We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was Great. Service not so much”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Asolare

Asolare
Reserve with OpenTable
Asolare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #19 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food was Great. Service not so much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our first trip to Asolare in many years as it hasnt been good the last few visits. There is a new chef and I will say the food was very good. The smoked pork loin they served was quite tasty and the Tuna was out of this world. The service on the other hand was horrible. While the server was less than interested in taking care of us it got worse when we used sand dollars to pay. He indicated that because we used sand dollars he was going to automatically add 20% gratuity to the bill. It was his loss since I ususally tip more than that. This however should have been explained prior to the bill. It should be on the menu, mentioned when you book the reservation (which was booked through the Westin), not when you go to pay. Not only that there was a line called "rounding" that took our bill up to the next whole dollar. While 4o cents is not going to cause me to go broke it is the principal that he did nothing nor did the restaurant to earn that money. As someone who is in St. John 2-3 times a year I will not go back to this restaurant simply due to the shady happenings from our server. Again, food was great, view is always amazing but the server this trip left way to much to be desired.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    138
    84
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“GO HERE, don't ever miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have eaten here each year for 25 years, and NEVER miss this restaurant when anywhere St. John. The food is incredible, service fabulous and friendly, and the view of the sunset not to be missed. Reservations required. It is a very short and inexpensive taxi ride from the ferry dock at St. John. Tables along the rail give the best view, as long as you are not afraid of heights. The menu is always different, and always fabulous. Of course you should always leave room for desert. Great Place. Go as often as you can.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SailorGuyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sooooo Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was a delight. We had a beautiful view at sunset, the waitress Lindsey made our dinner even more special when bringing out two glasses of champagne when she found out we were on our honeymoon. They had just added a new menu item of Shrimp and goat cheese grits. It was by far the tastiest dish I have ever eaten. The chef, Matt Kidd, is new at the restaurant and brought his famous grits from North Carolina. There was andouille sausage as well as collard greens. The shrimp was encrusted with sesame seeds and some other tasty coating. The manager Crispin spent some time with us as well. Can we get an order "to go" to bring back home?

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Champions of Boston: Red Sox and Lindsay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visited during the World Series. Had a fabulous meal, the best views of the sunset, the food was even better than the view- hard to believe, but true! Lindsay was a fabulous, attentive waitress, never had a water glass less than half full our whole meal. The meal was delicious, and presented in a beautiful way!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Had not been to Asolare in awhile and decided it was about time, and the new menu looked very interesting. Everything looked so good and finally decided on the Oven Roasted Corvina and it was wonderful....one of the best fish entrees I have ever had. The service and the staff were wonderful (as always). Will certainly be back!!

Don't miss this wonderful restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monica417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asolare also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Asolare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing