We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster Night!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Morgan's Mango

Morgan's Mango
Ranked #16 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: At Morgan’s Mango, we try to reflect the life of the islands, a place of dazzling light and color, tropical breezes and starry nights, a relaxed and sensory experience.Joining us, to share in the culinary history of an island world crowded with so many wonderful cultures that it takes your breath way. Our food covers many Caribbean and South American cuisines—Creole, Bahamian, Cuban, Jamaican, Haitian, Puerto Rican, Argentinian and Mayan. All of these cuisines have been influenced by the original inhabitants of the islands, the Arawak and Carib Indians, as well as the Africans, East Indians and Chinese who arrived later. Add to these the foods of the Spanish, French, British and Danish settlers, and you have an incredible melting pot of ethnic and classic cuisines.Hence Cuisines of the Caribbean, a neo-Caribbean experience conveying the juice and jazz of the islands, a carnival of flavors and lifestyles.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lobster Night!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The service was not great, there was a mix up with the reservation and we felt that their response was truly inadequate. But when we finally got that incident behind us we enjoyed the Caribbean Lobster stuffed with crabmeat. It was delicious!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JDPMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
While it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our fresh Caribbean Lobster, we'd like to apologize for any mix-up with your reservation. Your concerns should always be met with quick, helpful service, and we're sorry if we fell short in that way. Please don't hesitate to let us know more about your particular experience at morgansmango@islands.vi so that we can address any issues with our team. Thank you for your time and feedback—we hope that you'll join us again in the future for the service we're proud of!

Warm regards,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    414
    151
    50
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lobster Night on Tuesday!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Definitely need a reservation-busy place. We all ordered the Lobster special, 1lb of fresh lobster $35. It was delicious-best lobster I've eaten and it came with a complimentary glass of 14 Hands white wine.

Helpful?
Thank Marla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Marla, thanks for joining us for Lobster Night! We're flattered to hear that it was the best lobster you've eaten. That's a big compliment, and we don't take it lightly. Thanks for taking the time to recommend us — we hope you'll visit again soon!

Cheers,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Good Night Out”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Pros. Seated very quickly, even though we were early for our reservation, Drinks were generous and flavorful. Are group ate Pork Tenderloin, Citrus Chicken, Fish Pot & Jumbo Shrimp. All were happy with their meals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank russell-peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for getting in touch. We're glad that we could help make your night out a great one! It sounds like you had quite the sampling of our menu, so it's good to know that everyone was impressed. If there's anything we could be doing to make your experience even better, just let us know! We hope you can visit again next time you're in Cruz Bay.

Sincerely,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Try the Sea Bass!!!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A wonderful atmosphere! All the food is wonderful, but none can top the sea bass with mango rum sauce. They have great smoothies, and a wonderful location in Cruz Bay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Alec, we're thrilled to hear that our Sea Bass really wowed you! The Mango Rum sauce really gives you a taste of the island. We hope that you'll have the chance to return to St. John soon — we'd love to have you back!

Warm wishes,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BEST LOBSTER EVER!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If I could go to any restaurant on a Tuesday for the rest of my life, it would be Morgans! Every Tuesday they have fresh Caribbean lobster, and it was just amazing! Great drinks, live music and just a wonderful atmosphere!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fritze1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We wish that you could visit us every Tuesday, too! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Lobster Night so much. It's definitely one of our favorite nights of the week! We'd love to welcome you back if you have a chance to visit Cruz Bay again .

All our best,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Mango also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Morgan's Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing