We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation EVER!!!”
Review of House of Open Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
House of Open Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Oh my goodness - never thought I would have such a wonderful vacation experience! My husband and I stayed at the cottage to celebrate our 10 year anniversary and it was perfect. We are both active people who like adventure as well as relaxing. Catherine has seriously thought of everything from providing an amazing meal the night we arrived to little details like aloe in the bathroom for a little burn I got while snorkling. She told us places not to miss on the island, good snorkles, good hikes, good ruins to not miss. The accommodations at the cottage were excellent - comfy bed, amazing outdoor shower (wasn't sure about that at first but fell in love with it QUICKLY). We had everything we needed to cook romantic meals as desired and her recommendations for eating out when we wanted to do that were superb. The view from the deck was breathtaking and nice and shady with the sound of the surf and wildlife fully surrounding us. The constant breeze made it quite comfortable even on warm days. The cottage had air conditioning but we never needed to use it. The drive was a bit rough up the road to get there, and there were many steps once we arrived but this is what provided the view and privacy that we fell in love with so it was worth every bump and step. This place was centrally located to all the things that we wanted to go see and do. I highly recommend this to couples looking to get away together who love adventure and don't mind a little exercise to have these things. We will be going back - we have found the perfect place for us to reconnect - no need to look further! Thank you Catherine!!!

Room Tip: Cottage has the most privacy and the AMAZING outdoor shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenryett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

As wonderful as I thought our Honeymoon in the villa would be, the reality was far beyond my imagination. From the thoughtful care of Catherine herself as well as the details with which the home was created, our days resulted in the experience of serenity, comfort, and beauty.

I feel blessed to have had the opportunity to celebrate our marriage in a space so supportive of love and connection. Ken and I have already made a promise to each other to return to this magical place with so much to offer.

I recommend without reservation, the villa, the owner Catherine and her expertise, and what is simply a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Anglina1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We just returned from our vacation at "House of Open Arms". We stayed in the cottage which was great! It has a covered porch that you can sit on and look at the most amazing view you have ever seen! We fed the birds each day some sugar and they loved it. The cottage also has a beautiful outside shower. It is perfect for 2 people. The cottage is located in Coral Bay which is about 30 mins from Cruz Bay on a road that reminds you of the road to Hana in Maui. There is a short cut to the beaches if you turn by Columbo's smoothies, which are really good... I can't say enough about Catherine the owner of House of Open Arms. She is a wonderful person and would do anything she could to make your stay everything you dream of. I watched her one afternoon at her pottery wheel while she made a small mermaid pitcher. After she made it I asked if I could buy that one. She said of course. I will look at it everyday and think of her and our vacation we had in May 2013. Also, she is a wonderful cook. She fixed our first meal when we arrived. I don't think you would find a nicer place to stay on St. John, VI.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank killd0ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I booked the House of Open Arms 10 months before our visit and we did it based on the pictures alone. I am usually anal about reading all the reviews before making a choice but for some reason I was led to just book it. It wasn’t until about a month and half before our vacation that I read the reviews and felt we had been very blessed to find this location. I couldn’t wait to experience the peace and tranquility of the House and to meet Catherine Perry in person. Needless to say, we were not disappointed. We stayed in the villa and it was beautiful and so relaxing. We enjoyed the pool every morning watching the sun rise, feeding the banana finches and swaying in the hammock in the evenings while staring at the stars. Catherine has missed none of the details while building and stocking this home. We had everything we could possibly need. And Catherine… she is a beautiful person inside and out. She is truly a gracious woman with the gift of hospitality. She not only shared her home with us but a piece of herself. We left the House of Open Arms more relaxed than we had been in years and believing we had found a new and dear friend. We can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were completely satisfied with our recent stay at this property. It is as beautiful as the photos and very clean and spacious. Catherine is much more than a gracious hostess- she is a friend who will do anything she can to make your stay pleasurable. The only downside is the walk up and down to the villa which was hard on my husbands knees so would not recommend if you have moderate to severe arthritis or health problems. Otherwise, we had a wonderful 8 days in glorious nature. We loved that you can book any number of days and not limited to Saturday to Saturday . The pool was perfect and we enjoyed the birds immensely. St. John is a gorgeous island with endless beaches and trails to explore. We hope to return sooner than later!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happygirlkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We are return guests, and glad we are. We come to St. John for Spring break, as a couple. House of Open Arms Villa is a refreshment and an enchantment. You will NOT find a more gracious host than Catherine. (May we suggest you ask for a private viewing of her art -- a true talent. If you are fortunate enough to purchase a piece of her art -- consider yourself blessed). We CANNOT say enough regarding how much this place refreshes our souls and rejuvenates us as a couple. House of Open Arms- Villa has it all, view, quite, great accomodations, privacy and your own infinity pool. We challenge you to not wake at 2 a.m., sit on the verada, listen to the Carribean Sea and watch the moon and let nature take your soul to a place that CANNOT be discribed. Truely we believe God blessed this place -- a peice of heaven. Getting there is half the fun, it is an adventure taking your rental jeep up the hill -- so much fun !!! Makes one feel like you are the first explorers to find Forsberg Estates in Coral Bay, St. John since the 1600's . You drive up the hill to House of Open Arms and the view to the Carribean is stunning --- than you realize -- this view is yours for your entire vacation !!!! Seclusion is the key here...love it -- embrace it. If you are like us --your partnership, and your faith in each will be renewed. Thank You -- Catherine for the House of Open Arms !!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TuscanyHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Like a scope of homemade vanilla ice cream on a slice of hot apple pie, Catherine’s villa is the perfect topping to a stay in St John. If you desire a tranquil atmosphere with an amazing view in a remote setting, than The House of Open Arms is the place for you. It definitely was for us.
Thank you Catherine, we will be back……..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Vickie-n-Glenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John hotels
5.5 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
5.8 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
496 reviews
6.0 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
766 reviews
6.2 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
859 reviews
2.1 mi away
Concordia Eco-Resort
Concordia Eco-Resort
#1 of 2 in Virgin Islands National Park
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Open Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Open Arms

Address: 15-2 Estate Fortsberg | Coral Bay, 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in St. John
Price Range: $170 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A House of Open Arms is a beautiful vacation villa and cottage on the peninsula of Fortsburg in Coral Bay, St. John, USVI. 75% of St. John is Nat'l Park and we are located just outside of it overlooking Nat'l Park waters of Hurricane Hole, East End and beyond to Norman Island in the British Virgin Islands. We have solar water power and we are on the grid so we have air conditioning too! 180 degree white water views wrap around this delightful one bedroom villa and charming one bedroom cottage. The villa is 1000 square feet and has 1 bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, veranda and pool. The cottage is 650 square feet and has a wrap around porch, outdoor cooking area, front entryway, bedroom and an inside bathroom with an outdoor shower. Both areas are separate and very private. The cottage is down the hill from the villa about 40 steps. While the cottage will only hold 2 people, the villa can accomodate small children easily. The property is owned and managed by Catherine Perry a local potter and watercolor artist. She is available for local knowledge, helping plan excursions, restaurant recommendations or any need you may have. House of Open Arms is located on a breathtakingly green, private hillside with constant, cool ocean breezes. Come relax in peaceful elegance and see how well you can live while staying in balance with the world around you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
a House Of Open Arms Hotel St. John
House Of Open Arms St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing