We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip of the BVI's and St. Johns” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion In Da Sun

Lion In Da Sun
Ranked #2 of 93 Tours in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lion In Da Sun is a "Captained Powerboat Day Charter" business in the US Virgin Islands of St. John and St. Thomas. The days activities are completely up to you and might include island hopping in the British Islands such as Jost van Dyke, Sandy Spit, Norman Island, and Virgin Gorda among many others. You can incorporate world-class snorkeling, beaches, bars, and local lunch spots. The day is completely up to you!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
“Great trip of the BVI's and St. Johns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We took our two boys, 8 & 11 for their first ocean trip. Captain Rick fulfilled all our needs: We learned interesting historical information about the island and he knew the great spots for adults and children. We had great snorkeling at Whistling Cay. Some of our favorite beach spots were Sandy Spit and White Bay. Don't forget to stop at Foxy's Taboo for lunch.
Our boys can't wait to go again!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    8
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great trip to Soggy Dollar Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

After our daughter's wedding at Caneel Bay, our immediate family took a trip to the Soggy Dollar Bar with Rick and we had a blast! He is very informative about the area, giving us a steady stream of facts as we boated to Jost Van Dyke. Then he directed us to Foxy's while he got us through customs. Then on to the Soggy Dollar Bar which was a very fun experience. On the way back to Caneel, Rick stopped at a snorkeling spot for a little while. The snorkeling was fabulous and Rick has great equipment - much better than was furnished at Caneel.

In all - just a great afternoon. Rick is friendly, the boat is spotless and the trip just perfect!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great day with Rick!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just finished our wedding at Caneel Bay and honeymooned at Little Dix Bay. We had Captain Rick take us over to the Soggy Dollar on sunday with our whole family and then stopped at a snorkel spot on the way back the day after the wedding. He was so great so we decided to make a day trip over to Little Dix the next day. Rick picked us up, did a tour of the beaches on st John, then took us to snorkel some great spots but all very different- beautiful fish, the norman island caves and the Rhone ship wreck. We also went to Willy T's, and then went on our way to little dix. Rick has great facts about all of the places you pass along the way, which is great to know. He is also extremely professional, nice and we couldnt have picked a better person to take us out for a day trip. We will definitely be calling him the next time we visit the island!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RobinDCTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Frolic with RIck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you have never been to the island before Rick is your guy for a wealth of information about St. John and the best beaches to do whatever you want to do. We have been traveling to St. John for over 18 years and Rick's mission should he accept it (and he did) was to take us places we had never been before. Having captained our own rental, we have been to many places in those 18 years. Rick met and exceeded the challenge. He was fun, witty, and so easy to be around and we discovered some pretty cool places. It was like being on the boat with an old friend. Great guy and I would highly recommend him!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank beachesinthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A Great Boatin' Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband & I went out with "Capt'n" Rick for a day tour of the area. We weren't sure what we wanted to do other than see the Brithish Virgin Islands, as friends said we had to go. We had a great time, Rick was really knowledgable about the history of the area and other trivia tidbits and planned the day for us. We loved it, could not have been better. We went to Tortolla & Jost Van Dyke lunched at Foxys, we ate drank and were merry! Thanks so much Rick, can't wait to come back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank knacoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lion In Da Sun also viewed

 

Been to Lion In Da Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing