We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Voted "Best Day" by everyone in our group!!”

Big Blue Excursions
Ranked #5 of 39 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Charter your Private Power boat for groups of 2-11 passengers or enjoy a Sailing Adventure with us! It's your way every day on Big Blue's 31 foot Grady Whites "Gypsea Girl" or "Big Blue". Or sail our 37 foot Tayana sailboat "Papillon". Vessels are roomy and comfortable for your private group. We'll help you design the perfect itinerary for your group and create the best day of your vacation!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Voted "Best Day" by everyone in our group!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This day could not have been any better, thanks to Captain Mindy! She went out of her way to make sure our day was spent doing exactly what we wanted to do, which included GREAT snorkeling spots and a memorable lunch at Willy T's. The boat we traveled on was a Grady WHite which provided enough sun and shade for the six of us that traveled. At the end of the week, we took a poll and decided that our daytrip with Captain Mindy was the highlight of our trip. Thanks for everything, Mindy! Lots of great memories (and thanks for the pictures too!!!). You'll be the first call we make on our next trip to St. John!!

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Angela162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Highlight of the Trip"”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the third time we have been to the VI's. Every time we go down we make sure to hook up with Captain Mindy. Captain Mindy does everything she can to make your trip a once in a lifetime trip. She was great with the kids and made sure we had a great time. If you book with anyone else you are missing out. I highly reccommend Big Blue Excursions when down in the Islands.

Visited June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank TDFBANKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best thing we did all week!!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a great time!!! It was "our" day, we got to do exactly what we wanted. Capt Mindy is amazing!!! She made sure we saw the BEST of the VI's. If you miss this you'll regret it!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redsoxchic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day on GypseaGirl”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My family chartered GypseaGirl for a day in the BVIs last month and we had a great time. Captain JC took us to a secluded spot for a beautiful morning snorkel while he filled out the paperwork. Then it was off to Tortola where JC took care of customs for us. We did a little shopping at Frenchmen's Cay, then headed to Norman Island for more snorkeling at the Ledges. It was very windy and rough the day of our trip, but JC handled the boat with expert care and he chose sheltered snorkeling spots so my young kids wouldn't get overwhelmed with the wind and waves. We wanted to eat lunch at Willy T's and JC wisely suggested we do a "fly by" first to make sure it wasn't too rowdy that day. The crowd looked relatively tame, so we tied up and had a great lunch. Then JC brought us to his favorite mooring at the Indians for another awesome snorkel. JC was very knowledgeable, friendly, professional---and he was great with the kids. The boat was spotless and in great condition. When we go back to St John next year, we are absolutely booking this charter again!

Visited April 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Brendan--MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Trip at Quality Price”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is our third trip back on Big Blue. We spent the day with Captain JC and loved his warm hospitality, professionalism and ability to plan the perfect trip in minutes. We usually have Captain Mindy but loved Captain JC just as much. A no brainer. BIG BLUE all the way. It will be the best day of your vacation. It's always ours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MilsyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Blue Excursions also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Big Blue Excursions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing