We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shop, awesome Dive Masters”

Low Key Watersports
Ranked #16 of 42 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Diving, snorkeling, Boat Trips, concierge, and island information
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great shop, awesome Dive Masters”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been diving with Low Key for 4 years, every time we come to St John. The long time Dive Masters still remember us each time we are there and are very accommodating when picking dive sites to ensure we don't dive the same site multiple times. The shop stores all of our gear for us and always has it setup and ready to go on the boat before we get there. The Dive Masters are awesome always looking for stuff to point out and will even go out of their way to try and find certain wildlife on request. Our guide Austin spent so much time looking in every crevice to make sure we found an octopus on our dive and we did! Great shop, will continue to come back when we are in the islands.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mschinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    34
    16
    11
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, NY
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" Fun, patient, and accommodating"”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went to Low Key on a recommendation from our PADI instructor in upstate New York. He described Low Key as accommodating, helpful and fun. My husband and I were newly certified divers. We also brought our children (teenage and young adult) with us. The ‘kids’ had no scuba experience whatsoever.
The Low Key staff was very accommodating. Our discover scuba group did their instructional thing while my husband and I went on various dives nearby (these were tailored to our interests and abilities). After the Discover Scuba lesson with the ‘kids’ was completed, Low Key, by adding another dive master, took our family out as a group Our daughter-in-law had not had much prior experience with water recreation and was uncomfortable in the open water. The dive masters were very helpful and attentive to her concerns. In the end she was confident and eager to go again. We have heard stories about other dive outfits having less patience with beginners, and so we really appreciated the efforts made by the Low Key group to make sure everyone had a good experience.
We went out on 3 two tank dives. Each time the dive sites were chosen according to our interests, abilities and the current weather conditions. All the dives used the appropriate amount of air (we ended each dive with about 500-800 psi). We really enjoyed the pre-dive environmental briefings. It was refreshing to see the appreciation and concern these young dive masters had for the fragile reef environments we were exploring.. After each dive we discussed the things we saw. The enthusiasm of these guys, (especially the discover scuba instructor working with the kids) was infectious. They were always professional and very safety conscious and the gear was always in good operating condition. On each of our 3 dive excursions, Low Key made sure the kids had the same discover scuba instructor so that their experience would be truly progressive. All now want to become certified, even the one who initially was initially uncomfortable with the scuba experience.
As an additional bonus, Ann Marie, the owner, is a huge dog person (as you can see from the photos on their website) and is very involved in the humane society on the island. We enjoyed chatting with her while interacting with her dogs, as well as those of her staff, who are ‘regulars’ at the dive shop. We are both veterinarians and were in St. John attending a veterinary conference. It is our experience that those who give selflessly to humane organizations to help those who cannot help themselves are genuinely good people.
It has been more than a year now since we were there and we are all as enthusiastic about going back to St. John and diving with Low Key again as we were when we first returned home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BethJ_LivoniaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good place to rent snorkel equipment”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family of 4 rented snorkel equipment here for a week. The staff was very helpful in getting our masks fitted correctly, and helped my husband find the right prescription mask. I had some trouble with my mask and snorkel combo on the first day, so we dropped back by and I had a replacement within 5 minutes. Their prices are competitive, and their location is easy to find and access.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Haynes-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Equipment sucks, expensive, lack of effort.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

They charge $180 to dive the Rhone wreck; dive shop at the Westin charges $105. Their equipment is substandard and dangerous; my regulator was faulty and wouldn't give me enough air. Did a reef dive and spent 1/2 of the dive sitting in the sand with nothing to see while the dive master looked for weights and equipment he could salvage. The owner is surly and aloof. Use the dive shop at the Westin...much less expensive and parking is plentiful if you have a rental car.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank agent1k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

3rd time diving with Low Key. Two adventure dives and finally open water dives for certification. Great experience each time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Low Key Watersports also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Low Key Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing