We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect as always”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

As with all Premier Inns a great nights sleep. Shame the pub next door closed at 11pm on a Thursday night thought. Only a small hotel close to the main road but I couldn't hear any noise outside. I booked online a month early and got a really low price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Airey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    120
    36
    20
    11
See reviews for
121
117
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

For the princely sum of £29 I had an excellent room with the best bed you could wish for. A great bathroom and the staff, as ever, in this excellent hotel chain were so kind and helpful. Everything was super clean. The hotel was quiet and very well positioned for access to all roads.
The breakfast was also just right, as much as you could need, with loads of tea and toast to follow. Brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff are always friendly and great with the kids. The rooms are clean but the end corridor smells a bit musty and damp. The staff in the restaurant are always patient and helpful. A great place to stay if you get it at the right price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton East Sussex England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just returned home after spending the Christmas holiday in Wales,staying at the Premier Inn,Pentrebach.The hotel room was extremely clean and cosy,usual bathing facilities of course,nice "black out" curtains to guarantee a sound nights sleep,with a lie in in the morning!The staff at this hotel were very helpfull and attentive,ensuring our stay was made very comfortable.Drinks and meals,including Christmas lunch,were just on hand at the "Table-Table" restuarant,just across the car park!again with the staff and ambience being excellent.The only moan would be the lack of TV channels availible,due to reception?,if one is a TV fan of course.A very pleasant stay well enjoyed.

Room Tip: Although our room was opposite a main road it was always very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have had occasion to visit Merthyr about every 3 weeks in the last 18 months and got so fed up with the dingy, downmarket Travelodge and the even worse Tregenna Hotel, that we decided to treat ourselves once to the slightly dearer Premier Inn... we haven't stayed in Travelodge or the Tregenna since. The rooms are so much more comfortable than Travelodge, the lighting is better, the staff appear to be there for your benefit (rather than giving the impression you are interfering with their working day by being there!). They have a 'good night' guarantee where you do not have to pay if you haven't had a good stay and try as I might, I cannot claim anything other than good stays here. We always have a warm welcome from reception staff, restaurant staff at breakfast are very helpful in accommodating my need for a gluten free diet by checking ingredients and cooking items separately from gluten-containing products. It is now our first choice of place to stay in Merthyr and, if I'm honest, most other towns/cities we visit as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelqueenDeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was easy to find, very comfortable and an enjoyable experience. The staff were very helpful both in the hotel and the restaurant.

The meals were very good and although the restaurant was a few steps away, it was not exactly a big issue!

The previous reviewer complained about the cost of wi-fi and was "gutted" at a charge of £3 for 24 hours. I have to say that seemed reasonable to me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fingersjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed for work at the end of November arriving in terrible weather.

Although not too well signed from the main road I called reception and the lady was lovely and friendly and directed me.

Over 2 nights and subsequent mornings I met 3x members of staff on reception - all really friendly and helpful.

The room was very clean, the bed was really comfy and I had a couple of great nights sleep. Like that you can ask to change your pillows and although I didn't - nice touch.

Bit gutted that's its £3 for 24 hrs wifi

Have to go out in the grotty weather to get a meal as the restaurant / breakfast is across the carpark so no problem in good weather but not so great in driving rain or ice.

Overall though - would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pentrebach
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
315 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
135 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
14.7 mi away
Best Western Pontypool Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil

Property: Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Address: Duffryn Road, Pentrebach CF48 4BJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Pentrebach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pentrebach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the beautiful landscape of the South Wales Valleys and the nearby Brecon Beacons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil Hotel Pentrebach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing