We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gibney Beach Villas
Nearby Hotels
Gallows Point Resort(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
$475
$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St. John Inn(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Estate Lindholm(Cruz Bay)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
37
1
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
1
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden cottagecruz baypaddle boardsspent a weekteriparadiseturtlesjohnpropertyvacationstislandroads
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 40 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a nice villa that we wish was owned by someone else as our experience in dealing with the owners was treacherous. Also there are vagrants (bums) roaming around the area, property, gardens, and so on. Kind of scary, certainly not good for relaxing.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
17  Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We are a family of 4, with two teen boys and we stayed at the Garden villa for a week. The house is comfortable for a family of 4, the downstairs bedroom offers privacy, the upstairs bedroom was roomy and comfortable for the boys with a queen size bed and a queen size futon.
The kitchen was all that we needed to cook and the addition of the outside brand new gas grill was great. I don't really need air-conditioning but the rest of the family does and it worked very well.
The star attraction of this property is the beach. You are right on Gibney beach in the middle of the St. John national park. There is no packing up the car with lunch and beverages and chairs. We enjoyed the beach at all hours of day and night because it was right there!
The property is nicely kept. It has a laid back feel. We loved all of the tropical fruit trees surrounding us. Terri was a lovely host and checked in with us whenever she saw us to make sure everything was ok.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doggie-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just like the other reviewers, I wish I could keep this a secret place, it is so beautiful, serene and wonderful. Location, location, location. Magnificent. Beautiful aqua water, pristine beach. We spent every morning drinking our coffee and eating breakfast on the beach. The 2 cottages that are "the villas" are fantastic. We stayed in the cottage behind the beach cottage. Fantastic! Nicely decorated, comfortable. Perfect for 2; four is doable since there is an upstairs loft with a comfy bed and deck. The lovely welcome basket was a nice surprise. Teri is a wonderful host. She is part of the charm of Gibney Beach and most locals know and love her. I cannot wait to return to this gem.

Rent a car, it is easy to travel the entire island. "Town" is a 6 minute drive from the villas.

Room Tip: There are two cottages. It is just a matter of availability. The rear cottage may have more air conditioner noise than the front, which has more crashing wave sounds.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CleoandMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

You become part of the Beach. Wake up and have coffee/ lunch/ cocktails on a perfect porch with overhead fan, right on one of the prettiest beaches in the world! You can lug a cooler to the beach like so many others, or have your Porch/ Kitchen/ Bedroom & Bathroom right there with you! You feel like you own the beach! Terri, the actual owner, is a gracious host who respects your privacy. Living next to the property, she is available for any issue you have, or really interesting perspectives on Gibney Beach and St John. If you love the BEACH, this is a 'Bucket List' experience you must have. The villa was comfortable..Plenty of AC/Quality Bed/ Good bathroom/ Sufficient Kitchen. But back to the Porch with overhead fan, and beautiful BEACH steps away! I shall return!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank giobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I have a difficult time writing a good review... not because it wasn't good, but to the contrary, rather because I'd like to keep it a secret. But honesty forces me to agree with all the wonderful reviews before mine.There are no people selling things, no waterslides... it is _not_ a resort. It is a beautiful, quaint, beach house in one of the most beautiful places on the earth.

The good:
- The beach was never busy... we maybe saw 10 people in 4 days on Gibney beach.
- The beach was postcard perfect.
- The snorkeling was incredible just off the beach on a shallow reef and bank. Snorkeling tours came to the bay but stayed out beyond the swim buoys
- The groundskeeper, Israel (sp?), was very nice and helpful. He brought tree ripened bananas and freshly opened coconuts to us. I also got a great tour of the garden.
- The owner, Teri, was very nice and helpful and just great in getting us settled and helping us find snorkel rental and restaurants
- The house was just as advertised, was clean, and well cared for. We have 3 daughters (ages 9, 11, and 13) and the Garden Villa was quite sufficient for our family of 5.

Things to note;
- They have wifi, but I think it's in Teri's house and I could only get reception outside on the beach. That said, it was so spectacular that I did not care nearly as much as I thought I did when I had planned the trip.
- There are TV's for kids at night, but no channels. There is a movie rental store in the Marketplace building, but we never did catch it open (didn't try awfully hard... we were on the bech all day and it was around the Thanksgiving holiday as well). There are books and games and we probably enjoyed that more than movies anyway.
- The villa was easy to find, but there was no address. Just drive out of "town" (Cruz Bay area) on Route 20 and when we got to Hawsnest Bay (there is a sign) we finally saw a white picket fence... that was it.
- It was my first time driving on the left side. It wasn't too bad and I quickly got used to it. It helps that the traffic is all pretty slow.
- If you rent a car in St. Thomas, make sure that it is allowed to go on the ferry to St. John... some allow some don't. The ferry for cars is the "car barge". There are 2 barge services. Whichever service you choose, you need to use that service on the return trip too. To load the car barge, you back your vehicle into the yellow lined lanes and await the barge, then back onto the barge.
- Driving in St. Thomas was challenging. The roads are much more crowded and the lack of street signs made the short drive to Red Hook into quite a long drive to Red Hook.
- There were insects, and we did take insect repellent. It helped, but you basically are vacationing in a jungle so there will be bites.
- Just Beach and Arawak Expeditions in Mongoose Junction (the set of stone buildings on the edge of town as you go toward town on Route 20) rent snorkeling equipment for 6$ and 7$ per set per day.
- Parking at Mongoose Junction can be difficult. Just be prepared to park anywhere and walk. The area with shops is a lot smaller than it seems and all within an easy walk.
- We ate at different places in Cruz Bay... some were good. But don't miss driving across the island to Miss Lucy's (past Coral Bay on Friis Bay I believe). Great food.
- There are two short, easy hiking trails just past Hawksnest Bay. One goes to Peace Hill and you have a good view of Hawksnest Bay and Trunk Bay. A trail branching off of that goes down to Denis Bay. It was a nice walk and the beach had more shells. It was fun to explore a little, but there's no better beach than Gibney Beach.
- The garden house is probably 15 feet behind the Beach House which was right on the beach. The walk to the beach was literally 20 paces.

Truly an incredible experience.
Jim

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JimH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews