We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great crew!”

Cruz Bay Watersports
Ranked #3 of 40 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Celebrating 29 years in business, Cruz Bay Watersports has evolved into the most diversified watersports Company in the Virgin Islands. Scuba and snorkel trips offered daily as well as BVI trips to the Baths, Caves, Foxy's, and the Soggy Dollar Bar. With two retail locations, Cruz Bay and the Westin Resort, CBW is your best source for "All Things Watersports."
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Great crew!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Can not say enough about our crew today for the Baths tour And snorkeling. Rich, Troy, Ben and Carrie! They kept us informed, entertained and well hydrated ! ;). Also the catamaran cruise is a must! We saw whales! Wonderful crew as well. Very professional team!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriB49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,612
    149
    46
    19
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palisades, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cruz Bay Watersports knows how to pull off a dive”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Even though I am a new diver, the guys at Cruz Bay, especially Cody and Skeeter, really helped at every turn. They even allowed me to go on a night dive, which I highly recommend for all divers. Thank you for bringing this magical world into view!

Helpful?
Thank Livy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dive St. John”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

...with Cruz Bay Watersports for the best diving on island. Two-tank boat diving every morning, single tank in the afternoon, plus special expeditions to great sites, like the wreck of the Rhone in the British V.I. Virgin Islands diving is good to excellent by Caribbean standard. We are experienced divers with 1700 openwater dives each, in most places divers have heard of, and Cruz Bay Watersports is top notch day diving by any standard. We go to St. John for the diving, but we meet many casual divers on the boats who just dive a few times a year, perhaps while they're on St. John for a meeting or vacation. (Us? 31 tanks each in 3 weeks.) This year, Cody, Morgan & Jason were the principal divemasters & guides, and they take care of everyone, rookies to old salts, with friendly skill and advice. Got a nondiving companion? Intro to Scuba with Cruz Bay professionals @ the Westin will get him/her started.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank pomacanthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
328 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Interesting but...”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We took the full day tour which goes to The Baths, has lunch at Cooper Island and the snorkels at Norman Island because it was described as "more adventurous". The weather was not perfect and the crew (particularly Emily) did their best with the situation. The swim in to the The Baths from an outer mooring was a bit too much for a couple of folks on the boat (the red flag for a problem beach went up after we were in the water). What the crew described a a "walk" between beach flags was really a relatively difficult scramble through The Baths interesting rock formations (but hard on the feet - footgear not recommended by the crew - two of our number ended up with cuts on their feet). The snorkeling in the Cave's at Norman Island was sort of neat (lots of fish, few coral formations) but again the rain was a problem ("It's warmer in the water than on the boat.")

My main issue was the time on the noisy motor boat pounding through the choppy sea. Between immigration into the BVI and then clearing customs coming back into US territory and the time to get to the various attractions, I estimate we spent five hours or so motoring. Perhaps if the weather had been better the time on the ocean might have been more rewarding. One the way back to Cruz bay no one even bought any of the beer available on the boat.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great dives, excellent guides”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I got certified on my trip down to St. John and the instructors were very helpful in getting me everything I needed. The dives were great and didn't feel instructional or like we were held out on because we were just getting certified. We even saw a frog fish, which apparently are very rare! Overall great trip and great service!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cruz Bay Watersports also viewed

 

Been to Cruz Bay Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing