We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Awesome Time"”

Calypso Charters Bad Kitty
Ranked #12 of 42 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Choose Bad Kitty and Calypso Charters, we will make your Virgin Island visit complete by spending a day boating on the beautiful Caribbean Sea. Explore the many treasures these Islands and waters have to offer on a boat charter. For ten years we have been guiding visitors throughout the US Virgin Islands and the British Virgin Islands. We offer many boating options to meet all of your charter needs: sail, motor, public, or private. Whether you want to have a peaceful sail on turquoise waters, explore The Baths, snorkel pristine reefs, or party at an island beach bar, we can deliver. We are based on St. John, USVI, but fully accommodate guests staying on St. Thomas. Over the past year we have taken over 15,000 guests on boat charters in these waters. Our friendly and experienced staff will make your charter the best day of your visit to this beautiful place.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Awesome Time"”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Just finished a outing on the Bad Kitty Yesterday with the Family. Had an out standing time. The crew Emily, Carrie, Kara and Mike were great, very knowledgeable and friendly. I see a lot of people leaving bad comments about being rushed and being taken for the $40 additional fees. The whole idea of their tour is to see as much as possible in a all day trip. Just like taking a cruise you get to see several islands for only a day and can choose later to visit a specific island on a later trip. My wife and I loved the time at the Baths and felt the crew spent plenty of time not just walking us through them but also providing plenty of insight into different formations and general info on the baths. We were taken to Cooper Island for lunch which was outstanding. The snorkeling was great as well!! Jost Van Dyke was beutiful. They were very informative and gave us tips on how to return to various spots and ideas on things to do and St John and how to get there. This is definitely a must do in St. John!!! Thank you again to Emily, Carrie, Kara, and Mike for an awesome time!!

Helpful?
Thank Shawn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    96
    36
    19
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Family Trip”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My 76 years old mom, made the hike from the top of the bath all the way to Devils Bay. It was rhis way because the crew were protectiong is from getting sting by jelly fish. So we saw, hike and enjoy the Virgin Gorda Baths. Then there was a stop @ Cooper Island for lunch. Another stop @ Norman Island for a snokeled... And of to Josh Van Dyke. Try Pain Killer, their signature drink.
Thanks to Mike, our new Cuban friend and the rest of the crew for being so patient. Great crew, great tour... If you are in St John or St. Thomas...don't miss out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank casperlc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Island (Speed) Hopping - Teens Loved It”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We enjoyed our day on Bad Kitty out of Cruz Bay. We previously enjoyed Stormy Petrol, but got a call that there were engine problems just two days prior to our planned trip. We reviewed options and spoke to locals (and checked Trip Advisor) and Bad Kitty won out.

The trade-off was being with more people, but the overall experience left us with new loyalty. We were amazed at the speed and smoothness of the ride aboard Bad Kitty. Even on a day that started out rainy, we enjoyed sun and good weather. We were pretty much able to out run any bad rain or even steer around it.

We were able to visit Virgin Gorda to see the Baths (took a taxi in lieu of swimming to shore and had a nice hike down...wouldn't recommend for seniors or anyone with limited mobility, but fine for anyone active). We then sped to Cooper Island and enjoyed a great lunch (suggestion - order the Roti). We learned the drinking age is 16 in the BVI. We would have enjoyed lingering at the Baths for a bit longer, particularly to swim and jump off the big rock, but we needed to stay with the group.

We sped off the dock at Cooper Island for Norman Island. The snorkel was a little choppy due to the wind and weather, but we enjoyed the fish just off Norman Island and the Caves. The ladder off the boat was a nice feature. We saw a school of blue tang and an interesting drum fish we hadn't seen anywhere. The school of fish inside the caves were very interesting looking. My husband and I are avid snorkelers, so we would have liked a longer snorkel, but it was just right for our teens and others.

We ended the day at White Bay on Jost Van Dyke at the Soggy Dollar bar. It was fun for our teen sons to see it. We found two hammocks and spent a happy hour. We arrived back at the dock about 5pm.

A few suggestions, if on St. John, arrive early and get one of the parking spots right across from Mongoose Junction. The deli opens (approximately) at 7am. Bring a raincoat as it does rain and you are going so fast that you may get a chill. If you aren't grossed out by using shared snorkels, you might consider bringing your mask and snorkel.

We sped past many other boats and charters moving at a much slower speed. The tradeoffs (more people and less time in locations) was worth it for the fun day we had.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonEveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing outing for our Wedding Party!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Amazing time on the Bad Kitty! The crew was knowledgeable of the Baths, extremely accommodating and most of all a blast! They truly out did themselves to make this a terrific outing for our wedding party! Thank you Bad Kitty team!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice, but overpriced”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We took the Bad Kitty on a trip to the British Virgin Islands. The trip itself was nice, but not in particular impressive. We spent a total of 450 Dollars for two for the trip including customs, lunch and tip which they remind you of several times.. Outside seating at the boat is limited. All stops seem to be on a schedule and your pushed from one stop to the next.. Other than that, snorkeling was nice, the Baths felt like a tourist highway and the beach was nice too. Nothing exciting though. Three stars only because of the high cost.

Helpful?
1 Thank AennKaezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Charters Bad Kitty also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Charters Bad Kitty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing