We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok Lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Morgan's Mango

Morgan's Mango
Ranked #16 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: At Morgan’s Mango, we try to reflect the life of the islands, a place of dazzling light and color, tropical breezes and starry nights, a relaxed and sensory experience.Joining us, to share in the culinary history of an island world crowded with so many wonderful cultures that it takes your breath way. Our food covers many Caribbean and South American cuisines—Creole, Bahamian, Cuban, Jamaican, Haitian, Puerto Rican, Argentinian and Mayan. All of these cuisines have been influenced by the original inhabitants of the islands, the Arawak and Carib Indians, as well as the Africans, East Indians and Chinese who arrived later. Add to these the foods of the Spanish, French, British and Danish settlers, and you have an incredible melting pot of ethnic and classic cuisines.Hence Cuisines of the Caribbean, a neo-Caribbean experience conveying the juice and jazz of the islands, a carnival of flavors and lifestyles.
Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ok Lobster”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went on Tuesday, lobster nite. I wish one of us had tried another item. The lobster was ok, a bit tough. The restaurant itself and service was very good. We will try it again!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are passionate about serving fresh, delicious seafood, so it's disappointing to hear that you found the lobster to be just okay. It sounds like you may have caught us on an off-night. We don't often hear complaints of the lobster being tough, so we will make sure to look into this! We are glad that you want to give us another shot. Thank you for letting us know about this!

All the best,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    414
    151
    50
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The atmosphere was lovely, our waiter friendly and amazingly fast, the music delightful, the food delicious! All in all, year after year, this restaurant delivers an exceptional dining experience. We go there at least once every year. This time, I had the vegetarian plate and it was totally sumptous! Sweet potatoes, corn on the cob, plantains, and more. Healthy AND delicious!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Holly,

We appreciate you getting in touch! We want every aspect of your experience to be outstanding, so we're so happy to hear that we continue to impress you with each visit. Great call on the vegetarian plate this time! If you ever need a suggestion of what to order next, just let us know. See you next year!

Cheers,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Highly recommended by a friend whose family has been traveling to St. John/ Westin for 30 years and he was dead on! Great drinks and wow what a knock out special...perfectly cooked snapper encrusted in blue corn with pick de gallo (meticulously prepared), with plantanos I had to unfortunately share! My mouth still waters when thinking about it! Super chill staff in a great atmosphere. We were sorry the kids were not in line to cooperate for dessert! Our best dinner of the week!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJRDO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for stopping by during your trip! We're thrilled to hear that everything from our drinks to our staff and atmosphere lived up to your friend's recommendation. Fresh seafood is our pride and joy, so it's wonderful to know that the snapper hit the spot! We hope that you'll have a chance to visit again next time you visit St. John. We'd love to recommend some great desserts!

All the best,
Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant. The variety of the menu is great and they also have some great specials that are not listed on there. I wanted to try everything because it all sounded really good. I enjoyed our food very much and the waiter was friendly. At our table we had the lobster taco, the paella, the guadeloupe dish and steak. Everything was good. We could not finish our plated because the portions were big. I definitely recommend this place and i believe it to be one of the better restaurants in the area

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cindylouwhoc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We're so happy to hear that you had a nice time visiting us in Cruz Bay. It sounds like you had a tough time deciding what to order, but we think you made some great selections in the end! Good food and friendly service are what we aim for, so it's great to know that your waiter didn't disappoint. We appreciate your recommendation and would love to host you again on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So good we went twice”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fun place I Cruz bay. We traveled by taxi from caneel bay. Matt was our server both nights. Ask for him if you enjoy great services well as tips for your stay on St John. Lobster was delicious. Dessert freshly made on premises and delicious. Wahoo and Cuban chicken also very good as well as the Caribbean side dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cdib, Owner at Morgan's Mango, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We're glad to hear that we made such a good impression that you came back to see us for a second visit! Matt is a wonderful part of our team, and we'll be sure to pass your compliments along to him. We know he'll be so happy to hear from you. If you're ever in Cruz Bay in the future, don't hesitate to join us again. We'd love to welcome you back for another lobster dinner!

Sincerely,

Carlos and Maria Ines, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Mango also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Morgan's Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing