We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip”

Big Blue Excursions
Ranked #6 of 42 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Charter your Private Power boat for groups of 2-11 passengers or enjoy a Sailing Adventure with us! It's your way every day on Big Blue's 31 foot Grady Whites "Gypsea Girl" or "Big Blue". Or sail our 37 foot Tayana sailboat "Papillon". Vessels are roomy and comfortable for your private group. We'll help you design the perfect itinerary for your group and create the best day of your vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Highlight of the trip”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The half-day we spent motoring around with Captain Mindy was the highlight of a spectacular vacation. The boat is spotless and very comfortable -- plenty of places to lounge in the sun, catch the spray or the breeze. There's also shade when you want it. She stocks clean ice, soft drinks and beer, and you can bring anything else you want aboard. The sound system is great. She'll dial up a playlist for you, or you can bring your own.

Our group was split between snorkelers and sightseers, and she accommodated that perfectly. I'm a lousy swimmer and don't always feel comfortable on boats, but Mindy puts everyone at ease. She was happy to answer questions about the islands and life there and really engage with us, but also knew when to hang back and just let us enjoy the ride.

Another nice plus was that she took photos and emailed them to us later.

If you're nervous about going out on a boat, or you've been out before and somebody made you self-conscious because you didn't know port from starboard, go out with Captain Mindy. It was a beautiful, relaxing afternoon. If I could give her six stars, I would.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sks028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Stars for Mindy!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and have been out with Mindy on Gypsy Girl a number of times over the years and all I can say is she is the best! No one else can come close to making a day on the water absolutely perfect! Finally got a chance to go sailing with her on Papillon.... again perfect!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stjohncruzbaylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing day trip!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Four of us chartered Gypsea Girl for a day in the BVIs and all agreed it was our best day of the trip! The boat is very comfortable with a cushioned lounging area in the front where 2 or 3 people can lay full length and enjoy the sun. It was extremely luxurious for 4 people and there is plenty of room for more. We knew we wanted to go the Indians and the Caves, but we followed Mindy's advice on our first stop at Congo Cay. It was amazing! We were swimming in thousands of tiny fish, and also saw a sea turtle, several barracuda, and a number of other beautiful fish. She definitely steered us right. Later we had lunch at Pirate's (also a good recommendation by Mindy) and snorkeled the Caves and the Indians, which never disappoint. I was a little nervous about going out on a smaller boat because of sea sickness, but Gypsea Girl is quite stable. I only felt queasy when we were really, really rocking, and I've gotten queasier on much larger boats. I've done several large group day trips that run off St. John, and a private charter beats the heck out of them. If you've got more than 2 people and feel like spending the money, it's so nice to get to direct your own day and not be stuck with a pre-ordained agenda. Mindy was all about letting us decide what we wanted to do, and offered advice when we asked for it. It was truly our day to do as we wished. Mindy is super and all of us loved the experience. Highly recommend!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MME_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copiague, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved The Trip”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We had a great day! We couldn't ask for a more beautiful day. Weather was perfect. Just the right amount of wind to take us out to the BVI's. Captain Mindy was very knowledgeable...a very interesting soul on all her experiences. We felt totally comfortable with her...and her ship mate. She was a book of knowledge when it came to sailing, as well as the sites to see on the Islands. The Sailboat was awesome, We would definitely take another day sometime in the future.

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“best day of our trip!!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had such a great time with Mindy. She was the bomb!!! Our family loved the snorkeling and she was a wealth of knowledge about the history of St. John and the animals that inhabit the islands. My kids were spouting all the things they learned from Mindy for days afterwards. The boat was great, the amenities were great, and the places she took us to beyond compare. She allowed us to snorkel in places we never would have found on our own. We will definitely come back to St. John and we will be sure to book two days next time. Thanks again Mindy,
The Stadtlanders, Hingham, MASS

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank kristen chase S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Blue Excursions also viewed

 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Big Blue Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing