We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated”
Review of Margarita Phil's

Margarita Phil's
Ranked #36 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
West Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Food was good but, very minimal. Chips and dip $9.00, Margaritas $20.00 a piece. We will not be returning to this store.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    105
    63
    36
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good nachos, okay drinks”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for drinks and a snack. The nachos were pretty good and our two margaritas, raspberry and lime in a coconut, were also pretty good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food is just alright Drinks are a RIP OFF”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a place to go if you have tried every other place on the island. My wife and I both had the fajitas she had steak and I had chicken . The food was just ok the onions and the 2 stripes of peppers I received were not cooked . I had ordered a beer and did not ask how much it was because it was 5:30 and every restaurant we had gone to has happy hour specials no not Phils I guess it is happy hour for him because he charged me $7.00 for that beer. We were at the food stand at trunk bay that day and got charged $3.00 for a Bud. The table next to us ordered 2 margaritas and he asked them regular or grande of course they did not ask the price also and got charged $18.00 EACH plus tip that is $42.00 for 2 drinks they were not happy also.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank try2seeitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
291 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Pass By Margarita Phil's”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This was our worst eating experience on the island. We were thinking of leaving as soon as we got there, and by the middle of the meal, we wish we had.
I had a Grande Margarita - what makes these drinks so large is the addition of additional ice, not additional tequila. We also ordered a special drink that actually had two shots of tequila, and that drink cost us $25.
There there are the bugs. We were getting eaten alive with rather large gnat-like bugs. Plus there was the chicken that was walking around at our feet.
To top is off, the food was rather tasteless and bland. Only some hot sauce gave it any flavor.

Do yourself a favor and move on a little further down the street where some better restaurants can be found.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingB0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Mexican food and not highly advertised”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place is not heavily advertised, but we feel like they have good Mexican food. They do obviously have margaritas. If you are staying on St. John, Margarita Phils is an option you should consider. The food is not terribly expensive, and this is not a large restaurant. You might want to get there early.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjsullivans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarita Phil's also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Margarita Phil's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing