We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“St John food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Bistro

Waterfront Bistro
Ranked #9 of 57 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“St John food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location is wonderful, the drinks are excellent, the food was so so. I had Duck, the appetizers were not so great and the lobster bisque was a little fishy tasting. Our service was not good, the place was not busy, they get you started but only at a very Island pace and it took a long time to get out and on with our night. Would not return to this one, too pricey for so so food and not impressed with the service!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmilinSkylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    193
    69
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
539 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Menu constantly changes, and always satisfies. Service is good and the food always fresh and creative

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great brunch on Sunday.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had brunch on a Sunday morning and it was great. They have tasty omelets and eggs benedict. You can wash those down with mimosa's and bloody mary's.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John and Kym M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in St. John”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We were going to go to High Tide next door, but it was crowded with a lot of drunk, loud people drinking brightly colored sugar & rum cocktails, loud TV screen & bit trashy. So we walked over to Waterfront Bistro. Probably the best food I've had on St. John, had no expectations, just walked in. We sat at a high table by the bar over looking Cruz Bay, no other waterside seats were available, it was fine, the bar wasn't noisy. Small menu and St. John prices, the waiter was pleasant and everything on the menu was his favorite so I suspected the food wouldn't be very good. I ordered the duck my partner the Tuna. To my surprise the duck was excellent, I could have been in Manhattan. I'll return on my next trip!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank runningtiger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I just love coming here for lunch! The menu selection is small but varied, and the quality and portions are very good. The service is graciously unobtrusive, allowing you to enjoy your meal without being interrupted all the time. You just can't beat the views and atmosphere when you're trying to enjoy a caribbean vacation spot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bud-pony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Bistro also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Waterfront Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing