We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Fish tacos are delicious. Can't beat the painkillers. Beautiful view. This is our favorite place for lunch.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 6GRTKDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    193
    69
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best meal of our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice waterfront table to watch the sunset. Service was attentive but not imposing. Great wines on the wine list. But the real attraction here is the food--absolutely top notch. For firsts, wife had the French Onion soup-made to order, amazingly flavorful and rich broth. I had the crab, poblano, and ricotta crepes. Perfectly balanced-I could taste each of the elements but none overwhelmed the other, and the creole itself was light and eggy.we both had the mixed green salad-fresh greens, nicely dressed. Wife had the duck-breast was perfectly done with a blueberry Madeira sauce that put it over the top. The Confit was juicy and tender-a pleasure to eat. I had the pan seared scallops which we perfect-crispy on the outside but tender and moist on the inside. And the shrimp-coconut risotto was great-savory, not sweet. We closed with the painkiller cheesecake-a small, perfectly sized serving of rich, rum, coconut, pineapple, orange cheese cake.

It as a bit pricey, but in this case you really get what you pay for. Love this place and will definitely go back if/when we make it back to St John.

Helpful?
3 Thank NoVaEmptyNesters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Jan. 24, 2013

We decided to head to St. John's for a nice lunch and a little break from St. Thomas. We headed out around 10:30 thinking wer would have a nice lunch near where the boat docks.
A friend suggested the Waterfront Bistro so that is where we ended let me asure you it was delicious. We started with dirnks and calamari ad also truffled fries..all cooked perfectly. Our guests got fresh tuna tacos an the birsto burger and enjoyed both tremendously. My wife got the Tuna Nicoise which she enjoyed and I got the duck sliders and they were some of the best I have ever had. The drinks and the service was prompt and easy. We wanted the famous ice cream for deseret but the manager siad you can only get the ice cream at dinner. Strange but we adhered to what the told us and felt we had a wonderful experience at this little heaven on the water. It is a one minute walk from the dock.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank printer125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“St John food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location is wonderful, the drinks are excellent, the food was so so. I had Duck, the appetizers were not so great and the lobster bisque was a little fishy tasting. Our service was not good, the place was not busy, they get you started but only at a very Island pace and it took a long time to get out and on with our night. Would not return to this one, too pricey for so so food and not impressed with the service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilinSkylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
539 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Menu constantly changes, and always satisfies. Service is good and the food always fresh and creative

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing