We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Companion to Solomon Beach”
Review of Salomon Beach

Salomon Beach
Ranked #21 of 93 things to do in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Companion to Solomon Beach”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We hiked from the national park visitor center to Honeymoon Beach which is just past the trail to Solomon. The hike itself was great, desert fauna including judge organ pipe cactus. Easy one mile hike with little elevation gain and great views of Cruz Bay. A couple of boats dropped a few swimmers off, and a few other hiker/swimmers, but no more than 5 or 6 people at any time. Virgin Islands National Park is a real treasure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Vstein_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    23
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“greatest beach in the world”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been to Salomon Beach about 15 times and it remains my favorite beach. In the peak season, it can be crowded, but in November, it is possible to be the only people on the beach. The snorkeling around the point toward Honeymoon beach is some of the best snorkeling on the island!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank mels850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Visited Salomon's Bay while in St John's for a unique journey. It is a mile hike through the forest, down the mountain to get to it. The nature seen on the hike was incredible, but did not compare to the tranquil setting of Salomon Bay. We were the only ones there. I could not believe it. It was MUCH better than the other beaches we visited during out stay in St John's. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank ThirstyBeachBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Chickens on the beach”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

An awesome beach with soft sand and gentle waves. No services available but nice stop after our hikes up Margaret and caneel hills. There are a few chickens begging on the beach.

Helpful?
3 Thank Travel2livewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling, easy access”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A short hike up the Lindt Trail and you will reach Salomon Beach. Very secluded with great beaches and underwater wildlife.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salomon Beach also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Caneel Bay, St. John
 

Been to Salomon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing