We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 Times a Charmer!”
Review of In Harmony Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
In Harmony Retreat
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was our third stay an In Harmony, and it feels like coming home. Greg, thanks for everything...as usual your place was exceptionally clean and everything was perfect. We especially enjoy your music/movie selection for our down time, relaxing on the deck and just soaking in that beautiful view. Your new place is coming along nicely...we can't wait to try it too!

Till next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makale3815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

What an awesome vacation destination! Greg, thank you for providing everything we needed/could want in a house--down to the details like beach/snorkeling equipment, a great DVD library, and recommendations on where to eat, etc. We had a great time and were sad to leave such a tranquil place!
We appreciated the privacy we were given from day one, as well as all the little things that made our 10-day trip such a great time. The hose to clean off beach shoes at the end of the day kept things sand-free, the washer/dryer saved us from over-packing, the high-quality BBQ grill made some great steaks, the pool was clean and relaxing, the hammock was well-maintainted, the bed was clean and comfortable, and the bedroom A/C was appreciated on the few humid nights!
We did some great hikes and appreciated the the resources/tips provided by others in the green guest logbook that you keep in the house. Our favorite trail was Ram's Head; so very beautiful and a great payoff for an easy climb. We went for a swim/snorkel at Salt Pond Bay Beach after that particular hike, and that beach turned out to be one of our favorites as well. What an area the southern tip of St. John is! We also hiked the Reef Bay Trail and Caneel/Margaret Hill--both were great--lots of cool vegetation and top notch views. Another favorite beach was Little Lameshur--so peaceful and great snorkeling with squid included! We also snorkeled at Francis Bay, Waterlemon, Maho, Haulover South, Brown Bay, and Trunk Bay. There was something cool to see at each one, with the highlight being a sea turtle sighting at Maho, sting rays at Salt Pond, and colorful fish at Waterlemon.
We had some great food at the Tourist Trap, Skinny Legs, Miss Lucy's, The Lime Inn, and Shipwreck, and ZoZo's. YUM! Tourist Trap and Zozo's...while at opposite ends of the price spectrum, had the most friendly service by far.
Lastly, we did a trip to Jost Van Dyke, BVI aboard the Kekoa, a beautiful diesel/sail catamaran. We took in the scenery, swam with beautiful fish at a snorkel stop, and imbibed at the Soggy Dollar Bar. The Kekoa itself is a beautiful boat with a very interesting story and incredibly friendly, charismatic, and professional crew. Sailing on the Kekoa is the single highest-rated activity we would recommend to friends visiting St. John in the future...besides staying at your house.
Overall, an awesome place to stay...especially while running away from record low temperatures in Boston! Many thanks for your friendly and low-stress help! E & R

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russ0000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

wife and i were just in awe from the get go...we happened to arrive when greg was working on his other place next door...he gave a quick tour and then left us to enjoy...his place has everything....very little needed to enhance the stay...right down to the spices for cooking....the views at night and in the morning are great...got to watch a rain cell come in from the right and pass over...then got to see a rainbow at eye level...perfect side of the island away from the touristy side of st john...he went above and beyond to make our stay perfect...am so glad we did not stay in st thomas after experiencing this island...after you get used to the drive its only about 25 minutes to the other side but even that is fun...a perfect way to disconnect from the world...thanx soooo much greg....i am already scheming for another trip...i will let you know....erick/cheryl jones

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

In Harmony was everything we were hoping for and much more! The views are incredible and we found ourself enjoying the peace and quiet while gazing at the sea. It doesn't get boring! The villa has everything from AC in the bedroom, movies, full kitchen and condiments, coolers, and even snorkel gear. You will feel completely alone and in your own little world in this villa. We couldn't imagine paying more to stay in a hotel when you can have all this at such a good price. One concern was not staying in town but Coral Bay has so much to offer and there is parking ;) Great placed for a bite, great drinks, live entertainment, and a great local feel. We would highly recommend this Villa and the owner Gregg is there to help with any concerns or questions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joelj42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Want to leave your worries behind? Forget about your boring routine of your 9-5 job? well, that's what I did, or shall I say we..a much needed vacation for my husband and I... In Harmony retreat provided an atmosphere for us to remember why we work so hard! So we can come to St John and enjoy amazing views, take a dip in the private hot tub, sleep in as long as we want in the comforts of an air conditioned room, YES! air conditioning, or watch a movie on the flat screen t.v. I never get sick of beautiful sunsets, and this is the place to see them. Even caught a double rainbow :) It was great to have privacy, and yet, know that help was close at hand. Greg was wonderful in answering any questions we had regarding island activities, etc...and accommodating to our requests. Looking forward to our return

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This was our second stay at In Harmony, and we'll definitely be back. This property is meticulously maintained. There were even a few upgrades since our last trip a year ago. Be sure to grab a bottle of wine to enjoy on the deck. Thanks Greg for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makale3815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Let me start by saying that I have visited many islands in the past and St. John is the most beautiful I have been to and In Harmony Retreat is a gem in this tropical paradise. It has all the touches of home from cooling air conditioning, a relaxing pool, stereo with an iPod dock and many other essentials to make your stay comfortable. But because of its location, you have easy access to the best restaurants on the island, the less crowded beaches and the seclusion that will make 7 days here the most relaxing week of your entire life. My wife and I got engaged here . . . then we spent our honeymoon here and we will definitely be returning. Greg is the most accommodating host and will give you tips on where to go if it is your first trip to the island. I recommend going when there is a full moon and heading to Miss Lucy's for the full moon luau, eat lunch at the Tourist Trap (get the Boom Boom), grab a burger at Skinny Legs and get the pizza at Donkey Diner. If you are searching for that perfect place for a couples getaway . . . STOP . . . you just found it. You will enjoy stunning views, quiet privacy and perfection in paradise.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beauzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John hotels
0 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
858 reviews
0 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
768 reviews
0 mi away
Hillcrest Guest House
Hillcrest Guest House
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
0 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
0 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In Harmony Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In Harmony Retreat

Address: Seagrape Hill, Coral Bay | PO Box 1363, 00831, St. John
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St. John
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
In Harmony Retreat St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing