We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and music!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Ranked #15 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went on a Friday night and watched Stephen Sloan play guitar. The food was awesome (huge chicken sandwiches!) and the atmosphere was great! We got to enjoy time with friends, listen to nice live music and enjoyed delicious food and drink, can't ask for anything more!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mattprest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    207
    74
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I had my wedding reception here for 18 guests. The service was wonderful and the entire team went out of their way to make sure our guests had a wonderful evening. The food was delisious and the painkillers were amazing! Thank you and we will be back next time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank krpinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menagha,MN
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food and greatest service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

They were so friendly and catered to our every need and the food was excellent The view was terrific but then sunset over the ocean is wonderful. The staff was very attentive and the food was very tasty, My favorite was the duck.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank judy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cuisine, attention & view...all superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

When one is planning a trip to St. John, it must include lunch or dinner at the Waterfront Bistro. We have dined a number of times and this restaurant just keeps getting better on every level. The atmosphere is perfect for a romantic dinner, a celebration or just being with family and friends. This particular occasion was a birthday dinner and we were seated at a lovely table; just steps from the water; all have wonderful views.

We had the Crab, Roasted Poblano & Ricotta Crepes and Caesar Salad (with anchovies, of course) as a first, both delicious. As our main course we had the Grilled Mahi-Mahi with Crab Smashed Potatoes, Blood Orange Caviar & Citrus Herb Vinaigrette as well as the Scallops with Shrimp & Coconut Risotto. The Mahi-Mahi is always very good however the next time we go back, definitley the Scallops - they were one of the best meals we have ever tasted in our lives! For dessert, we shared the Chocolate Mousse Tower on a Flourless Chocolate Cake with a divine sauce in addtion to two Expresso Martinis (we did not share those!)

The service was perfect; just the right amount of attention and we really enjoyed talking to the very professional yet personable staff. The chef and owner have really accomplished a wonderful balance of customer service and superb fine cuisine, together with an extraordinary view that has us planning our next reservation with friends to enjoy as well!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stjaquabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely island restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Food was great - drinks even better! The water is right there and you can take a quick stroll in the sand while you wait for your order. People are always friendly and upbeat - no matter what time of day you choose to go.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing