We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 10 Years of dining, we will never return”
Review of Asolare

Asolare
Ranked #24 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Caribbean, Bar, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been visiting St. John for 10+ years. Asolare has always been on our restaurant list to visit while in town. We had service so poor this year that we will never return. Our waitress was horribly rude to our group of seven because we brought our children with us. We have two 8 year olds and 1 five year old that are very well behaved. We ate dinner out 7 other nights with no problems and compliments on our well-behaved children. At Asolare, the minute we walked thru the door, and they saw we had children they were rude. We thought about leaving immediately but stayed much to our regret. Caution to all patrons if you get the waitress with long, dark curly hair that has a 6 year old turn around and leave because she is VERY RUDE TO YOUR CHILDREN. If you have kids, save yourself the headache and eat at Morgan's Mango and Ocean Bar and Grill. They have great food and welcome families!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank STJh0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Asolare, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are very sorry to hear you had a bad experience while dining with us. We have spoken to the server, and we can assure you that any behavior that was perceived as rude was completely unintentional. Families with children are welcome at Asolare. And you can always ask to speak to the manager on duty if you ever have any problems with your service. We would have done whatever it took to improve the situation so you could have had a good experience. Please accept our apology, and consider dining with us again.
Sincerely,
Kim S.
Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 563 of 822 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

I made a reservation for Asolare a week or two in advance over the phone, but when we showed up at the restaurant, we weren't on their list for the night. We were early enough that they still had open tables, so we ended up being just fine. The view at sunset is great, and the servers were really friendly and hospitable. The food left a little to be desired - it wasn't bad by any means, but for the price you pay, I would just expect it to be the best hands down. I think the food at places like Morgan's Mango and Rhumb Lines is definitely as good, if not better, than the food at Asolare, and their prices are a little lower. A cool place to eat if you can afford it, but don't sweat it if it's not in your budget - it's not worth stressing over.

1  Thank kusc0018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes it's just time to throw in the towel. Asolare's has been our special night place for 15+ years but the last experience was just too much.
The waiter was new and inexperienced. The food was not prepared well and my 3 scallops were $38. Come on, Winston.
We paid a very hefty bill and went for pizza where the owner listened to us and prepared an excellent pepperoni pie. Thanks, Ronnie.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Boots S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim S, Front Office Manager at Asolare, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

We are sorry to hear about your last experience at Asolare. We take all our feedback here seriously. We are currently working on updating our menu, and making improvements overall. We hope Asolare can once again be one of your favorite places to dine on St. John. Please consider stopping by on your next visit, we would like you to have a good experience as you have in the past.
Sincerely,
Kim S.
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent chicken and gnocci. The atmosphere was added plus. Romantic and fun. We enjoyed honey made from bartenders bee hives too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bnbyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

So this was the only night we went out for dinner on St John, so we picked wisely! The bartender made us drinks based on a few questions of what we liked, which were delicious. Then the dinner was also delicious - I think the crab cakes were easily above any other crab cake I've ever gotten close to. The view was lovely, the food was amazing, the staff was quick, helpful, and efficient. It's pricey, but that is what you would expect from such a place. If you want a romantic lovely delicious evening out, I'd recommend Asolare.

1  Thank RicoDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asolare also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Asolare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing