We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Italia in the middle of St. John”
Review of da Livio

da Livio
Ranked #32 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Da Livio is nestled in the heart of Cruz Bay. Offering an exclusive and authentic taste of Italy, we bring you a unique dining experience to the island that's not offered by any other restaurant around. Aside from bringing you a crafted menu, we are also a private distributor of wine and specialty imported goods. Each of our dishes are packed with outstandingly fresh ingredients that are all imported to ensure that we serve our original recipes the way they are indented. Choose from our handmade pastas and sauces to our brick oven pizza- everything is made from scratch, each time. From the Caputo flour, imported from Napoli and used in our dough- to the Faema E61 that is the only one on in the entire islands, come taste the difference and quality with us at Da Livio!
Lower Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bella Italia in the middle of St. John”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I've heard so many times "yes, we do the Italien style...blablabla" but never
in the US tasted it really like that.
Now we found it, on a small island!
Go to Da Livio and forget the rest of allt the pizza crab!
It is thin, it is crispy, they are very friendly - enjoy a part of Italia!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    83
    40
    27
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Find”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We discovered this restaurant when we learned that a reservation that we had made at Asolare was "lost." What a great find. While some may feel Da Livio is a bit pricey compared to what they can get stateside, I think it's important to remember that food on the island is generally more expensive than it is at home -- wherever that may be. (For example, a box of strawberries goes for $7.99 at Starfish.) What I hate is paying a lot for a poorly cooked meal, and that was not the case at Da Livio. The pasta is homemade and cooked al dente--no slippery mush here. My lobster ravioli was delicious. The cream sauce enhanced rather than smothered the taste of the lobster. There were 4 of us in our party, and we all agreed that the food was cooked well. Our waitress was sweet and attentive--and yes, I jumped when I used the electric pepper mill--but that added a bit of humor to our meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveldaze4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“fresh pizza”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great fresh pizza baked in a brick oven. Beware that if they are busy it could take you a LONG time to eat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elliseyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife and I visited St John, USVI for our week-long vacation from end of May to beginning of June, 2012. While there we ate at local restaurants, mainly in Cruz Bay every night. Although quite expensive (we live in Manhattan, NY), we enjoyed food at most restaurants. But, the best restaurant by far was Da Livio, serving authentic Italian food. We are Italian food lovers and have visited Italy to enjoy the "real thing". We found the "real thing" again in Cruz Bay, St. John. We had the best home-made pastas and the best truly thin-crust Italian pizzas, just like the pizzas you get in Rome, Napoli, etc. in Italy. The food at Da Livio made us HAPPY. We went there two nights in a row. If you love authentic Italian food, we would highly recommend Da Livio. Great desserts, too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Max-Cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food but so-so service”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We just stumbled upon this restaurant by chance. The handmade pastas were wonderful (oso bucco and wild boar parpadelle) and the wine very good. We had to ask for bread though after we had received our appetizer. We also had to ask for balsamic for the caprese as well as salt and pepper which the server used an automatic grind for. Largest recommendation I can offer is to not let the server grind the salt on any of your food. It ruined completely ruined our caprese. Outside of that, the pasta itself, the atmosphere and wine still made it a worthwhile experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da Livio also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to da Livio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing