We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Living”
Review of Treetops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treetops
Ranked #4 of 7 St. John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Island Living”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

If you're looking for a low key, non-resort but comfortable option on St John, If you want to focus less on the boozy little downtown and more on the National Park and the natural beauty of this island, look no further, Treetops is great choice. Hank is a great host (Karen was out of town), has lots of good insight into St John, not the mundane stuff (where to go, where to eat) but the pulse of the island. We talked about SJ history, ecology, climate, culture, among other things. Morning coffee in the tropical setting, followed by a friendly and slow continental breakfast, perfect start to each day. Hank also knows how to get out of the way and let you have your own experience. If he has time take a private snorkeling trip on Hank's boat.

As others have said, a Jeep is a must on St John, and certainly for Treetops. A place closer to one of the towns (Cruz Bay or Coral Bay) would allow for less reliance on the Jeep, but its one of those trade-offs - to be out in the peace and quiet of Fish Bay, you have to accept frequent trips in the Jeep. Anyway, you need one to explore the fantastic beaches and other natural areas on the island.

Most importantly, get into an Island state of mind as soon as you can after arrival, learn about the place and the people, and you won't soon forget your St John trip. I know we wont.

Boston couple, 50ish
Stayed in Captains Quarters, March 2014

Room Tip: Captains Quarters has AC (we used it most nights and turned it off in the early morning so we could...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MattJP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
113
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

My hubby & just spent 5 nights at Treetops in the Captain's Quarters. It was delightful. The room was everything we needed. The bed was comfortable. The outdoor shower had great water pressure & plenty of hot water. The natural setting was beautiful, secluded, & private. Breakfast each morning was great--warm delicious muffins or breakfast bread, yogurt, boiled egg, fresh fruit, & French pressed coffee. While you enjoy your coffee, you watch beautiful tropical birds feed on honey water. The ones we saw had yellow chests. Hank was a superb host with great tips. The last day he even vacuum the sand out of our jeep so we would not get charged additional cleaning fees. We will stay there again & highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The captains quarter had a fridge, microwave, & AC though we did need the AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hank is a gracious host with a deluge of knowledge about the islands and island life. We stayed in the first mates room and it was perfect. We fell asleep to the sound of birds and crickets each night. Treetops is nestled in the "guts" of hills surrounding fish bay. It is quiet and charming. Don't expect the Ritz or a resort atmosphere coming here, but you will definitely feel at home. Air Conditioning was entirely unnecessary and we were very comfortable in the evening. What else can we say? The other positive reviews are spot on. We will definitely be coming back.

You will need a conveyance to get you from fish bay into town, but we would recommend that to you no matter where u stay on the island.

Thanks again Captain Hank!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Great hosts, great location. We stayed at Treetops in mid February for 6 nights, in the Captain Quarters. The place is very close to Cruz Bay and at the same time so isolated that you are totally immersed in the nature. It has a great price/value balance. No luxury, and I would not want it in St John, but it has all you need, including an outdoor shower that is a treat in itself. Hank and Karen are wonderful hosts, we spent a day with them on the boat, and it felt like spending time with old friend. With the added benefit of great snorkeling places and great sandwiches. This was our belated 25th anniversary trip and Hank made sure to have a chilled bottle of champagne on the boat to celebrate. Already thinking about going back next winter

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicosne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Treetops for 4 nights over February break. It is the perfect place, and in my opinion, the only place to stay in Treetops. The rooms and atmosphere create the feeling of living in the trees as per the name of this B&B. We stayed in the First Mate's room which was very comfortable. Though there is no A/C, you do not need it. Thanks to the tree coverage, fan, and plenty of windows, the room is always cool and comfortable. It is also very private, with your own balcony to watch the stars. Breakfast was fantastic. Every morning there were coffee, fresh pastries, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, and juice. Though some individuals might be turned off by eating breakfast with strangers, it was actually a lot of fun. We lucked out in the fact that all the guests got along really well with each other and breakfast was shared with hours of laughter. The best part of Treetops are the owners Hank and Karen. They are both warm and inviting. One piece of advice, if Hank recommends somewhere to go or a place to eat, follow his advice. That man knows what he is talking about. Everything he recommended, including what to order, was spot on. Also, make sure you get him to take you out on his boat. He showed us some of the best snorkeling in St. John. Needless to say, I am trying to figure out how soon I can get back there to stay with them again.

Fair warning: the road can be a little scary the first time because of the switch backs, but you get used to them quickly and it is a lot of fun. Also, when driving in, ignore the dead end sign and continue straight staying near the coast to get to Treetops.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StubbornSicilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Treetops for five nights, and it was absolutely beautiful. The guest house is surrounded by lush greenery that is filled with wildlife. Fall asleep to the sound of tree frogs, and watch the bananaquits and deer pass by during the day. We also really loved our host, Hank. He's a really sweet man and is a wealth of knowledge. He made us feel really welcomed and comfortable. The best part of the trip as other reviewers have stated was, the snorkeling trip that Hank took us on. He truly appreciates the natural beauty of the island and will be quick to recommend the best beaches and places to visit. Treetops has an amazing location in Fish Bay. It's close enough for a short drive to town, but far enough to find tranquility at the end of long day. Thank you Hank.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkmott87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Me and my wife had a fantastic stay for three days and nights at Tree Tops. We stayed in the Captains Quarters which had adequate space, fridge, futon, and queen size bed. We really enjoyed the serene feel of being in the woods and the peacefulness of the atmosphere. Hank was a great host we enjoyed some pleasant conversations in our mornings while having coffee and fresh bakery. He also took us out on the boat which was one of the highlights of our trip getting a more personal view of the Caribean, also doing some snorkeling! Obviously all the reviews were right on Tree Tops being a great place to stay with great hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John hotels
1.7 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 4 in Cruz Bay
469 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cruz Bay
460 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
124 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 4 in Cruz Bay
844 reviews
1.9 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops

Property: Treetops
Address: Pelican Road | Fish Bay, 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. John
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Note: We are a 3-guest room B & B, and each of the rooms rent separately! Please call or email for accurate availability for each of the 3 rooms, as the attached calendar does not reflect reservations for all 3 rooms. Whether you enjoy hiking any of the many ruin-studded trails on St. John, or raising a glass at one of the many world famous beach bars, make Treetops your choice for convenient and economical accommodations. Nestled into abundant vegetation in tranquil Fish Bay, "Treetops" offers guests an affordable alternative to large resorts and pricey villas. This 3-guest room B&B has comfortable accommodations in queen-size beds. "The Captain's Quarters" is an air-conditioned 2-room suite with queen bed plus single day bed, kitchenette, lavatory and private, enclosed outside shower. "The First Mate's Headquarters" also has a queen-size bed, fridge, full (indoor) bath, and private deck. "The Bunkhouse" has a/c, fridge, lavatory and shower. *EACH OF THE ROOMS RENTS SEPARATELY. *Because of the steepness of the yard and height of the decks, Treetops is not recommended for small children. * The entire house can be rented out (all 3 guest rooms and owners' quarters) during Christmas week ONLY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetops St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing