We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a good breakfast at JJ's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JJ's Texas Coast Cafe - CLOSED

JJ's Texas Coast Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Always a good breakfast at JJ's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

While on St. John, we always try and make a least one breakfast stop at JJ's. The menu hasn't changed but the food is always good. My favorite is the huervos rancheros. They are one of the best in my opinion here. My husband also always enjoys the breakfast burrito and recommends getting the sauce on the side. Service can sometimes be a bit of a wait, so be sure to get a fresh hot cup of coffee or one of their bloody mary's, because you may be waiting a while. Don't worry - you're on island time!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NJSusan-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    73
    34
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Better than average in the center of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

JJ's is great for breakfast. The breakfast burrito is great, and it's nice to sit outside and watch people in the town square and coming off the ferries. We also had lunch and a dinner there. These were pretty good as well, but nothing outrageous in terms of the food. Still, a solid, reasonable choice in a good setting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Thomas, USVI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good breakfasts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The service here is slow (even for Caribbean standards), but it's a nice little place to sit back, relax, and people watch. Decent food, worth the price. As a local I probably go once or twice a month.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank az93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Food, Spotty Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

JJ's is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We enjoyed dinner in November, sitting outside. There was only one girl working both the bar and tending to the tables. While the place was far from packed (three tables outside and 4 people at the bar) - the service was not so good. We found the waitress to be friendly, but uncaring about people - their food quality or the wait. The table next to us had their food sitting in the kitchen window for quite some time before eventually getting up and helping themselves to both their meal and their silverware. While I'm sure she was doing her best - she wasn't appologetic or understanding at all.

The food was very good and the prices very reasonable.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LivandMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Center Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Right there in the center to see the ferry take of and arrive, lots of people watching and good food.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank GMRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JJ's Texas Coast Cafe also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing