We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Banana Xaong Dessert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Banana Deck

The Banana Deck
3FB | Cruz Bay, Cruz Bay 00831, St. John
+1 340-693-5055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 56 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Caribbean, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Aloha and welcome to The Banana Deck, home of the Big Deck Burger! Located in downtown Cruz Bay on St. John, we offer a full menu of casual Caribbean cuisine and American classics! We're all about providing good food and good service in a great atmosphere to bring our customers the best experience!
Minnesota
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try the Banana Xaong Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Had the caribbean chicken and my husband had the shrimp and scallop fettucini - both were delicious and huge portions so we had leftovers for dinner the next night :) We also ordered the Banana Xaong (not sure that is spelled right) for dessert, which our waitress said we HAD to try - yum, were we glad we did! We meant to get back here again during our stay, but didn't make it. It will probably be our first stop next time! Staff was very friendly and the service was quick.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    206
    55
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Views and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to The Banana Deck on a friends recommendation. What a fun place! Great views and delicious food. The bartender is super friendly and made us feel welcome immediately. We went for lunch one day (delicious burgers) and mashed potato soup that you have to try...delicious! The owner was our waiter and was super friendly. We would highly recommend and we'll be back when we visit St. John again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Fresh Food - Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is one of my favorite spots for fresh grilled mahi-mahi/fish or a great salad. Good service, great for famlies as well.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandMike7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Had the Ribeye with Gorgonzola butter! So good! Great steak! And Doug made us a Mahi Mahi wrap with jalapenos and mushrooms, also excellent!

Helpful?
Thank kbob23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stopped in for lunch and had the deck burger and Reuben sandwich. They were both excellent and customer service was great. We seen someone order a delicious looking dessert but were too full to order so we stopped back later that night and had the Banana Xango. It was delicious as well. We also meet the owner which was very friendly and hospitable. Great place to stop and eat or drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Banana Deck also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to The Banana Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing