted to know that they were able to enhance your stay with us and especially that they made your 50th birthday one to remember! We hope to welcome you back for your 51st.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I think the problem was two-fold for us... We stayed in St. Thomas for the first 5 days of our trip to the USVI and left the Westin St. John to be the last night and climax of our honeymoon. Our expectations for the Westin were high, as we like the Westin brand here in the States, and our expectations for our hotel in St. Thomas were low, after seeing the room photos and reviews before we left. We first stayed at Sugar Bay in St. Thomas, all-inclusive with an ocean view room. As a caveat, we WERE upgraded at Sugar Bay into a recently renovated ocean view suite, which made the experience much more pleasurable had we got the standard outdated rooms.

Honestly, I would rate the Westin hotel 3.5, not 3... The grounds are beautiful, manicured, and treated for pests, which is definitely a plus. However, when we arrived my husband we were expecting the Westin to blow away Sugar Bay, especially for the price per night. Upon arrival, the lobby, while open-air and breezy, felt cold and unwelcoming. Nice staff, but no exuberance, and NO welcome drinks:\ I let that go. We were taken to our room, which ON PAPER is the same as we selected at Sugar Bay: king bed, ocean view, and our included meals (via a website deal:) We were sorely disappointed by the room, although it technically was ocean view... The room was dark and poorly lit, because the room windows are also your door/entry, so when you close the blinds for privacy, so goes the sun:\ The 'ocean view' was a partial view of Cruz Bay that was almost entirely eclipsed by the sailboat masts in Cruz Bay and foliage...which in my book is NOT a 'view'.

The pool was clean, large, and beautiful, very oasis-like. Also a plus, the food was terrific! We had included vouchers for dinner and breakfast the following morning. Since it was the low season the Prime steakhouse was closed, but we ate at Beaches and literally had beachfront meals for sunset AND sunrise. Tip: spray the OFF. Eating beachfront means biting flies and fleas:\

Considering we only had one night here I am grateful... We considered staying the entire honeymoon here and am SO glad we did not. At the Westin, we were STILL missing the panoramic view of blue and turquoise water from the balcony and a breezy, modern room at the Sugar Bay... Last point for comparison... through our deal website that included breakfast and dinner each night for the Westin, it was STILL $1700 no taxes for 5 day, 4 nights. Sugar Bay (through a Living Social Deal) was the same time frame, $1100 deluxe room, all you can eat and DRINK, gratuity and taxes. That just feels like financial sodomy. The Westin should be ashamed that Sugar Bay, who is 'ranked' less than them are blowing them away in some areas...

Room Tip: Don't assume their 'view' rooms actually have a view. ASK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRosado2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your details and are happy that you chose The Westin St. John to be a part of your special honeymoon trip. While it sounds as though there were many aspects of our resort that you enjoyed, such as our relaxing pool and dining options, I want to apologize that our lobby, front desk staff and your room accommodations did not exceed your expectations. I will be sharing your feedback with the respective departments related to your concerns so that we can rectify them for future guests. Again, thank you for your review and your suggestions – we sincerely appreciate your feedback and your loyalty to the Starwood brand. We hope to welcome you back again so that we can be sure to not only meet, but exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been owners since 2008 and always count down the days until our next trip. We first visited in 2008 during a friend's wedding here at the resort. We loved it here from the start and were easily talked into becoming owners. We started with every other year ownership but soon decided that we wanted to visit every year.

As many other reviews have noted, you need to visit St. John's many fabulous beaches and other sites to get the true experience. We do like spending time at the beach and pool at the resort (which are both very nice), but you would definitely be missing out if you did not venture out to the other beaches.

We purchase food at the market located at the ferry dock in St. Thomas and/or the St. John market located near the property to avoid having to eat all meals out. We tend to eat several lunches on the property and venture into Cruz Bay for dinner. The food at Snorkels (pool bar) is good but a little pricey. We have had very good service when sitting at the bar but the service on the beach and at the pool has always been a little slow - definitely on island time.

I always look forward to the Heavenly beds at Westin properties. They never disappoint. We have stayed in the hotel rooms and in the villas and have always been pleased with the rooms. We have had occasional issues like a smoke detector battery not being replaced in a timely basis after being reported, but overall we are very happy with the service. We tend to walk down from our villa which is up on the hill but appreciate the Iguana shuttle golf cart service for our way back up. When coming back from Cruz Bay, we always ask the taxi driver to drop us off at our villa and that has worked well.

We have always received great tips from the locals and from other travelers. Ask around and take advantage of the helpful info.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Many thanks for your review and for your consistent loyalty to Starwood Hotels and Resorts. It sounds as though you enjoy your experience year after year, and we love nothing more than to hear that. We appreciate your tips for future travelers regarding both The Westin St. John and the island as a whole. Thank you again for your review – we can’t wait to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

First trip to St John. Big Westin fans so were looking forward to our visit. If you take their ferry service to and from the airport getting you to the resort is painless if a little pricey. We stayed in a Hillside Studio which was fine for a couple. Nice set up, but frankly the room was in need if refurbishment for sure. We did a tour of the bayside villas. Clearly newer and quite nice. The Hillside Villas are a hike away from the main hotel and amenities. They were just finishjng thd hillside pools and they were very nice with communal BBQ if you want to avoid the expensive food snd cook yourself. Golf cart shutttels are very available though a bit of a pain given the distance involved. Pool is great and although some reviewers pan the beach we found it relaxing and water very pleasant. One cool benefit is any water toy "without a moter" is free. We got a kayak a tooled around the bay checking out boats and homes. Although we only ate lunches at the property the food was good and the location overlooking the beach was nice.
As I said the service was great but our visit was before folks start piling inti the USVI . Easy to get reservations at restaurants in town and beaches were uncrowded. We will be back but would like to see the villas spruced up a bit

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawksurfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to learn that your first trip to St. John was an enjoyable one and that you found your experience at The Westin to be relaxing and refreshing. I was happy to hear that you found our ferry transfer convenient, our beach and pool to be revitalizing, and that you were able to utilize the non-motorized beach equipment that is included in our resort fee. As you mentioned, some of our villas have been newly renovated, and we currently evaluating renovations for the remainder of the property as well. We look forward to welcoming you back to show you our improvements first hand. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Me and my wife stayed here in July 2012. I had booked a room foom for 7 days at this resort. After booking my room I started reading horrible reviews and I must say I was terrified that my vacation was going to be ruined. I started looking for other places to stay. I went back and forth for weeks and even called corporate to see if the reviews were accurate. We decided to keep our reservation. All I can say is ignore the bad reviews. I was that guy who was tottaly worried. 1. our room was not the newest but very nice, cleaned every day with new linens, bedding etc., and our bathroom was very clean as well. 2. We typically had the buffet in the morning it was terrific. 3. The staff is very nice and helpful (This does not mean kiss your a--) just proffesional and nice.
4. The grounds are well maintained, beautiful, pool relaxing. I was not fond of the beach because there were so many beautiful ones on the island that it didnt compare. If you are contimplating staying here i reccomend it. Your hardly in your room anyway and like I said it was way better then the bad reviews on here. Go have fun.

Room Tip: Get a pool room ;-) I think we had Bldg. 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We were very glad to hear you decided to keep your reservation and stay with us in July. It sounds as though you made the right decision, and I was glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your room accommodations, our helpful staff, beautiful grounds, and large pool. We appreciate you addressing the negative reviews and informing other guests of your relaxing vacation that may have never happened if you had not come to our island to see for yourself. Thank you again and we certainly hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Don't get me wrong, this is a nice property. But you fly all the way out there and you are entombed in "chain hotel" surroundings. We've stayed at Caneel Bay (fabulous and expensive) and Maho Bay Camps (fabulous and inexpensive) and both offer you the feeling of BEING in St. John. At the Westin, the only beach front is crammed into a small bay jam packed with boats. There's not much view and the amazing color and clarity of the water is totally and completely lost.

The Westin is a nice hotel, with nice grounds and nice facilities. But if you are wanting to experience the real St. John, I'd recommend something a little less commercial.

Room Tip: The property is large, so expect to walk a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMikeRyan, General Manager at The Westin St. John Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. While it sounds as though overall you enjoyed your recent stay at The Westin St. John, I was disappointed to learn that you felt as though the property and resort were too commercialized and did not provide you with a true St. John experience. Our private beach is in fact man-made, and the home harbor to many small, local boats, so we apologize if this inconvenienced you in any way. We are pleased that you were also able to visit the other beaches on our island and bask in their unparalleled beauty. It sounds as though you will be returning to St. John, and we certainly hope that you will give The Westin another try so that we are able to provide you with a true Westin experience. Thank you again for posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cruz Bay
0.7 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
4.3 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#4 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin St. John Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin St. John Resort

Property: The Westin St. John Resort
Address: 300B Chocolate Hole, Cruz Bay 00830, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John > Cruz Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cruz Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin St. John Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 1,200 feet of private beach, The Westin St. John Resort makes for the perfect island retreat. Stay in spacious rooms with ocean views from private balconies or patios. Guests can enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi available in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin St. John Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. John Resort & Villas Hotel Cruz Bay
Westin St. John Resort And Villas
Westin Cruz Bay
Cruz Bay Westin
St John Westin
The Westin St. John Resort Cruz Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing