We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Very good Premier Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

Although it's just off a main road, this Premier Inn is very good. The staff are very friendly and helpful and go out of their way to give good service. Rooms are typical Premier Inn, but comfortable. The television service could do with updating and it's probably best to have a room at the back on the second floor if you want to avoid the noise of traffic. The pub next to the hotel is an old iron master's house and the food in the evening is cheap and cheerful, but good value. Cooked breakfast here is good and, again, the staff are friendly and give good service.

If you are a non-car driver, the hotel is across the road from the station. Oh and there's a Co-op round the corner as well!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review, November 24, 2009
Thanks for your review, we are so pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us. It is good to know that our hotel, helpful staff and breakfast facilities met with your expectations ensuring your stay was an enjoyable one.. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    108
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
105
108
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tracey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

I stayed with my family who used it as a base to tour the Brecon Beacons for a week of varied activities, It is situated in an ideal location not to far from civilisation and all the outdoor activities we were seeking were only a short drive away and on top of that it is only 30 mins from Cardiff, The food was outstanding and Staff were superb, They couldn't do enough and really went out of their way to make us feel welcome, They also catered for all our unusual requests as nothing was too much trouble, The Restaurant which was located on site was stylish and equally accomodating to our needs, all in all it was a truly a great weeks stay in a clean and freindly hotel with great standards, better then you get in most 5 star hotels but for half the price.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Thank you so much for you review. All our team members are committed to providing our guests with the highest level of customer care and your comments will be passed on to all our team. At Premier Inn it remains our objective to delivery a high level of service in all our establishments and your feedback is so important to us as this ensures we continue to meet the expectations of our guests. We are so pleased that the location of our hotel and facilities within our hotel were to your satisfaction. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2009

This was a standard nicely predictable Premier Inn, a little difficult to find without my helpful satnav (GPS). The neighbouring Table Table restaurant was a little haphazard in its service and some people were left waiting at the bar for too long.
The only oddity was that my bed had a sheet on it which was not long enough for the bed. Hence, they had put another sheet across the bottom. This caused a ridge underneath me which was irritating until I dropped off to sleep. No real problems here though.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ynys mon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

Nice hotel 1/2 mile off the A470 near Merthyr Tydfil. Friendly staff, good sized rooms and reasonable price. Food and service in the Table Table restaurant very good. Will be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ygath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

I stayed here for one night in June 2007!! It was spotless and welcoming!! The rooms were very clean and staff were friendly and helpful. The location is great for a bit of shopping as the town centre is only about a mile or two up the road, then about 2 miles up the hill on the A465 is a big Asda. Practically next door to the hotel is a Co op store and across the road is Halfords, PC World, Comet and a few other shops. Also if you take the road in another direction you will find a shopping complex which have Outlet shop, Next and Matalan ect. Also there, there is Pizza hut, KFC and McDonalds....So basically there is everything you could want near by...Also next door to the hotel is a nice pub where you can also get nice food and also has a play area for the kids...A great hotel.....Oh and the 2nd most comfortable beds i ve slept in !!!

  • Liked — The bed!!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buttygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2006

A typical Premier Travel Inn hotel - very clean and tidy, very good value for money. Bathrooms need a little updating. Friendly staff 24 hours a day, even in the small hours. Good location, and has a pub/restaurant next door.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentrebach
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdare Hotel
7.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Ebbw Vale Hotel
7.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil

Property: Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Address: Duffryn Road, Pentrebach CF48 4BJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Pentrebach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the beautiful landscape of the South Wales Valleys and the nearby Brecon Beacons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Pentrebach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing