We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Treetops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treetops
Ranked #4 of 7 St. John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our 5 nights at Treetops was a wonderful experience. We immediately felt right at home in this cozy house tucked right into the mountainside. Karen and Hank were great hosts; down-to-earth, full of great advice and willing to help out any way they could. We stayed in the First Mate's Quarters, which was clean, adorable and private. We loved sleeping with the breeze and the sound of the tree frogs; like sleeping outside! Breakfast was fresh fruit, juice, coffee and home-baked bread or muffins. The trip on Hank's boat to special snorkeling spots in the Park was a highlight of our trip. We felt this was very affordable and would love to return.

Room Tip: First Mate's Quarters doesn't have AC, but with the breeze and fans it was not needed. The p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 498KateP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
113
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was our first visit to St. John, but Karen and Hank made it seem like we were visiting old friends. Chatting with them over breakfast was a delight, and their advice guided us to great destinations for the rest of the day. We stayed in the First Mate's Headquarters, which has a balcony that stretches out into the canopy of the forest. Sitting there at night with a glass of wine looking at the stars and listening to the tree frogs was a perfect way to finish off the day. Treetops is a great place run by a delightful couple – it fully deserves all the positive feedback from the other reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grabban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Salem, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Thanks to Hanks and Karen we had a wonderful vacation at St. John. We felt right at home and their advice hit the mark for what we enjoy when on vacation. We found that we loved to snorkel the many beaches and hike the many trails. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoHikeWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hank and Karen were the perfect hosts of our 4 night stay on St. John in their Treetops Bed and Breakfast. What a perfect way to enjoy the beautiful island of St. John. Their home is a comfy bungalow in the woods where you can enjoy all the sights and sounds of nature. Our accomodations were very comfortable and all their special touches were appreciated such as snorkel equipment, beach chairs, beach towels, and toiletries to name a few. We especially enjoyed our leisurely mornings where we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with Hank, Karen, and their other visitors. We certainly were entertained by Hank's stories- lots of laughs! Karen generously drove me to a local beach while my husband went out fishing with Hank and enjoyed a great day out on the water. Hank and Karen truly made our experience so very special. We strongly recommend a stay at Treetops and we certainly plan on coming back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

room great, food great, hosts super, st john great, boat ride great!! i would recommend treetops for people who identify more with nature and seclusion rather than resort atmospheres. for those who want to be a traveler not a tourist. for those who prefer not to be around kids on vacation, we agree with all previous posts- quiet, calm, relaxing, interesting, artistically decorated - scary driveway at first!

Room Tip: captains quarters only has outdoor shower - bit chilly at night if windy, but great during day the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

for hospitality (Karen and Hank are great) , am breakfast and coffee and knowledge of the island. while some may prefer all inclusive resorts..treetops is in a class by itself...if you have an interest don't forget to book time with Hank on the "boat" for a truly incredible adventure exploring the island and some wonderful out of the way places..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackpine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Looking for nightly turn-down service, fluffy robes and 24-hour room service? Probably not the place for you. But if you want a friendly, comfortable, informal atmosphere -- one that captures the true spirit of St. John -- you'll probably love Treetops. We endorse all of the positive comments on these pages about owners Karen and Hank Slodden. They are special people who are committed to the happiness of their guests.

This was our first visit to St. John, and we stayed in the First Mate's Quarters for six nights. Not huge or fancy, but very comfortable and clean. Unlike the Captain's Quarters, this room does not have air-conditioning. But it does have a ceiling fan that made things plenty comfortable during the mid-70s nights of February. There's a small refrigerator, screened windows and doors, adequate closet and dresser space, and stacks of towels. The room has its own deck with a view of the surrounding, very green hillsides; there's no view of the nearby ocean because Treetops sits in a valley with just a few other houses. The nighttime stars are incredible.

Each morning, Karen's breakfasts featured plentiful fresh fruit, juice and a wonderful home-baked muffin or bread. She and Hank always took time to visit with us, ask about our plans for the day, and provide great advice and recommendations on everything from restaurants to renting snorkel gear. They know the island well, and Hank is extremely active in community events and local charitable activities.

As others have mentioned, the highlight of our stay at Treetops was an outing on Captain Hank's lobster boat. He took us on a half-day snorkeling adventure that covered three excellent sites, each a very different underwater environment. He's not only a skilled boatman, but a great conversationalist and host.

Finally, Treetops is a tremendous bargain and a wonderful alternative to much more expensive rental properties and resorts. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pogo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John hotels
1.7 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Westin St. John Resort Villas
2.1 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.9 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops

Property: Treetops
Address: Pelican Road | Fish Bay, 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. John
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Note: We are a 3-guest room B & B, and each of the rooms rent separately! Please call or email for accurate availability for each of the 3 rooms, as the attached calendar does not reflect reservations for all 3 rooms. Whether you enjoy hiking any of the many ruin-studded trails on St. John, or raising a glass at one of the many world famous beach bars, make Treetops your choice for convenient and economical accommodations. Nestled into abundant vegetation in tranquil Fish Bay, "Treetops" offers guests an affordable alternative to large resorts and pricey villas. This 3-guest room B&B has comfortable accommodations in queen-size beds. "The Captain's Quarters" is an air-conditioned 2-room suite with queen bed plus single day bed, kitchenette, lavatory and private, enclosed outside shower. "The First Mate's Headquarters" also has a queen-size bed, fridge, full (indoor) bath, and private deck. "The Bunkhouse" has a/c, fridge, lavatory and shower. *EACH OF THE ROOMS RENTS SEPARATELY. *Because of the steepness of the yard and height of the decks, Treetops is not recommended for small children. * The entire house can be rented out (all 3 guest rooms and owners' quarters) during Christmas week ONLY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetops St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing