We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Peaceful surrounding with stunning views.”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Welcome to Villa Capiz
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Capiz
Ocean View from Every Room Tropical Living at It's Finest
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
29 reviews
Welcome to Villa Capiz
Ocean View from Every Room
Tropical Living at It's Finest
Upper Deck Jacuzzi
Ocean View Cooking
Covered Veranda Dining with Ocean View
Master Bedroom with Desk in foreground and Twin Daybed visible on left
Adjoining Master Bedrooms- Ideal for families with young children
1 of 2 Master Suites-Can be 2 Kings or 1 king and 2 twins
One of Two Master Bathrooms with Granite Counters and Walk-out Indoor-Outdoor Showers
Queen Bedroom (3rd bedroom)
Private, Paved and Gated Entrance
Driveway through tropical landscape
Take the bridge over the garden to enter your private paradise
Pool in the Treetops- very private, clothing optional
Relaxing with Music from Outdoor Speakers with ipod connectors
Catchin' Rays- southern and western pool exposure for sun all day or partial shade under the pergola
Watch the sunset in the pool
After the sunset, watch St. Thomas light up
Wildlife in the Yard!
Iguana by the Hot Tub! Never a dull moment at Villa Capiz
Oh and did we mention our beautiful views?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eric L
New York
1 review
“Peaceful surrounding with stunning views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Debbie and the Villa Capiz were great! Easy to get to, close enough to town, groceries and the view is simply amazing. Everything you could need from coolers and beach chairs to a full kitchen and grill tools. And you can't beat having a pool to float in while you struggle with what beach you're going to visit today! Peter the property manager was also super. Helped us settle right in. Don't hesitate to book this, if you can. Great property and great peeps is a rare combination.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Private and Peaceful. The view simply put you at ease even with two boys running wild!
Liked least: The layout was a little different being split floors. But it REALLY didn't matter.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kemarn
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful villa with breathtaking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and three adult children stayed here for a week. Communication with Deborah, the owner, was easy and she answered all our questions in a very timely manner.. The property managers, Gail and Peter, met us at the car ferry and led us to the villa where they provided a tour and information about all the systems...sound, TV, air cond., pool, hot tub, safe and alarm. They were extremely responsive to all our requests and inquiries. On our first morning there, the coffeemaker died. We called Peter and he came immediately with a replacement....all before 8:30 am.

We ate almost exclusively at the villa. The kitchen was very well stocked, and the grill was large and clean. A great feature of this villa is the outdoor dining area. We ate all our meals there and were entranced by the hummingbirds and banana quits. My daughter left the recipe for preparing their sugar water since we had to refill it during the week. From both decks, the views are STUNNING!

The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and the walk-in showers had a separate door to the pool area so this minimized tracking of sand/debris.

The location couldn't be better since it is only a short drive to Cruz Bay and the beaches. However, we were far enough away to ensure that we had all the peace and quiet we wanted.

My only recommendation to future renters who stay here (or anywhere on the island) is to make sure to take plenty of bug spray. There had been some significant rainfall prior to our arrival, and the mosquitoes were FEROCIOUS. There was a citronella candle, but it wouldn't hurt to bring your own. Of course, it is a magical island and I guess even the mosquitoes want to live in paradise.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the view and the outside dining area
Liked least: living room/sitting area was a bit dark with the furnishings, but they fit the decor so this was not really a problem, just more of a personal taste preference issue.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlene L
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best 4 Days Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My husband and I had an unexpected week vacation and found Villa Capiz was open for 4 nights only in our timeframe. We chose to take the 4 open nights as a last minute deal from owner Debbie, and then stay an additional 3 nights on St Thomas. Well, St Thomas was OK, but Villa Capiz was another world! The tranquil beauty overwhelmed us, with glorious sunsets and tree frogs at night, and even a beautiful rainbow one sunshower morning! Most romantic vacation ever. We would have never left the villa except we had to explore St John's National Park beaches. What a national treasure they are...not to be missed in your lifetime. Villa Capiz more than met every expectation, and Peter and Gail, the property managers, were most gracious and accommodating, meeting us at the ferry and getting us settled in. We have traveled to many islands in the Caribbean, and Villa Capiz is by far the best house, on the best island. We can't wait to return with some of our family to stay longer at Villa Capiz. 5 Star in every way.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLBradfor...
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Most wonderful place, great views and reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Villa Capiz was very nice for our vacation Villa. It was just the two of us and we really did not need all the extra bed rooms but we enjoyed the extra space and all the privacy! The pool sound systems was awesome- Bring your own tunes if you want or there are may CD's to choose from. The bedrooms (down stairs and up) had air conditioning which was very nice to keep cool. There is seating for like 30 people outside around the deck and pool area. There was an iguana on our drive way, lizards everywhere and tons of birds for more entertainment. The Property Mangers were very nice and very responsive to the small technical details we had- I really appreciate their help and suggestions! When I asked my wife "what was the best thing about her 9 days in St John" her response was "the Villa". You will love it and we would return if possible!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view and pool sound system.
Liked least: Not enough time to enjoy the place.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your stay at Villa Capiz! Thank you for your insights and appreciation of the property, and we do hope you will return soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlene91...
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful, comfortable, and well-maintained”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We just returned from a wonderful week at Villa Capiz. The best part of the house is the fabulous view and the large decks facing the view. Really great outdoor seating arrangement. The bedroom set-up was perfect for my family. My younger daughters shared one master suite and my teenager stayed in the smaller upstairs bedroom. Although it seemed unusual to go upstairs/downstairs via an outside staircase, it added to the excitement of staying in a tropical location. Everything was very clean and the house is very well-maintained. Rugs and bedding were fresh. Even the grill was clean! The indoor and outdoor lighting were very good which is important because it gets dark fairly early. Only the bedrooms have A/C which was plenty for us, as the whole house is screened. We had some problems with the programming on the A/C units (which are apparently new) and Peter, the property manager, was very responsive. I appreciated that the kitchen was stocked with a few basics- seasonings, coffee filters, oil, condiments, etc. The location of the villa is also very convenient to Cruz Bay, grocery stores, etc but in a nice private setting.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Views, decks and pool
Liked least: Stairs at times and some of the decorating
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2013
So happy you embraced the indoor/outdoor aspect of island living on St John at Villa Capiz! We strive to make everything very comfortable and accessible for enjoying the beauty and serenity surrounding the villa. The connecting master bedroom suites are a perfect set-up for families with young children, as everyone has plenty of room, yet the kids are close at hand. Older kids and grandparents can have their own, separate space as well, on the upper level in the third bedroom. Thanks for your comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC6905
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Villa Capiz was amazing. My husband & I went with his brother, sister and her boyfriend for a week in August. Each couple had their own bedroom & bathroom. It was nice having the privacy. The villa is very clean, spacious and comfortable. The outside area is as big as the inside. In fact, we spent all our time outside enjoying the view, breeze and pool. We had a great time there and cannot say enough good things about it. All of us said we will definitely go back. Also, Deb & Nancy were great to work with.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Many things. The seclusion, view, cleanliness, separate beds & baths, variety of outdoor sitting areas, pool, secured property. All in all a beautiful place.
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler C
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed here for almost a week in late January 2012. Debbie (the villa owner) was a joy to correspond with. She made sure we had everything planned for our trip.

When we got off the ferry we were met by Nanci (the property manager). She was fantastic. She drove us to pick up our jeep, and then we followed her to the villa where she gave us a map, talked about the island, showed us the villa (how to lock up, set the alarm, open the gate...etc) and stayed around to answer any questions or to give recommendations.

I can't express how awesome our stay was. St. John is the perfect island, and Villa Capiz is a great home base. The view is unbelievable. You have complete privacy, and at night you'll see more stars than you thought possible.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Sitting in the hottub looking at the stars over St. Thomas every night
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing