We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”
Review of da Livio

da Livio
Ranked #32 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Da Livio is nestled in the heart of Cruz Bay. Offering an exclusive and authentic taste of Italy, we bring you a unique dining experience to the island that's not offered by any other restaurant around. Aside from bringing you a crafted menu, we are also a private distributor of wine and specialty imported goods. Each of our dishes are packed with outstandingly fresh ingredients that are all imported to ensure that we serve our original recipes the way they are indented. Choose from our handmade pastas and sauces to our brick oven pizza- everything is made from scratch, each time. From the Caputo flour, imported from Napoli and used in our dough- to the Faema E61 that is the only one on in the entire islands, come taste the difference and quality with us at Da Livio!
Sewickley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a 5 star pizza place with 4 star other courses and apps. They also under-serve on beverage size and add cost for things that should be free (grated cheese). Having said that, this may be The Best Pizza I have ever had. It is better then Pizzeria Regina. It is a World Class Pizza. A small pie with a thin crust. A great crust, good simple sauce, a quality cheese. I can understand a bad review for service, but anybody who describes this pizza as anything but excellent is misguided.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    83
    40
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Italy revisited”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Da Livio is the best restaurant on St. John! The housemade pasta is fabulous and reminds me of the delicious fare we enjoyed in Italy. The entrees are memorable, especially the branzino (sea bass) with arthichokes. If you are in a more casual mood, the brick oven pizza is definitely the best on the island. The relaxed service is perfect for this enchanted island. You will not go wrong here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian in the Carribean”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

What a nice surprise this little gem is. The chef/owner is from Italy and knows how to cook some great pasta.
The pizza cooked on the outdoor oven is some of the best we've ever had. We stay a month on St John and always eat here 3-4 times a year.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington,DC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Really small portions”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I want to echo what other reviewers have said--the portions are small and expensive. This week I ordered an eggplant parmigiana appetizer and I could have easily downed it in 2 bites. Also had the pizza which was ok if a bit soggy in the center. Main courses are expensive, $40 for osso bucco, a not-very-expensive cut of veal. Many of the higher end restaurants in St. John are expensive, above NYC prices, but this place is expensive and stingy with portion size. Zozo's is still my favorite and Mario Batali was seen dining at La Tapa last week. Try these places before heading to Da Livio's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

I thought this was one of the best pizzas I've ever had, not just on St. John, but anywhere. So obviously it's the best pizza on the island. The service was great, very friendly, and cozy atmosphere. I would go there again in a heartbeat!

Helpful?
Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da Livio also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to da Livio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing