We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Pickles In Paradise
Ranked #32 of 123 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our 3rd trip to St. John, but our first time staying on the Coral Bay side. In previous years we often stopped at Grotto Deli in Cruz Bay to get a sub to take to the beach for lunch. We tried finding a similar situation in Coral Bay. We found Pickles - and soon it was our favorite place to get subs. The subs at Grotto Deli are good, but I liked these better. I loved the selection of other food too. What I loved: Tomato Basil Mozzarella Salad, deviled eggs, banana bread, brownies, cookies, and all the subs we ate. The pickles are really good too. We ate here on about 4-5 days of our 8 day trip, May 2013.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    75
    17
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian-friendly lunch spot in Coral Bay”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed in the Coral Bay area for a week in May 2013. Pickles in Paradise was our favorite lunch spot on the island. My wife and I don't eat meat, and their vegetarian wraps were excellent! It's also a reasonable breakfast stop. We tried their egg sandwich (solid, no-frills option) and some bakery type items. For the island, the prices were quite good. The staff was also very friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NDMnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for a small meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were looking for breakfast one morning and the only place open with breakfast was Pickles on this side of the island. Everything ended up being great. My family got egg frittatas and I got an egg sandwich. For the island everything was reasonably priced. There is a small market inside including gallons of water.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueoceaniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Wraps and Very Nice Staff”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate there for lunch once and really liked their vegetarian wraps. We first ordered two wraps and they tasted so good we ordered one more to share. The owner was obviously very happy that we enjoyed their food. Convenient location if you are staying in Coral Bay. Open 6am - 8pm, offering Breakfast, Lunch and Take Out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TanfromAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and very nice staff!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We ate there for breakfast twice and lunch twice. We bought a couple of delicious sandwiches for the beach. Not as big as Sam and Jacks but the taste made up for the size. They use fresh greens from Josephine's and their breakfast burrito was excellent.

Nassir the chef was friendly and had a nice conversation with the owner too.

Their website does not have a menu, but have them printed off in their deli.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickles In Paradise also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Pickles In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing