We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously Best Dessert Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Banana Deck

The Banana Deck
Reserve with OpenTable
The Banana Deck is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Aloha and welcome to The Banana Deck, home of the Big Deck Burger! Located in downtown Cruz Bay on St. John, we offer a full menu of casual Caribbean cuisine and American classics! We're all about providing good food and good service in a great atmosphere to bring our customers the best experience!
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Seriously Best Dessert Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We spent the entire week trying to find another dessert to match the Xango - nothing beats it!!!! Loved the staff (ask for Christine - ziggy's mom); steaks are good; cut fresh daily; mahi mahi was good - nice outdoor space with a great view of Cruz Bay

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shari1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    232
    64
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle Grove, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Oh! My belly was so full!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Ate here our first night on St. John. The prices are high but for what you get totally worth it. The food and service was wonderful. I don't eat a lot of seafood so this place was a good pick!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tmlaursen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chagrin falls
Level Contributor
254 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Go at sunset!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Overlooking Cruz Bay, this spot is a great place to enjoy the sunset with some cocktails and dinner. Varied menu with focus on seafood. Had the fresh fish of the day which was excellent. Kids menu available. Make reservations! Told we wouldn't need - but when we arrived there was an hour wait.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank islandjule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten at the Bannana Deck before so we knew what to expect here. Great food at normal St. John's prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trout W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife and I stopped in Banana Deck for lunch on a Sunday and it was great. I had a buffalo chicken sandwich and my wife had a Mahi wrap. Both our meals were very good and the view of Cruz Bay makes it a great casual spot.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banana Deck also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Banana Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing