We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best day of our trip”

Big Blue Excursions
Ranked #5 of 40 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Charter your Private Power boat for groups of 2-11 passengers or enjoy a Sailing Adventure with us! It's your way every day on Big Blue's 31 foot Grady Whites "Gypsea Girl" or "Big Blue". Or sail our 37 foot Tayana sailboat "Papillon". Vessels are roomy and comfortable for your private group. We'll help you design the perfect itinerary for your group and create the best day of your vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best day of our trip”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We enjoyed the half day tour on Big Blue as part of our cruise vacation! Our family of 11 had a private snorkeling excursuion with Captain Rory and he did a fabulous job! The day is at your pace and up to you on what you would like to see. We saw sea turtles and squid and the most beautiful water. The boat is very nice and clean. I would highly recommend this as part of your vacation!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“St. John's BEST!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We recently returned from a trip to St. John and the highlight of our trip was Mindy and her team at Big Blue Excursions! We booked 2 days of boating with Gypsea Girl and sailed throughout the USVI and BVI. Our favorite spots were throughout Jost Van Dyke and Skinny Legs. Captain Mindy's knowledge, expertise, charisma, and professionalism is unmatched. She made our trip incredibly memorable and fun. We can't wait to get back to St. John to visit and travel aboard Gypsea Girl.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a day!!! Fantastic snorkeling with Mindy!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our day with Mindy was fantastic! We have been on many snorkeling trips while visiting St. John, but this had to be the best! Mindy gave us some brief history of the islands while on the way to our first snorkeling stop. We then headed to the BVI's for our second snorkel....it was fantastic!! Our last stop was a late lunch at Foxy's on Yost Van Dyke.
We had told Mindy our main objective was good snorkeling and food...and she certainly delivered.
Take a day with Mindy if you can!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank fishnfowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Family FUN day on board the Gypsea Girl!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Having done other excursions while on St. John we decided to try Big Blue Excursions. Captain Mindy and Rory picked us up in their dingy at 8:30am next to the Westin dock. We took a short ride to the Gypsy Girl, which was anchored in Great Cruz Bay.

Once we were at the boat, Capt. Mindy gave her brief talk and offered us something to drink. Then we were off to Hawksnest Bay, where we snorkeled while Capt. Mindy got our paperwork in order. About 30 minutes later we were off to the BVI's, where we cleared customs & then went to The Indians to snorkel. (Awesome snorkeling spot)
Rory told us about Willie T's, which is off of Norman Island so we decided to go there for adult beverages, a GREAT lunch and of course a JUMP in the water! Next stop Foxy's for drinks & T-Shirts! Then we went to Sandy Cay & Sandy Spit for photo's. We ended our day at Soggy Dollar, on Jost Van Dyke where we had Pain Killers and bought more T-shirts & hats!

Capt. Mindy provided smiles, kindness, great music, detangle spray for our hair, snorkel gear, noodles for floating, lot's of knowledge about the BVI's, took great pictures for us and a FUN day for our family of 6!
Rory was AWESOME too...he keep the beer & water coming, answered questions, offered GREAT suggestions, took great pictures of us jumping off the boat at Willie T's and just ready to make our day FUN!

Looking for a different way to see the BVI's? Spend the day with Capt. Mindy & crew and you will have it "Your Way"!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JAM5472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a FUN day!!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Having already done the Bad Kitty, which was a lot of fun but a long day of travel, I wanted my friends who had not been to the BVI to have some great snorkeling experiences, lunch at a cool place on Tortolla and end the day with an original Painkiller on Jost van Dyke. And Captain JC (stands for Jose Cuervo!!) did not disappoint.

JC took us to a great snorkeling spot which was coincidentally the same spot where I had fly-fished for tarpon the day before with one of my guests. But this spot was SO COOL for snorkeling, as I was snorkeling right near the boat just as the "bait ball" swam by. This was thousands and thousands of small fish forming a shadow under water probably 300 feet in diameter or more, followed by 5 tarpon. My friend was the fly-fisherman (the day before was the first time I had seen fly-fishing in person) and we had talked with the fishing guide all day the day before about the "bait ball." Now I know exactly what the bait ball is!!

JC filled out the BVI forms while we snorkeled. Then off to The Caves at Norman Island for some more snorkeling - what a COOL PLACE to snorkel. The caves were much deeper into the side of the mountain they looked in photos I had seen. Next time I would definitely bring a flashlight - it gets pretty dark the farther you go into some of the caves.

Then off to Tortolla to the original PUSSER'S restaurant - and the had great Painkillers made the original way with Pusser's dark rum! Lunch was great too, we all enjoyed our lunch!

Finally, a quick trip to Jost van Dyke for some original Painkillers. I had been there 4 years earlier and really enjoyed the Painkillers at the Soggy Dollar Bar. But the Painkiller I had was disappointing compared to last time...

A Note on Painkillers: the best Painkillers we had were at the Beach Bar on St. John (they go down too easy...), Aqua Grille in Coral Bay (ok, the Betty Ford clinic guy knows how to make great Painkillers, with Pusser's rum), and at lunch at the original Pusser's Landing, West End.

Captain JC even arranged for us to go inside a 6-bedroom/12 passenger catamaran that we could charter. And JC is available to be our captain!

Thanks for a FUN DAY!!

Visited October 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Blue Excursions also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Big Blue Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing