We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Dog Cafe

Sun Dog Cafe
Ranked #12 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Grill, American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sun Dog Cafe is a great casual dining option, and home to the Gecko Gazebo, our open air bar overlooking the gracious center courtyard of Mongoose Junction. A New York Times Travel and Leisure Pick for St. John, we serve lunch daily, dinner on weekdays, and brunch on Sunday. Don't Miss the Sunday Night Jam, from 6 to pm, a great musical event with local and visiting talent. Welcome!
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Sitting outside in the shade and getting a nice breeze was an excellent way to spend lunch time. We had the Shrimp Vera Cruz (excellent) and the Blind Betty's Chicken Roti (very tasty). Capped it off with a great piece of Key Lime Pie. I would definitely eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Djriva5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    257
    37
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. John, US Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Eggs Benedict”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

From time to time I have enjoyed their Sunday Brunch, which starts at 10 am and ends a 2 pm. They do a lovely experience of Eggs Benedict. Service is polite and prompt. Thinking of going their tomorrow again. My grandson Dominic from Atlanta, Georgia had a Mexican dish, which he enjoyed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hillcreststjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quirky Cafe with Great Food and Stellar Service in Paradise”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is one of my favorite restaurants hands down. Between the kitchen that is the size of a small storage closet to the creative and fun specials, the food is always a treat. The puff pastry is always a family favorite and we love coming here and ordering a bunch of stuff and sharing it so we do not have to pick just one thing from the menu. The service staff is always friendly and willing to work with food allergies. Even though they get busy quick, they are attentive, efficient and do their job with a smile on their face! The drinks from the bar are delicious and sometimes even come with a sparkler or a fun plastic gecko. The staff at this restaurant realize that when people are on vacation, they usually are there to have fun and enjoy a great meal. They go to every effort to ensure that the guest leaves with a full belly and a happy experience! Can't wait to get back down to see what the specials brings board brings us for lunch and a visit to an island favorite!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and great service!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

My family and I visited St. John for the first time this year. We had heard from locals that this place was awesome so we decided to check it out. Not only was the food to die for (I had "the burrito that ate Cruz Bay") but the service we had was also excellent! Jamie was beyond helpful with giving us ideas on what we needed to do during our visit! She even joined us for dinner one night and has since kept in touch, asking us when we be coming back! All in all I would recommend this place to anyone without a doubt! We will definitely be going back when we return to the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC FOOD, AWESOME PEOPLE, GREAT ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We've been visiting St John for over 20 years. I can't remember when Sun Dog opened for business but it is one of our favorite bar and food destinations on the island. It's always a difficult choice between one of the Ahi Tuna dishes, the killer Burrito, and the frequently offered daily puff pastry special. Oh, but the texas chicken pizza dish is pretty darn good too. Waitstaff is friendly, helpful and attentive. Don't forget dessert. You can't go wrong with the Key Lime Pie but it's a tuff choice between that and the chocolate tort. When Tyler is working we always eat at the bar so we can enjoy his company!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolf J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sun Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing