We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe. Good service. Go Tuesday for Lobster Night.”
Review of Morgan's Mango

Morgan's Mango
Ranked #10 of 58 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Morgan’s Mango, we try to reflect the life of the islands, a place of dazzling light and color, tropical breezes and starry nights, a relaxed and sensory experience.Joining us, to share in the culinary history of an island world crowded with so many wonderful cultures that it takes your breath way. Our food covers many Caribbean and South American cuisines—Creole, Bahamian, Cuban, Jamaican, Haitian, Puerto Rican, Argentinian and Mayan. All of these cuisines have been influenced by the original inhabitants of the islands, the Arawak and Carib Indians, as well as the Africans, East Indians and Chinese who arrived later. Add to these the foods of the Spanish, French, British and Danish settlers, and you have an incredible melting pot of ethnic and classic cuisines.Hence Cuisines of the Caribbean, a neo-Caribbean experience conveying the juice and jazz of the islands, a carnival of flavors and lifestyles.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Nice restaurant. Pleasant atmosphere. The seafood and steaks were excellent. Flavorful side dishes like rice, beans and plantains were a nice surprise. Key lime pie was superb. Suggest making a reservation or be prepared to wait.

Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for making us a part of your trip to St. John! You can't beat a fresh slice of Key Lime pie, right? We hope the rest of your vacation was just as fun and relaxing! The next time you come down from the Windy City, don't hesitate to swing by.

Best,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,699)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 835 of 1,699 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

We were disappointed in the food. The food was pricey but was very lack luster. The Mahi didn't taste very fresh, the fish pot was over cooked, the coconut shrimp was okay. The best entree was the quesadilla.

1  Thank Scrapnsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

We're disappointed to hear you didn't enjoy your dishes, Suzy. There's nothing more important to us than making sure each meal comes out cooked and flavored to perfection. We'd like to assure you that all of our fish is brought in fresh from the Caribbean, but we apologize that this was called into question.

We'd love another chance to truly impress. It sounds like you didn't see us at our best, but you can count on a much better visit next time.

Take care,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Brian at Morgan's Mango deserves a raise. I sure hope he gets paid well and gets to enjoy the beaches on his off time. We noticed him helping all the other wait staff out, seemingly without any thanks and despite the humidity and sweat, he was always on his toes and friendly with the guests. As for the food, where's the mango? Considering their name, you'd think there'd be a lot of mango options in the menu. The salads are tiny but very nice. The mahi mahi was like a tough, bland brick. I would not order it again but if you’re hungry, it’s a big serving. The Cajun shrimp appetizer, however, was scrumptious. The fried coconut shrimp entre were mostly batter but tasty of course since it’s comfort food. The sourcream dill(?) sauce they serve is bland and it’s served with both cajun shrimp and the crabcakes appetizers – not much ingenuity or thought for differing flavors. The crabcakes were salty. The voodoo snapper was surprisingly bland. It’s served with a bland combination of beans and chickpeas, yellow colored rice and the tiniest piece of corn on the cob. You’ll get two tiny plantains with the vegetarian platter and not much else. Considering the selection on St John, it’s fine though. The key lime pie is good, sort of like a room-temperature milkshake. I notice when folks give a place a bad review, they don’t recommend other places and that’s probably because there aren’t a lot of choices on St John so don't take those negative reviews to seriously. It's dfinitely worth coming to Morgans Mango and checking it out for yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peacedreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience! It sounds like Brian was taking excellent care of you and our other guests, which is wonderful. We're lucky to have such a great team member! We'll be sure to let him know you gave him a shout out.

As for your dishes, we're sorry to hear that not all of them were stellar. As always, don't hesitate to let us know if something isn't up to par. We do have quite a variety on our menu, so next time we hope to serve you up some that truly impresses! We'll see you then.

Take care,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

The environment is very nice and the service is excellent, however, when it comes to the dishes we were not too impressed both by the main courses and the side dishes. We were 6 people and three of us had lobster which was very sticky which means frozen but for the prize we paid for it we would have expected something better. Over all a place I will not visit again.

Thank Guido U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

We can assure you that our lobster is never frozen, Guido. We only serve up fresh, local Caribbean lobster that is caught right around the island. That said, we're very sorry to hear that the texture wasn't perfect. We wish we would have had the chance to chat during your visit, because that certainly isn't okay in our book.

We're all about delicious seafood dishes, and it's disappointing that you didn't see us at our best. Next time you visit the island, we hope to welcome you back in for a much better meal.

Take care,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice location and great open air patio. Very friendly and professional service along with an interesting menu. The appetizers were very good especially the tuna tartare. The dishes presentation was also beautiful. When it came to main course the burger won. The lobster was average and served with too complicated side dishes which didn't make much sense. Also the ginger pork tenderloin was ok but the broccoli and mash potatoes side dishes were too average.
Overall average.
CIAO

1  Thank Alessio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks for making us a part of your vacation, Alessio! We're sorry to hear that the lobster and tenderloin didn't hit the spot, though. Don't ever hesitate to let us know if a dish isn't to your liking -- we're more than happy to find you something else!

That said, it's great to hear that the service and patio made for a nice night. The next time you visit St. John, we'd love to welcome you back in!

Take care,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Mango also viewed

 

Been to Morgan's Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing