We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people wonderful day”

Cloud 9 Sailing Adventures
Ranked #15 of 42 Tours in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: CLOUD 9 is a beautiful and spacious Beneteau Sailing Sloop. Sail through beautiful turquoise waters, pass many lush tropical outlying cays, majestic rocks and tranquil beaches. Have a drink, enjoy fabulous snorkeling, take a turn at the helm. Cloud 9 offers a variety of trips. Choose a half day or full day sailing trip, enjoy a snorkel stop, relax on a romantic sunset sail, visit the world famous beaches and bars on Jost Van Dyke or customize your own private charter. Plus, Cloud 9 is the only day sail charter boat in St. John that now offers Scuba Diving! All of our trips depart from Cruz Bay, St. John, USVI. Cloud 9 features comfortable seating in our shaded cockpit, a spacious deck for those who like to sit in the sun and have some fun. We have a swim platform for easy access to the water. Cloud 9 has snorkel gear on board for our guest to use, a fresh water rinse and a full bathroom below deck.Choose a trip on Cloud 9 for one of the highlights of your vacation. Visit our website to make an advance booking.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful people wonderful day”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sailing, snorkeling and spectacular views are all part of a cloud 9 trip. The staff are very accommodating and make the experience one we will always remember.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    11
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience with Cloud 9”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We joined a mixed crew, Captain Jason and Ally, for a half day sail on our last day in St. John and had an awesome time. By a stroke of luck, we were the only two people on the trip and we greatly appreciated Cloud 9 taking us out.

We sailed over to St. James Island, a spot we hadn't seen, and enjoyed snorkeling at a great spot, almost entirely by ourselves. Ally joined us in the water and pointed out an octupus that we would have otherwise not seen.

On the way back, Captain Jason let me take the helm for as long as I wanted. Captain Jason is very laidback but also knowledgeable about the marine life, island history, sailing, etc. It made for very interesting conversation. Ally also knew her stuff, was very friendly, and kept the rum punches coming.

We made decent time on the sail back, so Captain Jason sailed us around Cruz Bay in order to make sure the trip didn't end early.

It was a fantastic experience and we would definitely recommend Cloud 9.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sgrabows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
335 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Super Half Day Under Sail”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Jason and Linsey own this well equipped 47 foot sloop. The wind came up and the captain allowed me to take the helm (until he wanted to bring us VERY close to an interesting rock formation) for a fair part of the trip. The stop for snorkeling was productive as these folks really know the waters around St John (and Linsey makes a mean rum drink as well). If you enjoy sailing, make some time on Cloud 9 a must when you are on St. John.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montauk, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A lovely day on the water”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I spent a wonderful week on St John, and my day on Cloud 9 was definitely one of the highlights. The boat was large and comfortable for the passengers and crew, who took great care of everyone on board. Darius and Ali led an exhilarating sail, hitting several of the smaller islands around St John for snorkeling stops. I felt safe and comfortable in the hands of this fun and professional duo. If you like sailing, snorkeling, or both, add Cloud 9 to your must do list!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cloud 9 rocks!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My friend and I took a full day sailing snorkel trip on Cloud 9. Darrius and Ally were our captain and crew. They took excellent care of us making sure we didn't miss anything interesting while we were snokleng. They also fed as a nice lunch, took pictures of us and served us Pain killers ( fabulous rum beverages). This day was the highlite of my vacation and I will book Cloud 9 again next time I visit St. John.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HopeGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloud 9 Sailing Adventures also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cloud 9 Sailing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing