We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect View with Perfect Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asolare

Asolare
Reserve with OpenTable
Asolare is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 59 Restaurants in Cruz Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect View with Perfect Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food was amazing!! They were very accomodating for special dietary restrictions, including low sodium, without any prior notice. The service was impeccable and the view is a million dollar view. The atmosphere is perfect for a romantic dinner out or a nice meal with the family. They have the best seafood on the island and their cocktails were delicious. We will be dining there again soon and on every future visit to St. John. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KSTravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    138
    83
    50
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service with view to match!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a "can't be missed" St John experience as everything that one hopes will be delivered is done so beyond expectations. Frequently, the island restaurant experience is hit or miss with long waits, average food and marginal service. Not so with Asolare. There is exceptional teamwork amongst the employees, including the very hands on general manager, making the dining experience flawless. The food is imaginative and absolutely wonderful. Of course, Asolare is also known for their outstanding view with perfect sunsets, worthy of at least 50 pictures!

Thanks to everyone at Asolare for a memorable evening with family. We WILL be back which is the highest compliment a patron can pay an establishment.

Until we meet again.......Shanna's family!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BoydBlueSkyConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food was just so so with a big price tag. Service was good. Parking is a nightmare because there is not much there. View is good, if you want to pay $50 a person to see a view and to be eaten alive by mosquitoes. Lime Inn or Morgan's Mango are better choices for good food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Five star experience – rare for the tropics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

What an amazing restaurant. My wife and I had our wedding dinner here and visit every time we are on the island. The food is spectacular the cocktails just as good. Great wine list wonderful atmosphere and Million dollar view. And Greg the general manager could not be nicer or give better service

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food with an amazing view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Asolare was very good with an amazing view of Cruz Bay at sunset. The pan fried gnocchi served with the chicken was delightful. Our favorite dish was re Mahi served with Quinoa and pea purée. It was very good. We would definitely visit Asolare the next time we are in St John.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asolare also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Asolare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing