We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food and drinks....easy stop on way back to ferry” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margarita Phil's

Margarita Phil's
Ranked #37 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ocean City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average food and drinks....easy stop on way back to ferry”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I stopped at Margarita Phil's on our way back to St. Thomas from a day on St. John. The restaurant is right on the main road heading back to the ferry port. Parking was slightly difficult to find but once we parked we were able to enjoy some of the bars and shops located on the same street.

The waitress was very friendly when we came up and we were seated immediately outside. There are about 4-5 tables outside and it looked like a few with a bar inside. Their specialty is the "grande" margarita which has a nice fresh flavor. The waitress said it was three drinks for the price of two. She told the table next to us they were 15 dollars, but I was charged 18, not sure what happened there. As for food, my wife got basic nachos which she really enjoyed. I tried them and they were good. I decided on the carnitas burrito special. The burrito came stuffed, which was nice, and the pork was really flavorful and tender. The only problem with the burrito was that it was sitting in its own juices so it became soggy and it also had large chunks of onions and peppers in it. I would have preferred them to be cut smaller so they didn't overpower the pork, but the burrito was still very good.

Overall, an average tex-mex/mex place. I would return on my next trip to St. John. The staff was extremely friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    104
    62
    35
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Huge margarita”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The margarita is huge, the food is just OK. This is a very small place with only one server that I saw. She was overwhelmed serving 4 tables.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Longtalltexasgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not real Mexician”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice place but not the best Mexician food. I didn't have any drinks so I cannot speak to the drinking aspect. The food was "ok" but it was over priced for Mexician food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldocs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tequila”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Go for the drinks! Marguaritas...are big and tasty. Food was average, but drinks made the stop worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern MA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty Fajitas, giant margaritas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is another of our favorite restaurants on St. John. You can share giant margaritas in a variety of flavors (though they are a little pricey). It is also a little more expensive than some of the other o,aces we have eaten, but not exorbitant. My daughter and I shared the chicken and shrimp fajitas which were well seasoned and tasty. We shared some conch fritters which I loved, but the others thought were just okay. My husband had the taco bowl with flank steak. The steak was good. He enjoyed it immensely, but I liked the fajitas better. I know we will return here when we visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margarita Phil's also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Margarita Phil's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing