We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Island Cuisine” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De' Coal Pot

De' Coal Pot
Ranked #25 of 125 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Island Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Have been coming to St. John since 1977, this is some of the best the island can offer, the owner is a gracious and wonderful chef.

If you do not take the time to enjoy a meal here you have not experienced this island.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    94
    26
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to try this place. I wanted to try an authentic restaurant after eating too often at beach grills. I got the roti, but was disappointed with all the bones in it. To be fair, I had been warned that the chicken would be on the bone, but I still had a hard time eating it.
My husband got the snapper and it was really good. He's since had some at a different restaurant now that we're back and he said it was awful compared to the snapper at De' Coal Pot.
Kim, the hostess, was really sweet and friendly. It was a nice, quiet place to get a meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kmd23llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We went here on the recommendations from multiple people we meet while on our trip and it did not disappoint. Its a small place (all places in St. John are small) right behind 1st Bank. It has good service and great food. The menu has something for everyone, we had Curry Goat, Conch, BBQ Chicken and Mahi and they were all good and well portioned. If you are in Cruz Bay go to De'Coal Pot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dayee87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“West Indian Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

In the middle of the Cruz Bay food festival, we went over to De' Coal Pot. Talk about really good food, and local too, this is it. The fritters perfect, the service typically fine island style. A good choice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ESJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narita, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding food, service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and family went during my birthday trip, the food was amazing. The Snapper tasted outstanding. Kim our hostess was very friendly and accomadting definitely one of the best places to eat on the St. John.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Uly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De' Coal Pot also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to De' Coal Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing